We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tranquility Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tranquility Lodge to your Saves list
Tranquility Lodge
130 St Michael's Avenue | Garden Route, Nature's Valley 6602, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

We had a 3 night stay at Tranquility Lodge in Nature's Valley as part of a 3 week trip around South Africa. I was a little unsure if my expectations for this place were going to be met because from the website, location and some of the reviews I read it sounded too good to be true. It was not. This is an amazing place.

We were met by Vivjer who was very welcoming and helpful. Our room was lovely although it had beetles dislayed on the wall! The arrangement of the lodge is excellent. On the upper level there is a lovely balcony walkway wrapping around a lounge and the eating area.

The food was not what we particularly expected to be a highlight but aside from a super breakfast, there is an evening dinner service where the small number of guests at the lodge are cooked a seriously good 3 course meal (for just 220 rand - £20 per person, inc. wine).

We did not spend much time around the lodge and its pool which was nice because on the doorstep there is the stunning beach. During our stay in SA we saw some fantastic scenery and the beach at Nature's valley was in the top league. One evening after dinner we took a walk along the beach; there were no clouds and a night sky like I have rarely seen in my life. Beautiful.

Nature's valley is a great location to visit many of the attractions in this area also. Monkeyland, Birds of Eden, Tenikwa, Bloukrans Bungee are all on the doorstep and there are some great walking routes along the coast and around the area.

Tranquility lodge has a brilliant dog who is very soft but very well behaved. It also has canoes to borrow on the lagoon.

We had a great stay here and the only downside is that it is about 10000km from London and we may never get the chance to go back.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    17
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
6
54
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

we stayed in the honeymoon suite and it was lovely.the sevice was very good and the food (prepared by peter the well travelled chef and host) was the best we had on our holiday.and the biggest plus for me was no screaming kids.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

We had planned to stay in the area for 2 nights but the place was so popular during that time we could only get availability for a standard room for 1 night. Whilst not huge (and not exactly small) the room was very nice, with fresh, modern decor. The breakfast was awesome, with a great choice and all cooked and presented by the in house chef - and it was all top class! We did not have dinner there as the dinner menu is set and my wife is a veggy , so we went to the bar/restaurant next door. We found out later that they also cater for veggy's at dinner... going by the breakfast we appear to have missed out on that one.

There were some really nice touches that helped make this place stand out, like the fresh home baked shortbread with the tea and coffee facilities as well as the high quality food and decor. We took advantage of the free kayaks and went out on the lagoon - another nice touch. Oh and the beach is about 1-2 mins walk away - perfect!

We were very surprised that this property is only 3 stars - it deserves at least 4. We woudl highly recommend this for 2-3 nights, or longer if you just wanna crash on the beach all day.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

I was at Tranquility Lodge for a quiet weekend away, and that is just what i recieved.

From the word go was amazing, booking in was smooth, room was spacious, setting is amazing, very quiet and just what any person need to relax.

The service was profesional , fast and nothing is too big for them, from getting the newspaper to new towels, since i love to mess.

My wife was even surprised, and believe me she is difficult to keep happy.

To Vijver and the rest of the staff at the Lodge...

WELL DONE

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

We stayed at Tranquility Lodge in early March 2009, we booked a superior room - I was glad we had because it was slightly on the small side so a standard room must be tiny. But however that is the only minor fault I found with the place over the course of our stay. We had a long journey to get there so we had pre-booked the "decadent dinner" in advance, we arrived at just after 7pm and were told, "Dinner is at 7.30pm - not from 7.30 but AT 7.30 - arrive late and you miss it!" WE turned up on time and ate a delicious home cooked meal, we had springbok carpaccio to start, fillet of angel fish with fresh veg, and then a delicious treacle pudding to finish. The service was impeccable and the food was such good value (just over £10 for the three courses). Rita - the host and cook did an excellent job of cooking, chatting to guests and serving drinks - multi tasking to perfection.
The hotel location is beautiful, surrounded by the trees and just a short walk from the beach, you can hear the sea from the hotel. We ate meals on a balcony which runs around the edge of the main building (might get a bit chilly in winter months?) that included breakfast as well as dinner. In the mornings the hotel staff fill up bird feeders so that you are joined by a variety of different birds who flock in from the forests. (My husband is a keen birder and asked the hotel if they knew of any local bird experts - they were more than helpful and arranged for a guy to drive over in the very early hours of the morning to accompany Ian on a birding walk into the forest (at a very reasonable charge paid direct to the guy - his name was Ray Goodwin).
Hotel staff were at all times attentive and helpful making suggestions on activities but never feeling like they are intruding. We took one of the Kayaks up the creek which was fun and then also drove over to the Storms River Mouth which is a beautiful area.
On our second night we decided to try the local pub next door - whilst it was an entertainment just trying to keep up with the waitress, the food there was very basis and in terms of value we would have been better advised to take the hotels dinner which was far better quality and value for money.
Would we go back - most definately even though the beds were small and the rooms compact.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitchurch
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

We had wanted to stay 2 nights in Natures Valley but as the only room on offer at Tranquility Lodge was exceptionally small we took a larger room (still not quite big enough) for 1 night only. The lodge staff are extremely helpful & professional & the dinner and breakfast were first class. However the rooms are small as is the swimming/plunge pool. The jacuzzi pool although advertised did not seem to be in use. The "pub" next door sells good pub food but shop looked as though is was getting ready to close for the season with nearly all the shelves empty. The beach is superb but with next to no infrastructure to support the environment, one night was enough for us. Wifi connectivity, although advertised, is not great.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

Stayed at Tranquility Lodge for two nights in September 2008 and wish that we stayed longer as it was one of the best (and friendliest) places that we stayed in during a three week trip to SA. The food was definitely a highlight - dinner was fantastic and incredibly well-hosted. Would recommend getting there early afternoon to make sure you have the opportunity to book for dinner that evening. Although the rooms are smallish (we were in a standard room), there's so much to see and do in the local area that you won't be spending too much time in the room. The Lodge also has a great communal area to relax etc...

Will definitely be re-visiting on my next trip to SA.

  • Liked — Food and hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tranquility Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Lodge

Address: 130 St Michael's Avenue | Garden Route, Nature's Valley 6602, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Nature's Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Nature's Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FACE the beauty that is Tranquility B&B in the heart of natures valley,South Africa - where the ocean & forest meet in magnificent splendor & nature seeps into your soul. Luxury B&B accommodation includes seven double en-suite rooms, one of which is our "honeymoon" or "penthouse" suite. We have 2 Superior Twin/King rooms also located on the upper floor. Our Standard rooms are located downstairs. All our rooms include a delicious breakfast to complete the experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tranquility Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Lodge South Africa/Garden Route

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tranquility Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.