We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting ruins” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pompei

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pompei to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Pompei
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dante Alighieri 172, 84018 Scafati, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Scafati
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Visiting ruins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Made welcome despite language barrier, good price, clean room and balcony. Central for visiting the area. Downside was lack of restaurants but can recommend the place just on the right for chicken and chips to eat on your balcony. Also a restaurant to the left by the glamorous villa. Here they really made us feel at home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    7
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
8
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bradford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Fantastic spot, small quiet hotel (14 rooms) in a quiet town with beautiful mountain vistas, out of the noise and confusion but not out of the way.
The hotel is well maintained, rooms are spacious and the pool was clean and never crowded.
We had a wonderful local dinner at the hotel's restaurant.
Hotel is family run it shows with pride and the warmth and charm of the Salerno countryside

Room Tip: If you are looking for a smaller, quite hotel near the Pompeii Ruins at reasonable rates this is per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Of all the staff, only the lady in the day service and the pool manager is worth mentioning, They were friendly and helpful. Its a pity their efforts are undone by the management. The Main manager is a sulky miserable individual that is abusive and plainly unfriendly. The night manager only comes to work to sleep. He was actually the worst night manager I have ever met and I have had many wonderful conversations with night managers. This one was unfriendly and unhelpful. I wake up early in the morning and came down to the dining room to boil water. (I must remind myself to book in hotels that have tea making facility's in the room) I asked him for milk for my tea which I knew was in the bar behind me, The bar is closed he said. Maybe he was upset that I made a noise and woke him up. Their excuse for not cleaning the room was that I didn't leave the key at the desk. I was 2 metres away, sitting by the pool. The room floor was still dirty after the cleaning.

I have stayed at many 3 star hotels in different country's and the level of service we have experienced in the past was much higher that what we received at this hotel. I wont return.

Room Tip: The best room would be in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massimogiordano, Proprietario at Hotel Pompei, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Google Translation
Buonasera
grazie per aver recensito il nostro Hotel
mi dispiace se il portiere di notte le ha fatto una brutta impressione
ma che di mattina alle 6 è appena sveglio non vedo cosa c'è di male
i nostri operai li rispettiamo e meritano di riposare
però sugli orari sono da rispettare come da bacheca esposta chiaramente alla reception
La colazione inizia alle 7 non alle 6 perché manca il personale alle 6
Il cliente alle 6 ha usato anche la piscina anche se era vietato alle 6 e glielo abbiamo lasciare fare.Il cliente ha portato cibo da fuori utilizzando i nostri tavoli e stoviglie e ci siamo messi a disposizione per il resto mi dispiace che questo cliente è incontentabile.
La sala bar si trova all'ingresso uscita della piscina e tenerla pulita con via vai di gente che entrano bagnati sarebbe impossibile
Saluti La direzione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed 4 nights and had a great time. The staff are very friendly and will do everything they can to assist you. Elena speaks excellent English and Adriano offered very good service and was great fun, making my 12 year old son feel very welcome. The room was very clean and comfortable, excellent bathroom and shower, great spacious balcony. The pool was lovely and not overcrowded. The breakfast was very good. The evening meals ranged from basic to outstanding (I had swordfish one night which was spectacular), but always more than acceptable and very reasonably priced. The most important thing with any hotel is to feel safe and that you are dealing with honest people. We found this most certainly to be the case here. The only possible downside is the immediate surroundings which are a bit run down but the secure compound, its proximity to the many activities in the wider area, comfort of the rooms and facilities at the hotel including free wi-fi, meant this was not an issue for us. Good supermarket just down the road too. This is an independent hotel, not part of a chain, so the hotel has some idiosyncrasies, but I think it is all the more charming for it and the level of personal service we received here was vastly better than any chain hotel. A tremendous holiday and a unique experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massimogiordano, Proprietario at Hotel Pompei, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Hi Colin
thanks for your feedback!!!! :)
You too are lovely people....
I am happy that you enjoyed your stay
you are always welcome in my hotel
Best Regards
Elena and Adriano:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Had a nice stay in the Hotel, Friendly staff and clean rooms. Pool was excellent in the hot weather.
Can suggest a fantastic meal in a restaurant about 100m up the road , "Antichi Sapori" , fantastic food and great wine

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

An excellent hotel elegant classy with a very friendly staff in within walking distance of the ruins

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Pompei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pompei

Address: Via Dante Alighieri 172, 84018 Scafati, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Scafati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Scafati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pompei 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Pompei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pompei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.