We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bandos Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bandos Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Bandos Island Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bandos Island   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bandos
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Had travelled to Bandos as part of a large group. Overall, the property was very good - great beach, good food and well maintained infrastructure. And as price points go, great value for money.
Beach: The beach is fabulous. I havent been elsewhere in the Maldives and so cant compare to other resorts in Maldives, but compared to most south east asian beach resorts, this one is right up there. Clean gorgeous water. The house reef is great for snorkelling and scuba diving, and the in house scuba diving set up is very good too.
Food: Buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner were available at one restaurant and there were two other restaurants (one of which was on a pier jutting into the sea) and a pub/ bar where there was live music some nights. One night as we stood on the pier near the scuba diving center we saw rays as well as black-tip sharks swim by - an unbelievable experience!
We got a package where we were paying $45/head for lunch and dinner and that was great value for money!
Rooms: The rooms were basically cottages. While we got upgraded from basic to luxury rooms, both rooms were quite good. Nothing fancy but definitely well-maintained.
Facilities: A very good badminton court, though you have to pay to use it as well as pay for the badminton rackets. I dont think they quite informed us about the same until we handed it back and so was a bit of a shock - I didnt mind paying since the court was good and rackets were in working condition, but would have been better if they told us before we stared playing.

Room Tip: Rooms numbers 200-220 are closest to the best beach strip on the island!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    441
    119
    41
    23
See reviews for
344
545
38
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We have just returned from 9 nights at Bandos and enjoyed a thoroughly relaxing holiday on this beautiful island.

We were met at the airport by a representative from the hotel (immigration no problem, bags came out straight away) and were whisked away to Bandos on their private speedboat. The transfer is only 10-15 minutes so you're in paradise in no time! Cold towels and a mocktail greeted us in reception, so far so good. It took a little time to check in but that may have been because 2 other couples were checking in at the same time.

Our bags were taken to the room by golf buggy and we had our first chance to have a look at the island whilst finding our room, although it didn't take long! We had a Deluxe Room, 295, set amongst lots of greenery but sadly no view of the beach but I don't think that really matters when you are there all day long. The rooms was simply furnished but with everything you need: large seating area, aircon, minibar,TV (for news purposes only!), comfy 4 poster bed, large bathroom and safe.

The beaches are lovely and if you can find a quiet spot that works for you so much the better. I was hoping the beaches would be slightly deeper but not a problem at all - you need the sea to keep cool.

The food was lovely and there's something to suit all tastes - the Maldivian curries at dinner in The Gallery are a must although maybe not for breakfast! The egg station is great - the guy making the omelettes should do the Saturday Kitchen omelette challenge! We ate lunch at the Sundowners all but one day - good bar food and great service. Look out for Muhusin, he's brilliant. And make sure you go back there for happy hour sunset cocktails, stunning views.

The Angerrik Spa is beautiful and a haven within paradise. The staff are extremely helpful when helping you choose your treatment and the massages were fantastic!

Spices at The Harbour Restaurant is lovely - we were the only people there which I think was a shame but made the already impeccable service even better and the food was delicious.

You can't go to Bandos without doing some snorkelling - you can see stunning fish almost anywhere. And if you're in to scuba diving or wanting to give it a try, Bandos is the place to do it. Great staff at Dive Bandos, very helpful.

The Sand Bar is fun for an after dinner drink but I would agree with some of the other reviewers that it is too loud. Most people come to the Maldives to relax and so a bar pumping music louder than a London nightclub isn't really necessary. We stayed up a few nights but you could still hear the music in our room at almost midnight.

My one suggestion would be that the hotel employes a Chinese speaker or at least gets a bit more Chinese literature around the place. A large group arrived whilst we were there and had no respect for their surroundings - walking and picking coral (against Maldivian law), shouting on the beach and throwing their cigarette butts wherever they wanted (I'm a smoker but it's not hard to walk to one of the many bins or use something as an ashtray). Actually, second suggestion is turn the music down at the Sand Bar.

