We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful oasis in the foothills of the Atlas Mountains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Douar Toufsirine, CR Aghouatim | Asni, Tahanaout 42300, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Tahanaout
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful oasis in the foothills of the Atlas Mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband and I kicked off our holiday in Morocco with 3 nights at the Kasbah Angour and I could ideally have done with an extra day there. The grounds are stunning and the view towards the mountains perfect. The hotel itself is well laid out - it felt more like staying at a friend's villa than like a hotel. The staff are all friendly and attentive without being in your face. Other reviews comment on the food on offer and other little things like the absence of fancy little toiletries. In my view, fancy food and toiletries would have spoiled the feel of the place which to me is luxurious but honest.
In our 2 full days there we did a 6 hour energetic walk in the mountains and a half day mountain biking. Both trips would probably suit someone fairly fit but you don't need to be Paula Radcliffe or Bradley Wiggins.
You can also go on day trips to Marrakech which is only about 30 minutes away by car. However, this wouldn't have worked for me because I felt that Marrakech took at least a day to get used to and start to feel at home - after that I really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    22
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
87
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

I went with my sister and parents for my birthday. Kasbah Angour was a fabulous place to retreat from busy lives and hectic schedules. The grounds are incredibly well maintained, beautiful and peaceful.

We had a half day trip up to the mountains with Youssef who was fantastic - really helpful and friendly. In fact that could be said for all the staff, helpful, friendly, available, conscientious.

Paul (the owner) was incredibly helpful and accommodating towards us. We wanted to go a day trip to Ourika Valley and Paul was really helpful in suggesting an alternative which he thought we would enjoy more - which we did.

I slept really well during our stay thanks to the quiet and the shutters which blocked out all light. We found we were able to relax and decompress in beautiful surroundings.

As with all places there are things that can be improved or be slightly different (which have been covered in other reviews) however I am sure Paul is aware and working on changes.

Thank you for a really lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Spent two nights here after Marrakech, beautiful tranquil setting which offers quality accommodation and a welcoming host in Paul. you can choose to sit by the unsheathed pool and relax or take one of the many paid excursions. There are beautifully manicured gardens with fantastic views of the mountains, however the food doesn't quite meet the surroundings, with little variation in the menu, expensive food and drink prices, and sometimes hard to find staff during the day.
These are minor things which could be easily rectified and doesn't really detract from a beautiful hotel. This hotel is worth a visit after Marrakech, due to the serenity of the location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandown, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights after a hectic three days in Marrakech, and what a difference.
Kasbah Angour was. The place has magnificent gardens and is a quiet oasis where the staff always had a smile. We booked a days car tour to the Ourika valley, because the taxi driver’s English was reported to be suspect (he made himself understood very well and even helped me with a cash machine that refused to use English), the owner sent one of the staff along as guide. At the end of the day they both refused a tip as “there is no obligation”. We will certainly return to the Kasbah and Marrakech, but next time will base ourselves there and just visit Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We spent 4 days here after spending 3 in Marrakech, and doing so was one of the best holiday decisions we could have made. After leaving Marrakech we felt we’d already covered a week, due to the intensity of the city, and we knew we needed some time to just chill out and relax. This was the perfect place for it.
The hotel is located in a quiet area and very often all we could hear was occasional birdsong and literally nothing else. The hotel has been so thoughtfully developed, sitting in gorgeous gardens with stunning views out to the hills. The rooms were spotlessly clean and decorated in keeping with the Berber style evident throughout the whole complex. The only fault with the room itself would possibly be a slight lack of storage; there was a good sized wardrobe with a couple of shelves but a little drawer space would have been nice.
There is a large restaurant room where we chose to eat dinner on a couple of evenings as the temperature was a little cooler, but mostly meals are taken on the patio outside. On our first evening, dinner was in the lovely café/bar with some local live music laid on; I believe this is done on a weekly basis.
We went on a B&B basis, with ample breakfast choices including fruits, cereals, pancakes, eggs, omelettes. Light lunches are available – salads, toasted sandwiches and desserts, and the evening meals were gorgeous although menu choice is a little limited. There were generally 4 starters, mains and desserts from which we were asked our choice a few hours in advance as the meals are all freshly prepared to order. Most nights the menu did include some repeats from the previous night but we always found enough to vary our choice each time.
As well as having beautiful gardens to enjoy there is a good sized pool. It's not heated but if I can go in then anyone can! There were not so many guests when we stayed but the place is so spacious it is never hard to find somewhere to sit and relax, whether it be by the poolside, at one of the patio tables, or on one of the lovely sofas in the lovely little courtyard by the cafe bar. There is also a large indoor lounge with TV available. We were the only people I saw go in this room - we went in a couple of times to just wind down with a drink in the evening (though on our last night we did pop in and felt only slightly guilty at watching the end of the England football match on TV!)
The staff were wonderful, all spoke English and were polite and unobtrusive. It did mean that occasionally you had to get up and look for somebody to ask eg if you wanted a drink, but this was a small inconvenience when balanced against the lovely feeling of peace. Paul, the owner, was always around to chat to guests too. He accompanied us on our half day car trip and it was great to get the benefit of his local knowledge, as well as hearing about how he built the hotel from scratch.
He has done a superb job and got the whole feel of it just perfectly right. If you want a hotel with lots of on-site activity, busy lively restaurants and entertainment on tap then this is not for you. The hotel is also fairly remote so walking down the road into town is not an option. But if you want somewhere where daytime activities can be organised (from visits to local souks to half day car trips to full day hiking, mule treks) but otherwise you are left to relax and enjoy some real peace and tranquillity in beautiful surroundings, then this place is perfect.
Big thank you to Paul and his staff for giving us such a wonderful time. Special thank you for the surprise cake we were presented with on our last dinner there as it was our wedding anniversary. It was hard to eat as we had had such a gorgeous meal already (though I never refuse a chocolate cake of any sort!) but was a really lovely gesture - thank you :)

