We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanlu Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sanlu Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sanlu Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Provinciale Martano Otranto, 73020 Serrano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Serrano
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I have stayed few times in this hotel. It is always a wonderful and satisfying experience. Staff is very helpful and can speak English. Hotel is new, modern and very clean.....The Lounge Bar is stocked very well with wines from the local area.

Room Tip: Both sides of the hotel give a very good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    81
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
165
1
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Pleasant hotel in the middle of nowhere. You need a GPS or good map to access it. Everything is brand new and staff is very professional. Comfortable room and huge bathroom. Good wifi directly in the room. Breakfast was good (fresh local products are showcased)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

a very good hotel, very clean, european breakfast, friendly staff, nice rooms and bathrooms, very good price-quality, a lot of space, free garage etc. - no restaurant, no swimming pool, maybe in the future?
We stayed there 3 times, alone and with friends, and had an excellent stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

The hotel is situated beside a road in a small village in Salento. There are restaurants in the village but better eating is to be had in Otranto which is about 10 minutes by car. The hotel was purpose built about two years ago and retains it's novelty. Much thought has been put into the design of everything, sometimes to the detriment of practicality, but overall extremely good. Andrea the manager speaks reasonable conversational English and we had no trouble in making ourselves understood. The rest of the staff are cheerful and helpful and have basic English. Andrea was most helpful, suggesting restaurants and itineraries for driving around Salento and Puglia. He seems to work all hours but remained cheerful and informative throughout the 4 nights we spent there. The bedrooms are spacious and the bathrooms modern and bright. The shower was the best I have ever encountered in a hotel and everything necessary was provided. The only small gripe was the relative lack of drawer storage in the bedroom but it is perfectly adequate for a short stay. Breakfast is a good, substantial buffet style affair served in a large breakfast area which also has a small bar with most drinks and coffee can be had at any hour that the staff are on duty (definitely up until 10 pm and sometimes later). There is a secure underground car park although cars would appear to be perfectly safe parked in the substantial areas around the hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone travelling in the area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formigine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

We spent 4 nights from 3rd to 7th of December.
The hotel seems almost brand new, perfectly clean. The rooms are large, very nice, as well as the bathrooms.
Free undergroung garage.
Employees absolutely perfect (all of them : Andrea, Anna...), for service and advices on things to see in the region, and places to have dinner.

In conclusion, a very nice surprise for a perfect stay.

PS : We went according to hotel favourite restaurants list to the "Agriturismo del Pastore" (8km from the Sanlu towards Otranto) : infinite number of antipasti (10 plates if I remember well !!!), pasta first dish, meat/french fries and salad second dish, fruit and dessert, water, wine, coffee and digestivo. Very local atmosphere. 33Euro for 2 persons ! To be recommended for sure.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

After one night in Gallipoli in a terible noisy room in Hotel Bianko we escaped to the east cost. We found out that Otranto is much beautiful than Gallipoli. Even if the location of the Sanlu hotel was not in those destinations we wished we desided to stay there. The price of a double room was just 49 EUR, the room was modern, clean and with WI-FI connection. The real gem was a young receptionist who explained to us the local product which they have served for breakfast. Only local ricotta and prima sale. Four homemade tarts, pasticciotti and friselli - very hard bread that you have to soak first in water and than garnish with tomatoes and olive oil. Such breakfast was a great start of the day. We also have got a list of recommended restaurants in the near area. Even if the hotel does not look great from outside, inside you will find your peace!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

my first time in the region of Puglia and this hotel was a perfect choice. I'm a beach and nightlife enthusiast and i found this hotel perfectly located for my intents. Driving by car to the nearests beaches (Torre Dell'Orso my fave) was a matter of 15m. The typical village of Serrano is very calm aswell as the suburbs.

The hotel has a modern look, very fashion, the climatization inside makes you feel very confortable (specially in the hot summer days :) )
The staff is helpfull and very kind!
The rooms are very confortable , with AC. lcd and sattelite tv, free wireless internet access, fridge,locker and a huge bed in double room :)

Free underground private parking was a plus.

couldn't ask more for a 3 star hotel in this region. well... i could ask one thing more: a swimming pool would be the cherry in the top of the cake! :))

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sanlu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanlu Hotel

Address: Provinciale Martano Otranto, 73020 Serrano, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Serrano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Serrano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanlu Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanlu Hotel is a new building hotel, located in Apulia (Puglia), in the heart of Salento and in the miningful scenery of Grece Salentina. It has 30 rooms including 4 Superior. Rooms with modern and design style furnishing, equipped with the latest technology and great attention to details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Sanlu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanlu Hotel Serrano
Sanlu Hotel Italy/Serrano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanlu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.