We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dump!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laguna Bacalar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Laguna Bacalar to your Saves list
Hotel Laguna Bacalar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Costera #479 | 35 Km N of Chetumal just off Rt. 307, Bacalar 77930, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Bacalar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Dump!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Do yourself a favor and skip this place. The hotel looks nice in photos, but it is very run down. I speak Spanish and the staff was not the least bit friendly. The only thing it has going for itself is that the view is nice, but it is hardly worth staying there for it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    43
    39
    33
    34
See reviews for
33
74
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Louisiana
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We did not stay at this beautiful property. We did eat @ the restaurant, and found the food to be good, not great, the service was very friendly, and one of the most beautiful views one can imagine! Bacalar Lagoon truly has Seven Colors, maybe more, crystal clear water, at the shallowest, to the deepest blues you can imagine, in the 300' deep "Black Cenote".

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This was our last tour via Playa Del Carmen before heading back to Canada after 3 mths and I can honestly say this was the highlight of our trip this time. The view is so breath-taking day and night. I felt like was on a cruise ship in 'little Italy'. We had a suite of 2 adjoining bdrms w/baths and a neat sitting area in the entrance. Their decor is loaded with seashells on the ceilings and walls. You can swim in their pool overlooking the lake or down off their dock. Its apparently a lagoon of 7 colors and we have never seen such turquoise blue water anywhere else. We took a boat tour up a river and had fun snorkeling for the afternoon. The meals were all good. I took so many pictures and plan to return next winter with my family. It was only a 4 hour drive by rental car from Playa and you can stop in Bacalar for a tasty Mexican snack. It was simply wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an air conditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We visited two weeks ago, It is a nice hotel if you are staying there for a couple of days. It has a great view The only thing is that the electrcity went off and eventhough they gave us candles, it is an inconvinience when you are there to relax. It toomk like nine hours for it to come back

Room Tip: Room 9 and 10 has an awesome view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This is a 60 year old hotel and need a facelift but for the $ it's ok
Restaurant is pretty good and cheap
Views are great
@70 us for a room with ceiling fan or $. 90 us for a/c and tv with a couple English stations
Staff was fine
Pool was clean
We had a room built beneath the reception area as it's on a hill with private entrance/patio

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 8 have private entrance/ patio and are next to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We live in Belize city, so we just looked up that hotel at booking.com, they had vacancies for 50$ for 3 guests. We didn't book on line as we need just 2 hours to get there. When we were checking in the price was 1000 pesos ($77). Nevermind just an observation. The location is great, the view from the room is awesome! The lake is beautiful and delightful to swim in. We have a little baby, so the easy access into the water was a plus. Rooms are extremely outdated but look cleaned. At the time we stayed there we happened to have very very noisy neighbours - drinking and laughing, talking noisily. Just awful. I am pretty sure i was not the only one unable to sleep as they had a drunk party at the pool. Management did nothing until i had to go and ask the security guy to ask the noisy guests to keep it down. It was 2 am:( we didn't enjoy the night, much needed rest was ruined. We didn't eat at the restaurant, had all our meals at chetumal. Come here for the view, it is the only thing that can make me come back. I'd book on line next time too if i ever venture to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoersel, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

It felt a bit strange when we entered the hotel, because it was not high-season so we were nearly the only guests there. But that wasn't a bad thing: we were tired after a long road trip to see the lagoon. The rooms looked nice and romantic, but could use some updates (e.g. the top of the washbasin was partly broken. The food was nice and not expensive, but the waiters didn't look like they were enjoying their job. After all: you can't expect a 5 star service for 700 pesos a night. But hey, that didn't spoil our trip, because we came for the view. And what a view it was!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Laguna Bacalar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna Bacalar

Address: Avenida Costera #479 | 35 Km N of Chetumal just off Rt. 307, Bacalar 77930, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Bacalar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Bacalar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laguna Bacalar 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Laguna Bacalar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laguna Bacalar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.