We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, comfortable, and delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge du Pot d'Etain

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in L'Isle-sur-Serein
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge du Pot d'Etain
Save
You added Auberge du Pot d'Etain to your Saves list
L'Isle-sur-Serein, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quaint, comfortable, and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here based on a friend's recommendation and were not disappointed. L'Auberge du Pot d'Etain is in a lovely little village, our room was modern, clean and comfortable, and dinner in the restaurant was absolutely terrific. Seriously, the worst thing I could say about our stay is that the shampoo in the bathroom isn't really what you'd expect from such a nice place. Others have written that the owners/ staff were rude; I didn't think so at all. I think they just give people their space and are more professional rather than personal. Our dinner there was one of the best during our week-long trip to France; the veloutee with escargots was particularly memorable. It was a great "home base" for a few days of traveling to see different towns in the Burgundy countryside and I'd certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a shower, such as #5
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
12
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Howth, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

I never write bad reviews so let me start by the only plus point of this place. Amazing wine list.
But take my advice and stay somewhere else!
We both ate in the restaurant and stayed in the b&b.
My most shocking experience of bad service... from arrival until departure we met 3 members of the owner family. not one of them gave us a smile or returned mines. The girl who was serving us never returned my "merci"s with an "avec plaisir". Nor did the owner maitre d' who actually walked away while my boyfriend was talking to him. My boyfriend got refilled twice, while I was sitting there with an empty glass. But that's only nuance as this is not a fine dining place. They made me feel that they are doing us a favour by letting us dine and sleep there whereas we were the paying customers.... ah well.
The "decor" is extremely old fashioned and without any style, but again if it was a friendly place I wouldn't even care...
The rooms are really, really cold. considering that we stayed the end of May, I assume it's all year round.
The rooms (at least the one we stayed in) desperately need some renovation.
I didn't sleep much, because of the cold temperature, however the rooms are relatively quiet.
My opinion is if you visit for the wine list look for somewhere else to stay, but if you are not into wine, find somewhere with better food and service for your money.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilyfield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Relaxed informal but friendly efficient dealings. Room perfectly good and value at 65 euros. Evening meal, again at 55 euros set meal good value. Escalope mousse as amuse bouche, promising. Unfortunately next two courses disappointing, well cooked but lacking both taste and coherent combination -hommard with strange ? soft meat slices, then cod with potatoe puree. Dessert, strawberry concoction with tasty tweel, lovely. Truely astonishing wine list, 50 pages with 50 wines per page mostly prominent burgundy/rhone producers. Beautiful rustic countryside around and not far from Chablis.
Would I go again -yes, hopefully food will then match other excellent characteristics.

Room Tip: all room probaly quiet as inn off the beaten track and appear to be behind internal courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This delightful, family run auberge is only a short distance from the motorway, but is a real oasis after a long day's drive. The charming rooms, flower filled courtyard and accomodating staff are very welcoming and the dining experience is memorable. The clean, pleasant rooms are furnished with antiques and have modern, up to the minute baths. The wine selection is daunting, especially if you aren't familiar with wines of the region, but recommendations are cheerfully given and the choices are not necessarily from the high end of the list. Excellent food is provided by the chef de cuisine, the son of the hotel owners, and is served in an intimate and tasteful dining room where breakfast is also served. Our overnight stay couldn't have been more pleasurable and we're looking forward to a return visit next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Its pretty difficult to book this place unless you speak French, but arriving after a long drive up from the south coast, we were extremely glad we perservered to book this little hotel. Its situated in a pretty village not far off the A6 and run by a family, obviously with high standards of professionalism and perfectionism. Our room 1 was enormous with a little sitting room, spa bath (only hand held shower) and little balcony overlooking the inner flower filled courtyard set for lunch, was delightful and spotlessly clean. It represented fantastic value for money as it would be sold a junior suite/suite in other hotels.
Our 4 course dinner from the Euro35 menu, was excellent and of an extremely high standard, and was one of the best of our 2 week trip. The restaurant is beautifully presented and the service was friendly but professional. As others have said its a phenomenal wine list but I'm sure there's something in it for everyone, our choice was very good. Breakfast was typically French as I think they are their main clients. We had only time for a little walk around the village but will definitely return if we are in the area again one day.

Room Tip: Room 1 for something a little more special or a longer stay, as its larger and has a balcony, still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chartres, France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I can only comment on the restaurant and not on the hotel. This is a very typical French place (which in my mouth is a definite compliment) with good solid regional food, friendly service but above all the most amazing (Burgundy) wine list you can think of. A strong point is that when asked for recommendation, the staff goes for the more reasonable priced items: bravo!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

This family run hotel is excelllent value for money. Situated in a pretty village just off the A6 motorway, a great stopover. Good food and remakable selection of Burgundy wines.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge du Pot d'Etain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Pot d'Etain

Address: L'Isle-sur-Serein, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Burgundy > Yonne > L'Isle-sur-Serein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in L'Isle-sur-Serein
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Pot D'Etain France/L'Isle-Sur-Serein

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge du Pot d'Etain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.