We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect start to our honeymoon adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Douar Toufsirine, CR Aghouatim | Asni, Tahanaout 42300, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Tahanaout
Leeds
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“perfect start to our honeymoon adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

we booked into the Kasbah Angour as a relaxing start to our honeymoon. We had requested transport from Marrekech Airport, and travelled about an hour after landing to get there. When we arrived Paul told us the history of the Kasbah and gave us a quick tour of the stunning gardens and indoor areas.
we spent 4 days here which we originally planned to be spent by the pool, but a combination of grey weather and a sense of adventure saw us see the Tuesday Souk in Tahanaoute, followed by a guided walk back through a Berber Village and beautiful country side. We also took an unguided walk and explored the local area which was amazing and spent a very relaxing afternoon enjoying the sunshine. the last day we took a guided mule hike into the Atlas, starting at a town called Imlil. This was without a doubt a fantastic experience. All of the adventures we had were perfectly organised by Paul and his team and they were trips we would never have thought of organising ourselves. we could have spent a week there and not have experienced everything on offer!

Back to the Kasbah; amazing traditional food, locally sourced products, good service, good wine, good beer, all in a setting that awakens every sense. Sunsets from the roof terrace are a must-see.

We were collected at the end of our stay by our driver from the Sahara Adventure Travels for the next part of our adventure.....

Would recommend time at the Kasbah Angour to anyone!

Room Tip: every room is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    22
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
87
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

A belated review from Oct 2012 when we stayed for 4 nights at the beginning of our honeymoon and it was such a fantastic stay that I couldn't not review. Perfect position which gives outstanding views, amazing garden and genuine Moroccan architecture and fittings all lovingly created by Paul the owner, who cannot do enough to make your stay as good as can be. Great walks into the mountains and nearby Berber villages with charming guides. Although the setting is perfect, for me the service, all local Berber staff (very cheery, helpful and nice to be around) and food, all authentic seasonal well cooked food really make this place. Dinner is very romantic in a pretty room with log fire, great wine list and local, occasionally live, music. Previously visited for the first leg of a mini Morocco tour but we will return solely to recharge in such a tranquil setting and be looked after by Paul and his amazing team.

Honest downsides if you can call them that: my husband would like to see wifi in the rooms, it was only in reception at the time of our visit so inconvenient to him and means a few people lingering in reception. My husband would like more choice on the lunchtime menu as eating in is the only realistic option and choice is limited (although I thought all so good it did not bother me) and it would be nice if the pool could be heated as its such a lovely pool but was icy cold at the time of our visit. I would love to see Paul add the services of a Hammam, perhaps a local Berber lady as Paul supplies the local Berber men as guides, perhaps this is next in Paul's plan. However a quick cab ride into Marrakech and there are plenty to choose from but it would be the icing on the cake.

I cannot recommend enough. We will return

Room Tip: We had the most amazing suite, we would recommend. Very spacious and comfortable. From what we saw a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

A wonderful hotel with beautiful features created by local artisans. The gardens are absolutely wonderful with a variety of well established plants and the swimming pool is set discreetly to one side. The snow capped peaks of the Atlas Mountains can be seen in distance but whichever way you look, there are great views. This hotel is only 30 minutes from Marrakech and a great base for exploring the local area. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with the bonus of a proper hairdryer!