Would I go back? Yes but not sure if a Deluxe Room is really necessary - you don't spend much time there. We were half board which was fine but watch out for the drink prices, your final bill can be a bit of a shock! And if you want a guaranteed quiet night's sleep, ask for a room further away from Sand Bar / Reception. All prices at Bandos are in US dollars. The hotel says tipping is not necessary is 10% service is added too all your bills plus 3.5% tax but of course it's nice to reward staff who have made your stay memorable.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from reception / Sand Bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

just came back yesterday after spending 6 days at this beautiful and friendly hotel. The beach is lovely and as requested they gave us a room with a clear seaview. beautiful clear waters, clean sand and trees that provide enough shade to rest in when it gets a little sunny.

The restuarants had decent food, though the breakfast menu never ever changed for the 5 days that we ate there....which was boring really. But the sea breeze cafe has ample choices on ala carte. Must mention here that the Harbour Restuarant serves real top class Indian food. Being an Indian did not find any faukts with the way the food was prepared or served.

We travelled with a one year old and found this hotel really geared well to take care of the little ones. The resort must have hundreds of high chairs and they cleaned up all the mess they create with a smile. there was crab race, magic show and disco nite for kids while we were there and my daughter had fun. We went for a paid 2 hour baby sitting service one evening - though my baby was sleeping that time and our nanny didnt have to do much - it was nice to have such a service handy at 2 hours notice.

Though we aren't divers, they have a great dive centre. And we saw lots of enthusiasts there, some had come specifically for the diving experience. For us we made up this experience with a basic glass bottom boat ride.

overall a good experience and I would definitely recommend this hotel for families.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Enjoyed my weekend at Bandos. The deluxe room was large and clean. Nice white sandy beach area around the island. Food was really good as well as the service. Looking forward to going back. Both couples and families were seen around the resort.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Our second visit, great location, and just what we wanted - it's only 20 minutes by boat from Male airport (so we can arrive on an evening flight and still get to the resort), it's got a great house reef, and the rooms are large enough to take the whole family. Plus it's got a swimming pool with (expensive!) ice creams at the pool bar for the kids.

Tips:
The bar is noisy - we didn't have any problem last time we had a deluxe room there but probably better to be further away if you might have a problem with that
Snorkeling is best to the west near the dive school - there's a channel through the reef to the outer edge which is handy at low tide - some other parts aren't so good, so it's best to just head straight for that part. Can see some nice things, including turtle, octopus, squid as well as the usual (!) great fish. Also saw some dolphin when we were out on a kayak.
No need to get full board, the Sea Breeze cafe has good food and isn't too expensive, plus Sundowners has food too.
If you're leaving on a night flight, it's well worth asking for a late checkout, you can get up to 6pm on an hourly rate - would of course prefer not to pay! but at least it's a straightforward option.
You can get deluxe adjoining rooms. Not sure if there's anywhere else in the Maldives that does that (and has house reef and 20 min boat to Male)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We were here for 5D/4N. The resort is perfect in every way. The beaches are blue and clean, although not the entire stretch is available, but you can definitely find a nice spot anytime.

Water sports: Excellent
Nice guide here to take you through all the sports and options. Very helping.

Snorkeling is one thing you can do all the time. The house reef is beautiful!!!!!!!!!!!!

Restaurant options are not many, but the ones that are there are decent.

Overall a very memorable experience and would suggest this to anybody looking for a nice getaway in maldives.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Hi there, we just came back from a holiday what supposed to be in paradise... Bandos island is a nice island with friendly staff, good food and very nice bungalows. We stayed in a deluxe beach bungalow which was just perfect. The one thing what ruined our once in a lifetime experience was the loud music from the bar at night! Loud beats until 24h keeps you from having a early night in bed which is nerveracking if you want to have an early dive the next morning! And this for a handfull of russian guests... A pity for such an expensive holiday...

Room Tip: Rooms away from the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bandos Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bandos Island Resort & Spa

Address: Bandos Island
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Bandos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bandos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bandos Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not wishing to rest on the laurels of our existing achievements, Bandos had in the past year undertaken a major refurbishment project with the intention of transforming ourselves into a hotel that is truly reflective of the times. Careful consideration however, was given at all times to ensure that the old-world refinement for which the island has a reputation remained uncompromised. Under the project, major facelifts have been given to the front desk, lobby areas, shops, restaurants and bars and have furthermore commissioned a new swimming pool and additional accommodation facilities all of which perfectly blend with the island’s tropical splendour and give visitors a taste of the Maldivian aesthetic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bandos Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bandos Island Hotel Bandos
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Island Resort Maldives
Bandos Island Maldives
Bandos Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bandos Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.