We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proof Of Intelligent Design” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitland Hotel De Vrije Teugel

Save Saved
You added Fitland Hotel De Vrije Teugel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fitland Hotel De Vrije Teugel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bedafseweg 22, 5406 TM Uden, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Uden
Estepona, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Proof Of Intelligent Design”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

How often do you get into a hotel and start to figure out your room and find yourself wondering, "What in the world were they thinking"? In this hotel, there is proof that someone was thinking quite a lot when they came up with the room design. My room was both contemporary and comfortable, practical and inviting. Maybe the TV looming at the foot of the bed was a little odd but it didn't stop me form having a great night's sleep. Shower and bathroom facilities were, again, very well thought out, spacious and comfortable. Excellent staff that couldn't do enough for you. A very quiet hotel. No TVs bleeding through the walls. And it remained quiet despite it having an active club on the premises. Oh yes..and a bowling alley! Enjoyed this place a lot, felt very relaxed and only wish I had another day or two to spend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeVrijeTeugel, De Vrije Teugel at Fitland Hotel De Vrije Teugel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Danny

Thank you for your great 5-star review and your nice words! We are looking forward to welcome you again on a future occasion, maybe for some more days.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
17
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We couldn't book our first choice so opted for this instead. It's fairly new and is spacious, bright and clean. The rooms are well appointed and airy although the air conditioning couldn't seem to cope with warming up the room and had a maximum setting of 23 degrees, I wouldn't like to be here in the middle of winter.
It's fairly remote so there's no nearby restaurants to walk to. So the restaurant it was.
Interesting menu concept - eat all you like and choose any number of starters or main courses from the menu. Seemed fine unless you wanted a selection of starters - each diner was only allowed to order one item at a time.
Portions were a little on the tapas size and the food was ok but not exceptional given the price (55 euros for two of us with one glass of wine each and no dessert or coffees). We didn't eat alot as we were plied with yummy but filling bread at the start (maybe that was the plan!)
It's in a lovely setting so would like to return in summer.
All staff very pleasant and helpful.
Relatively expensive hotel for the area I think.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeVrijeTeugel, DeVrijeTeugel at Fitland Hotel De Vrije Teugel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. Reviews always help us to improve our service.
I am happy to inform you that we have increased the minimum temperature of the rooms.
The concept in the restaurant is similar as the knows tapas. You can order as many dishes as you prefer. But because the size of the dishes is larger than the normal tapa size, you can just order one at the time. Also included is the dessert. Unfortunately you have missed this option.
We are hoping to see you back in the summer so you can enjoy a nice dinner with dessert and experience the nice surroundings we have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The De Vrije Tuegel hotel is not located near anywhere particularly famous and is in a rural area, so not much to do in the vicinity but that makes it fairly quiet. Leaving aside the location, this is an excellent hotel, surprisingly so. The reception area is very large, bright and clean and the rooms are really well laid out with some unusual design touches (not sure about the sink unit, about 1m long and 5cm deep!) and very comfortable. Only two storeys high, which is good. Plenty of parking space. The staff are all very friendly and professional, a pleasure to deal with. The restaurant serves very nice food for dinner in the evening, and there is the normal breakfast buffet offered by most hotels. Great value, and if I visit this area again I will definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeVrijeTeugel, - at Fitland Hotel De Vrije Teugel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for this very nice review! We hope to welcome you back soon at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Initially we had booked another hotel with our ‘Bongo’ voucher but after a last minute cancellation, we chose for the Fitland Hotel in Uden.
And we didn’t regret our change as this hotel was a very pleasant surprise.
It’s located in a beautiful and quiet part of Brabant with lots of possibilities to explore the neighborhood by bike or by foot. You can rent all kind of bikes just behind the hotel for that purpose.
Staff is typically Dutch: spontaneously, open and friendly. They simply know how to run a business.
The hotel has a restaurant, which is OK for lunch especially when the weather is good as they also have a big terrace outside, however during the evening we went to one the neighbouring towns to eat and that’s probably the better choice.
For a drink afterwards, you can head back to the hotel as they have a bar downstairs which is cozier then most hotel bars.
The rooms are in a contemporary style with all the facilities you need and it will definitely offer you a very quiet night.
Very pleasant rain shower in the bathroom but the toilet is not for people who like complete privacy: it was behind a glass sliding door which did not shut completely.
Breakfast offers everything you want and is nicely presented but same remark as other people made: annoying flies everywhere. It’s the country side but they should try to do something about it.
However, overall we did enjoy our stay very much and I would highly recommendth Fitland hotel for a weekend of.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeVrijeTeugel, - at Fitland Hotel De Vrije Teugel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We are happy you didn’t regret your change and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy to report that the fly problem is solved. And hope that we can welcome you again at our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temse, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Booked throuhg a website named Travelbird, a 2 night stay with a day ticket for the "welnessboot" in Mill. We really enjoyed our stay in the Hampshire de vrije teugel, new hotel with nice rooms and ok breakfast, nice bowling, but not much to do in the immediate area, but we loved the tapas restaurants in Uden! A lot of tapas places here, with all you can eat tapas for a very reasonnable price!! We ate at 't Zusje and Senõr Pepe! Both recommended. We also had a relaxing day in the welness in Mill, but it's about 20 minutes from Uden with the car.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meggie v, Receptioniste at Fitland Hotel De Vrije Teugel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Google Translation
Beste Petra. Hartelijk dank voor het plaatsten van uw review. Wij zijn blij te horen dat u het goed naar uw zijn heeft gehad. Hopelijk tot een volgende keer! Met vriendelijke groet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights on a business trip. Overall a good experience, and I would return again when in the area.

Pros:
Brand new, so everything is in an excellent condition.
Modern rooms. Bed is very comfortable. Sometimes I have difficulty sleeping in hotel rooms, but I slept extremely well here.

Cons:
In the middle of the countryside, so little to do nearby, unless you are specifically staying in the area or on a conference.
The top floor rooms can get cold in the winter, as the heating turns off when you leave the room.

Food and service at the restaurant is average.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the ground floor - they are warmer in winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meggie v, Receptionist at Fitland Hotel De Vrije Teugel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Mr Durham. Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you slept well at our hotel and that you had an overall good experience. We hope to welcome you again at our hotel. For that occasion we will provide 2 room keys so you can leave 1 in the room for the heating. With kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fitland Hotel De Vrije Teugel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitland Hotel De Vrije Teugel

Address: Bedafseweg 22, 5406 TM Uden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Uden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Uden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitland Hotel De Vrije Teugel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the middle of 'De Maashorst' recreation area, this 4-star hotel offers modern rooms and suites with free Wi-Fi. Its restaurant serves a la carte dishes and opens onto a terrace. The air-conditioned rooms at Fitland Hotel ‘De Vrije Teugel’ include a flat-screen TV and a bathroom with free toiletries and a hairdryer. Some rooms include a spacious seating area and a spa bath.A rich breakfast buffet is served daily at Fitland Hotel ‘De Vrije Teugel’. Guests can also enjoy a Sunday brunch or a drink on the terrace. Guests can cycle through Udens lush countryside, which includes dunes and forests. Packed lunches are available on request. Fitland Hotel ‘De Vrije Teugel’ also has a bowling alley and a playground for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your Fitland Hotel De Vrije Teugel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitland Hotel De Vrije Teugel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.