We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View - clean and close” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casita Carolina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bacalar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casita Carolina
Save
You added Casita Carolina to your Saves list
Apdo 35 | Bacalar, Quintana Roo, Bacalar 77931, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Bacalar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edmonton
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Beautiful View - clean and close”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Casita Carolina for a few days while in town to attend a wedding next door. It was a great choice of place to stay and worked out great for us. We stayed in the small room near the road, but had all we needed. Clean room, private bathroom, hot water, access to wifi in the 'lounge' area, a beautiful yard with a view, and emergency beer fridge ($20pesos/each) in case of emergency - (it's a small town, they stop selling at a certain hour).

George (hor-hay) recommended some good spots to eat and helped us rescue our broken down bike in the middle of the night.

They offer a variety of different lodging options, sure to suit the needs of most. We'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    39
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
9
66
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

The casita is an ok place to stay. The rooms are basic but there was only hot water 1/4 times. The location at the lake is great but the fact that a caravan is there which attracts alternative people (hippies) is a downside and that we got the advise that you could not rent a boat whereas you can next door was also not too nice. They will suggest to sail with their neighbour from the usa which seems to be an incrowd sort of thing.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

I tent camped for a night at Casita Carolina and really enjoyed it, although the ground under the palapa where they made us pitch our tent is quite hard and made me wish I had brought a mat to put under my sleeping bag. In spite of that, the place is so tranquil that I was still able to rest well. I was really happy with the quality and the cleanliness of the shared bathrooms. The shower, however, wasn't so comfortable; in the little room outside of the shower, it could use additional hooks to hang toiletry bags and towels, an extra shelf to put your dry clothing and/or a bench for dressing up. Undoubtedly, its best attributes are the view of the lake and the wood pier and palapa over the water. If you like birds, you'll get a special treat as snail kites, limpkins and mangrove swallows like to hang around the shoreline in the late afternoons. Also, the owners are personable and know of all the good places to go eat.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Probably the best place to stay right on the lake and close to the town. Various room types from private bathroom with living room and kitchen in the house to a palapa to camper trailers (shared bathroom). Huge lawn running down to the lake, with its own dock. Note that there's really not much to do or see in the town, very few places to eat out and even on a Saturday night the town seemed 1/2 deserted. But if you're looking for a quiet place to relax, this is it. The lake/lagoon is gorgeous and the nearly Cenote Azul well worth visiting

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Casita Carolina is a wonderful little place right on Laguna Bacalar. The casita we stayed in was very comfortable with a small kitchen. The grounds are great; lots of lawn area to relax in with hammocks and lawn chairs. There is a pier that juts out onto the lake.

Room Tip: Choose one of the casitas, not the rooms with others ajoining them (very thin walls).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovendegem, Belgium
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

This is probably the best place to stay in the small town of Bacalar, if you want to stay near the town centre. Town centre is only 500 meters away, including the fort. Casita Carolina has a nice garden with a big, green lawn. We were happy to relax a bit near the lake, which is a very special spot. The view is amazing and Bacalar is a very peaceful town. We got a cozy and clean room, which was big enough. The room was a bit out-dated and has no airconditioning. Cause of this, our room was just to hot to sleep well during night. There were also lots of ants running in the building. There's no breakfast provided at this place, but you'll find a some good places to eat in the neighbourhood. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Bacalar, but we were happy to leave after 1 day. Next time, i would pay more for a better place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casitacarolina, Owner at Casita Carolina, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
My staff and I are very proud of our guest house. We work hard to keep our rooms clean and comfortable, our ambiance fun and interesting and our prices reasonable. I am so sorry that we cannot always meet everyone's expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

What a wonderful place! The garden is beautiful and the pier where you can jump off and into the water is great. Although I stayed only one night (a shame but I had to go on) I really enjoyed my stay. Laguna Bacalar can be strange in the low season and at night there was only one place open for food but anyway. The room was so lovely decorated with little things and the bed was great as well.... GO THERE!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casita Carolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casita Carolina

Address: Apdo 35 | Bacalar, Quintana Roo, Bacalar 77931, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Bacalar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Bacalar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Casita Carolina Laguna Bacalar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casita Carolina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.