Room Tip: All rooms have a different appeal; view, patio, balcony etc, so it is personal preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in April. Having suffered an interminable (and inexplicable) wait at security at the airport in Marrakesh it was wonderful to arrive at this serene oasis. Marrakesh was experiencing unusually hot weather during the week we were there and so it was lovely to be in a cooler position. The Kasbah was built from scratch by Paul over the last five years and he has done a wonderful job, the gardens are stunning. The atmosphere is quiet, calm and welcoming. I am not sure how many rooms there are but it certainly wasn't full during the time we stayed. We had an extremely comfortable room facing the beautifully landscaped gardens, lovely big bathroom too. It would have been nice to have been able to shut the shutters but left the glass bit of the windows open at night, I didnt feel entirely happy leaving the windows wide open as we were on ground level so on the second night we opted for air conditioning. As we were only there for two nights and one day and felt badly in need of a total relax we decided not to do any of the tours this time, next time we will. We spent the day sunbathing and swimming which is just what we needed. Breakfast is taken outside on a terrace and is very good, breads, yoghurt, fruit and a choice of eggs, pancakes etc. You are given a menu in the late afternoon and asked to make your dinner choices. This was the only area where I wouldn't give full marks, the evening meals were acceptable but certainly not delicious, we had wonderful meals in Essaouira so I know you can get them. If Paul could improve on the evening meals then this hotel would get full marks. We absolutely loved our stay and look forward to returning in the not too distant future for another visit, I have raved about this place to all my friends!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent four very pleasant nights at Kasbah Angour. The owner/builder/man-in-charge, Paul, was charming, helpful, and runs a very nice country hotel.

The suite we had was large, if spartanly furnished, with views overlooking the gardens and mountains in the distance. The pool looks wonderful, although we didn't use it as the weather was still a bit chilly for pool lounging. Paul arranged for two day trips, each of which was as promised and allowed us to explore the impressive Atlas mountains.

The staff are universally friendly and attentive. They are young, enthusiastic and aim to please.

The food is good. The menu on offer is small, but each dish was tasty, well presented and attentively served.

The only complaint I have about the whole experience was a very bad case of stomach flu which we each had shortly after leaving Kasbah Angour. Since we ate all our meals from the hotel, it must have been the source. But, I theorize it was some fresh fruit we had in a picnic provided on one of our day hikes.

So forget fresh fruit, which is always good advice in such countries anyway, and enjoy a stay at Kasbah Angour.

Room Tip: The hotel seems, very wisely, to put families in one wing and couples in another on the other side o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We first visited Kasbah Angour 18 months ago, & everything was as we remembered, though more green at this time of year. Same charming, helpful staff, great local food, beautiful gardens & mountain views, comfortable room, & above all, total peace & quiet. THE place to recharge batteries - thank you Paul!

Room Tip: All rooms are good, some look south towards the Mountains with a patio in the sun, others look over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is a very well built hotel and is extremely sympathetic to its surroundings. Paul has done a great job on this and the gardens are mature and colourful. We had a mountain view room over looking the garden and the mountains. The room was comfortable and very spacious and have everything you would need.

Pool are very nice and for those that like to catch the sun, read and have a swim you won’t be disappointed.

There are a number of walks on offer. If you do them make sure they are suitable for your ability. We went on a walk that turned a little tricky. That said there where amazing views and we spent a little time talking to two shepherds. Ask Paul if you can have an early start and take a packed breakfast. There are plenty of great spots to stop.

Food and drinks are fairly priced. The menu has limited rotation, so a stay of over 4 days and the food can get repetitive although it is to a good standard.

Paul is very accommodating and a nice guy with lots to think about, you just need to grab him if you need anything and he is happy to help. He could do with a little help from a manager.

We had a great stay and were fully rejuvenated by the time of our return to the UK.

Top tip. Ask Paul to sort out transfers to and from Kasbah Angour they are very reasonable in a good vehicle.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel

Address: Douar Toufsirine, CR Aghouatim | Asni, Tahanaout 42300, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Tahanaout
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Tahanaout
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kasbah Angour is a boutique hotel in a gorgeous Berber castle 30 minutes from Marrakech. Perched on a hill-top in the foot-hills of the Atlas Mountains, the Kasbah has superb panoramic views. The 25 bedrooms and suites are constructed from traditional Moroccan materials and the locally made furniture has Berber motifs. The Kasbah has beautiful gardens, a large swimming pool and offers wonderful local excursions. You will be served by charming local staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel Morocco/Tahanaout

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.