We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning setting, wonderful service: contrasts in a magical Morocco pt 1” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel to your Saves list
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Douar Toufsirine, CR Aghouatim | Asni, Tahanaout 42300, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tahanaout
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Stunning setting, wonderful service: contrasts in a magical Morocco pt 1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

A family of four (two eleven year old boys) we travelled in the third week of April. I'll focus on the tours and walks, and not repeat in any length what's already been said before about the place - just to say a wonderfully located kasbah, just 30 mins from the airport, about 900m above sea level, built with many Moroccan style features, rooms and ensuites comfortable and spacious. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly owner and staff, and the food is of a good standard.

I was worried whether 5 nights might be pushing it too much in such isolation (we didn't hire a car - and I wouldn't recommend it except if you're an expert driver at dodgems), but in the end it was just right. Excursions can be arranged with a day's notice, or even less, as the English owner Paul has a number of guides he called upon to join us.

We arrived Saturday late afternoon: boys discovered the tortoises within minutes. First day: a 2 hour guided walk around the hills, with Mustafa. A great introduction to where we were staying. Second day, 6 hour excursion: a guided drive (about an hour) to Imlil, 1700m, a hub for mountain trekkers, and mule trek (about an hour) on up to a mountain berber village, Ahmed, 2,500m? then a picnic lunch in the muleteer's berber home, unexpectedly supplemented by a tagine provided by his wife. An extraordinary tiny glimpse of mountain life. However - one of my 11 year old boys was not keen on riding the mule (and whilst clearly very surefooted, it can be a little scary as the mules pitch steeply up and down the pathways) so he walked with the guide. The temp was 37 degrees, very hot, with little shade. He did not feel well or happy when we reached the top village. I would recommend (for any trip to Morocco from late April onwards) being better prepared than we were, by bringing those small water spray/misters with fans, which we didn't have with us this trip. And tho the kids wanted to wear baseball caps, I would definitely recommend all-round rimmed straw or panama style type hats. It could make a difference. Third day - short guided tour of the local souk at Tahanout (Tuesdays); astonishing - this is no Marrakech, with few tourists, so little of the harassment or interest in us; mainly locals from all around coming to do their shopping and selling: spices, utensils, cloths, chickens being bought, and 'prepared' there and then, dozens of barbers in their open tents, bakers, many open grills and tagine restaurants, where you bring your own food and they charge you to cook it, well over 200 mules or donkeys in the 'mule park' proof that the car has not yet overtaken this region for many people's transport. Then chill out recovery day by the pool, short unguided local walk early evening. Fourth day - again, the heat defeated us and we left the guided walk until 4pm, which turned out to be a good 'plan' as cloud cover built up during the day provided some respite from the heat. Again local, this time a different route, and the guide showed us how to tempt a scorpion to the mouth of its nest - the boys went nuts: 6 scorpion nests and 3 hours later we managed to get back in time for dinner. One of the highlights of the week! (they're poisonous by the way - the scorpions, not the boys - so caution needed). Five nights and we didn't do the day walk, the adventure park (thanks to the cautious child), and we could have ventured out more on our own too. The excursions added a fair bit to our bill but the charges are clear.

The serenity, the relaxed atmosphere and the stunning views meant that place felt great, the other guests were like family or friends: the vibe is beautiful. Any criticisms? Really quite small - one guide (Imlil day) didn't particularly draw the kids into his patter; the aubergines were quite bitter in one tagine, and if the swimming pool could be heated just a teeny bit - that would make Kasbah Angour unbeatable. Which it probably is anyway.

We then spent 2 nights in Marrakech - see part 2.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    26
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
39
109
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights with our 2 teenagers and everyone loved it here. Paul, the English owner, has done a fantastic job building the place and oversees the service and care his attentive staff deliver. The surrounding countryside is perfect for gentle rambles or stenuous day long hikes. The guides were great but not compusory. We had local musicians one eveing who were exellent. Never heard a banjo played like that!
Our bedrooms were maybe a little sparce but the bed was very comfy & we did not spend long in there!

