We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is an eco-lodge.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Aq ab al

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bacalar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Aq ab al
Save
You added Casa Aq ab al to your Saves list
Hwy 307 KM 28.5, Bacalar 77930, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Bacalar B&B and Inns
Turin, Italy
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“This is an eco-lodge.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The main building, the annexes and the casita Estrella (where we stayed 5 nights) are run by solar power, so you have to be responsible in using electrical devices at night (apart from lights).
That said, the location is fantastic, as well as your hosts who take care of your stay through sharp suggestions on things to do on the lake and around it. You can cook your food in your kitchen; but this is really not worthy, because Pedro is a chef and will cook superb dinners and breakfasts for you, spicy or not, vegetarian or not, yucatecan or international. His wife Yolanda is a charming swiss landlady managing the house, the dogs, the cats, and the guests with energy and empathy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAqabal, Manager at Casa Aq ab al, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback,we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at casa aq'ab'al....it was nice to get to know you and your allways very welcome to come back.....thanks yolanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

couple or family who search for peace & quiet can find it here.
yolanda (swiss) & pedro (mex), the lovevly couple, arrive to the place 6 years ago and bit by bit made it an ecological heaven. they are sweet and very helpful (-;
the place built on the edge of bacalar charming lake. and has 4 apartments with lake view, which built to the smallest detales. the place works by solar power.

the apartments are big and have a full eqipment kitchen, hammocks, 3 bads and more.
the view from the apartment and the lake's deck is breathless.

we will recommend to book the place in advance. and call yolanda before to get more helpful tips.

if you look for a noisy hostel or parties - this is not the place

Room Tip: there are 4 apartments. the "el cielo" & "la luna" has a better lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAqabal, Manager at Casa Aq ab al, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your positiv review.We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at casa Aq'Ab'al. It's allways motivating to see that our work is apriciated by our guest.It was nice to get to know you.....take care....yolanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

we went for x-mas vacations the owner were very helpfull
made some of are meals drove us in town since it is hard to rent a car from bacalar
you can swim all day read relax hamacs kawaks
very clean Yolanda is very helpfull for day trips

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

So, we just found this place after turning off the carreterra by the sign and driving for at least a kilometer down a rugged 2-track until we could go no farther. We had no idea what to expect. We showed up and were welcomed by the owner's brother Antonio. He showed us some condo/apartments that impressed us. The prices were very reasonable for the two nights we would be staying. He mentioned that the building was on solar power. He took us down to the lake where they had a nice shaded dock with hammocks and kayaks, which we could use.

The apartment had a two-burner, and Antonio told us where we could go into town for groceries. We had a pleasant night, and woke up at sunrise the next morning to watch birds, which were plentiful in the area. On my way back, I ran into the owner Pedro, who offered to bring us some fresh coffee. He and his wife Yolanda also offered to cook or provide ingredients for any meals we might want.

"Wow," I thought, "What a place."

But after some great swimming and kayaking, there was trouble in paradise. We had been traveling for awhile and were washing some of our clothes. We had hung them to dry in the screened-in balcony and set up a fan to speed up the dry time, which was probably putting an excessive drain on the solar system. We came up to make lunch. The fan had been put away. Moments later, Yolanda showed up with her feathers a bit ruffled. She was upset that we'd been doing our laundry. Something about the soap. I almost explained that we had used Dr. Bronner's. And she was also upset that we'd been using the fan. Understandably. That was probably an irresponsible use of valuable energy. We got a bit of a lecture on how this was an "ecological" resort, and on how "most people don't do their laundry here." The tone left us feeling a bit uncomfortable. It turned out that they had a number of rules and expectations, which are evidently enforced. In which case, I guess my constructive criticism would be that they make guests aware upfront of their rules and expectations. Maybe a document in the rooms or a contract or something.

So, just be aware that this is an ecological resort. Aside from the elite eco-culturalism, I found the staff friendly, generous, and accommodating, and I would highly recommend Casa Aq-Ab-Al as a place to stay for any length of time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAqabal, Manager at Casa Aq ab al, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
thank you very much for your review.i'm sorry that i spoild your day,but i'm worried about electricity becouse my guests don't wanna be without,and my fridges have to run too....i apaologize....and thank you, i like the idea to do a folder,where it explains how our place runs with solarpower...it was nice to have you as guests take care.yolanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Casa Aq'ab'al is wonderful. The owners Yolanda and Pedro will treat you to their fabulous cooking and bring you Margaritas which you can sip and watch the sunset over the lagoon. The accommodation is spotless and unique in every way with colourful and thoughtful decor. They have kayaks you can use to paddle across the lagoon and a beautiful jetty for hanging out on a hammock in the total peace and quiet. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay and highly recommend this tranquil retreat.

Room Tip: Venus was beautiful but for a romantic treat, choose Cielo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAqabal, Manager at Casa Aq ab al, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
thank you very much for you very positiv review.We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our casa aq'ab'al.it's always motivating to see that our work is apreciated by our guests.It was nice to get to know you and you're always welcome to come back again.....take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum, Mexico
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I was looking for a peaceful, quiet place to spend 2 days with my boyfriend and just simply relax away from everything... and we found it! casa ak ab al received us sooo well. Their property is owned by a lovely Swiss German Couple and the house is on the lake. We got the top floor room called Cielo which is a "house". Huge, with a big terrace, king size bed and fairy and candle decoration. There’s a lovely deck on the level of the lake and we went kayaking and watch several species of birds (eagles, hawks, collibries) and wild life.
We felt super comfortable, welcome and at home. The place is solar powered; they compost their organic waste and plant all the surrounding gardens.
Highly recommended! I'm coming back for sure! Thank you for such healing time!

Room Tip: El Cielo! Top Floor! big big Room! Kind size bed! amazing gorgeous view!!!! :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

In September 2012 we travalled through Yucatan. Coming from Chetumal we checked on Tripadvisor where to go next and we found Casa Aq'ab'al, located directly on the Laguna. We were impressed by all these positive feedbacks (it's hard to add something more) :)
Yolanda was great, she picked us up at the bus station and it felt like coming home. We stayed 4 days and everyday was special and we started with a really delicious breakfast (you have to try Pedro's "Eggs Ranchero"!). Both were great hosts and we had an absolutly relaxing stay. Just in case you need some adventure - we did a tour with Gunnar from 'Active Nature' (5 minutes far away; http://www.activenaturebacalar.com/page45.html) which was really great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Aq ab al? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Aq ab al

Address: Hwy 307 KM 28.5, Bacalar 77930, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Bacalar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bacalar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We found our paradise and realized our dream with Casa Aq’ab’al which we now like to share with you as our guest. To be as one with nature as much as possible on beautiful Laguna Bacalar is our goal. We grow as many vegetables and herbs as possible in our garden and we use local fish, meats and produce to prepare meals. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Aq ab al, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.