Room Tip: We stayed in an Ardrar room, so peaceful overlooking the gardens. I believe the Assif rooms, while...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights following an exciting and hectic 3 night city break in Marrakech.

Set in beautifully maintained gardens with a stunning pool (not heated but not a problem in early October) Kasbah Angour offers a perfect contrast to the hustle and bustle of Marrakech and gives you access to another aspect of Morrocan life and culture.

We spent our mornings doing activities (walking, village tour and Souk) and our afternoons relaxing by the pool and in the gardens. The various activities are designed to give you a taste of local Berber culture (the Souk is a great experience) and we were accompanied by a friendly local guide on each trip.

You will probably dine at the Kasbah as there are no other options in the immediate vicinity. We were very happy with the quality of the food here. The menu was limited to a few options each day but there was enough variety to satisfy us for a 4 day stay. If you are looking for an international restaurant / menu where the staff have worked and trained in various establishments around the world (we weren't!) then maybe this isn't for you but if you want delicious freshly sourced local food prepared and served by a friendly, polite and courteous locally based staff then it's perfect. The lamb tagine was better than anything we had in Marrakech. At 235Dh for a 3 course dinner we were dining well in beautiful surroundings. Add a reasonable priced bottle of Moroccan wine and a beer and it was coming in at less than the average price we paid in Marrakech so we were very happy with all aspects of the dining experience.

Paul has built a beautiful place here and has a lovely team of people working for him. Kasbah Angour is a great place for a relaxing break in a beautiful location.

We will definitely visit the beautiful Kasbah Angour again

Thanks to Paul and his team.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of September and had a wonderful weekend. Our taxi transfers to and from the airport were smooth and efficient with the drivers being polite and friendly. We organised trips through the hotel to Marrakech (a simple 40 minute taxi ride - we arranged times to suit ourselves) and also into the Atlas Mountains by car - both of which were wonderful. The hotel itself is fantastic - the rooms are tasteful and comfortable, the gardens are wonderful, the staff and owner cannot do enough to help you, and the food is delicious. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel as a great way to see Marrakech and the area, at a much more relaxed pace than staying in the city itself.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel

Address: Douar Toufsirine, CR Aghouatim | Asni, Tahanaout 42300, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Tahanaout
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Tahanaout
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kasbah Angour is a boutique hotel in a gorgeous Berber castle 30 minutes from Marrakech. Perched on a hill-top in the foot-hills of the Atlas Mountains, the Kasbah has superb panoramic views. The 25 bedrooms and suites are constructed from traditional Moroccan materials and the locally made furniture has Berber motifs. The Kasbah has beautiful gardens, a large swimming pool and offers wonderful local excursions. You will be served by charming local staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel Morocco/Tahanaout

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.