Room Tip: Our rooms were to the right of the entrance and overlooked the valley. The balcony caught the after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just got back from 4 days at Kasbah Angour following a 4 night stay in Marrakech medina with the family (2 teenage girls who loved this place). The hotel is newly built, excellently appointed and in an incredible spot nesting ontop of the foothills of the Atlas mountain range. It overlooks a green valley dotted with small Berber villages and farms, and is surrounded by the most breathtaking vista. The service is very friendly, unfussy and nothing is a problem for the staff who are just great. Paul the owner is an ex-pat who has pioneered the vision of creating a retreat that's not only in the heart of an unerring beauty spot, but also is in touch with the local Berber people and culture. You can do as much or as little as you wish, with options including guided walks, 4x4 excursions, mountain biking, or just sitting around the pool or in the lushly landscaped gardens reading! There will definately be a 'next time'.

Room Tip: Every room is located well, not really a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I have just returned from six days at Kasbah Angour and I cannot recommend it highly enough. Both the hotel's structure and its setting within the Atlas Mountains are absolutely breath-taking; Paul the owner and his kind, helpful staff do so much to make guests feel at home and comfortable; the food is lovely - simply cooked Moroccan tagines; grills; salads; stews; roast vegetables and some great desserts including a particularly memorable lemon tart! There is also lots to do in the Atlas Mountains. I particularly enjoyed the walks and treks, plus a visit to the local souk, with the friendly, and informed guides who are part of the local Berber communities. The scenery is awe-inspiring and is also great for anyone interested in wildlife and geology. The Kasbah is so easy to get to from Marrakech - Paul arranges transport from the airport (about 30 mins) - and it takes just over three hours to fly there from Gatwick. It's also possible to spend a day or afternoon in Marrakech from the Kasbah - I would recommend using one of Paul's guides if you would like to do this as the city is crowded with lots of winding streets and so unless you have an amazing sense of direction you could get lost quite easily and not see what you want to. And although Marrakech was interesting I have to say I was delighted to return the peace and beauty of the Kasbah and the mountains.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Kasbah Angour is a tranquil retreat set in beautiful countryside, great for walking & hiking & handy for Marrakech. The hotel is beautifully designed , the rooms are spacious and uncluttered, the staff are lovely and the food is totally delicious. Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Needing a four day break in the sunshine I stayed at Kasbah Angour.
I cannot fault anything.
I was met on arrival by Paul the owner, had a conducted tour followed by mint tea.
The bedroom with the ensuite was comfortable and well equiped and there was underfloor heating.
The staff were attentive and the food was well prepared.
THe guides provided for the walks were excellent.
THe gardens were well planted and designed.
The swimming pool is a good length .
At last I have found a place I can return to for a few days break.

Room Tip: All rooms had a view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a great stay at the Kasbah. The owner Paul is very knowledgable about the area and organises bespoke trips in to the High Atlas. Accomodation is good and spacious. The staff try hard to make your stay welcome. The atmosphere on our visit was a little tarnished by a large group of guests on a fitness holiday which did somewhat affect the natural peaceful ambience.Never the less, we would recommend a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahanaout
11.3 mi away
Domaine Malika
Domaine Malika
#1 of 4 in Ouirgane
5.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
12.8 mi away
Domaine de la Roseraie
Domaine de la Roseraie
#2 of 4 in Ouirgane
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
12.9 mi away
Chez Momo II
Chez Momo II
#2 of 2 in Asni
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Riad Dar Imlil
Riad Dar Imlil
#1 of 5 in Imlil
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
21.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,311 reviews
13.4 mi away
Kasbah Du Toubkal
Kasbah Du Toubkal
#2 of 5 in Imlil
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel

Address: Douar Toufsirine, CR Aghouatim | Asni, Tahanaout 42300, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Tahanaout
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tahanaout
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kasbah Angour is a boutique hotel in a gorgeous Berber castle 30 minutes from Marrakech. Perched on a hill-top in the foot-hills of the Atlas Mountains, the Kasbah has superb panoramic views. The 25 bedrooms and suites are constructed from traditional Moroccan materials and the locally made furniture has Berber motifs. The Kasbah has beautiful gardens, a large swimming pool and offers wonderful local excursions. You will be served by charming local staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel Morocco/Tahanaout

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.