We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a nice place & so convenient for the whole Naples area.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Casa di Mario

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added A Casa di Mario to your Saves list
A Casa di Mario
Piazza Garibali - angolo via Oberdan | 6/A -Pompei, 84018 Scafati, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Scafati B&B and Inns
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Such a nice place & so convenient for the whole Naples area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Writing a review of A Casa di Mario is really a tale of two parts - Scafati itself and where the b&b is located, and then what awaits you once inside. The two are very different.

If you're looking for a 'Monaco' type of environment, then Scafati is most definitely not for you. It's what might be termed a 'working class', suburban area - with all of the traffic, noise and general commotion that is to be expected. Likewise the apartment block in which the b&b is located isn't the prettiest of buildings, and also isn't the easiest to find. That doesn't mean that the area is bad however - not at all. The local residents are for the most part extremely friendly and helpful and there are plenty of shops within easy walking distance selling everything under the sun - including a fairly large Carrefour supermarket. Once there for a while you begin to sense that Scafati is the 'real' Italy, experiencing as you do day-to-day life for Italians themselves, a million miles away from what it is like in the main tourist areas and hotels.

The b&b is run by Anna, her daughter Maria and her son Mario. To say they are friendly is a complete understatement - they are some of the warmest, most genuine people you will ever come across anywhere, and they care on a scale very rarely experienced. Nothing, but nothing, is too much trouble and you need only ask if there's anything in particular that is required and it will appear. They don't actually live on the premises - occupying as they do an adjacent apartment - and so depending on how many guests are staying you may find you have the entire apartment to yourself. The three bedrooms are all comprehensively equipped - as are the adjacent bathrooms - and the whole place is an oasis of calmness and is also both spacious and spotlessly clean. The balconies face south and have views of the hills over which you can drive to get to Amalfi and Positano. From the kitchen/breakfast room balcony there is a view towards Vesuvius. If you have a car there is a private garage in which to park, or alternatively Scafati Circumvesuviana railway station is about a 10 to 15 minute walk - from Naples Garibaldi look for trains to this station, since trains to Scafati mainline station, although closer to the b&b, are far less frequent. From the airport, firstly use the Alibus which goes direct to Garibaldi every 20 minutes or so.

Despite what some reviewers have written, the pleasant, level walk to Pompei only takes about 20 to 30 minutes maximum along a main road full of people and shops. Alternatively, you can use the aforementioned rail line or the local bus. It is also easy to get to Sorrento on the same rail line, with one change, and onwards from there to both Positano and Amalfi. Ercolano is en-route to Naples itself and does not require any changes. Driving around the Naples area and also along the Amalfi coast is definitely not for the faint-hearted, and although having a car has its benefits it is certainly not a pre-requisite - indeed, it's less stressful to use public transport.

Would we go back to A Casa di Mario? In a heartbeat - it represents an excellent, value-for-money alternative to what can be very expensive accommodation in this part of the world. It may not have stunning views from every angle - but those views come at a very high price. Save your money and stay where you will be welcomed as part of the family and experience something you will never forget.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our family stayed at B&B Mario for one week and our only regret was we could not stay longer. The B&B was clean, bright, comfortable, and the owners' family were so great. All 3 bedrooms are spacious and each have a wall-mounted TV, climate control unit, and balcony. The location is perfect for walking to Pompei; easy access to bus and train for trips to Naples, Sorrento Salerno, etc. Evenings were spent walking around Scafati, enjoying the shops, eateries, and meeting the locals. I/we highly recommend B&B Mario, and we hope to return next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in Casa di Mario. The apartment is beautiful and clean, with big kitchen and balcony. The owners are amazing! so nice and helpful.
The city of Scafaty is not so great, and the street is noisy and full of traffic. but it is still a very good place to stay in for a visit in Pompeii and the Vesuvius.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had a really pleasant stay at Casa di Mario ! Once we passed the door, we enter in a really nice place, with a really spacious and confortable room. Moreover, the family who runs the B&B was very nice and friendly, we talked for hours as soon as we arrived ! Anna and Maria gave us a lot of advices about Pompei (which is very close by car) and the whole napolitan region. I would more than recommend to stay there !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Our hosts were marvellous, so was the place: big room, clean bathroom, full kitchen. This is your perfect stay if you want to go to Pompei. We'll definitely recommend it, we barely had a so friendly host!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This small B&B in Scafati is an absolute Jewel! It's located perfectly between Napoli and the Amalfi coast, close to the train station and at walking distance from the Pompei ruins. The rooms are big and beautiful, the price is very reasonable, and above all - the staff is just lovely. The family that runs this B&B is so nice and helpful, that you feel right at home the minute you walk in. Also - the pizza place around the block is awesome (ask the staff, they'll show you were it is). We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

My husband and i were really impressed by the friendly welcome and the location of the B&B. We wanted to visit the Ruins in Pompei, but we were not sure if we could find a place close enough for me to walk to. I had a knee surgery and cannot walk for a long time. Casa di Mario has the perfect distance, 10 minute walk and there we were. We also liked the rooms. Simple but elegant and very clean. Casa di Mario know what Hospitality means. We are planning to return in the next couple of years and this time with some friends.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acasadimario, Owner at A Casa di Mario, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Buon Natale!
marry chrismas!
Feliz Natal!
Joyeux Noel!
Feliz Navidad!
Fruehliche Weihnachten!
To all of you! Thanks for have choose us!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Casa di Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Casa di Mario

Address: Piazza Garibali - angolo via Oberdan | 6/A -Pompei, 84018 Scafati, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Scafati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Scafati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B “acasadimario” is ready to receive you in a structure with renewed and pleasant atmospheres. For its perfect centrality in the zone more high cultural historical artistic thickness//lives is own an optimal starting point in order to carry out excursions in the most famous partenopei places. Beyond ancient Pompei, in fact, approachable in comfortably on foot single 10 minutes or with the car or public transports in 5 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your A Casa di Mario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Casa di Mario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.