We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kilpeck Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Kilpeck Inn to your Saves list
The Kilpeck Inn
Kilpeck HR2 9DN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Kilpeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights during April 2012, Rooms modern & clean and in our opinion of 4 star standard.
Meals both breakfast and evening, excellent. Staff brilliant.
The free Wifi worked without any problems.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    19
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
34
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hereford
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We have been meaning to visit The Kilpeck Inn for a meal since it first opened after refurbishment. The original building (The Red LIon) was our local for nearly 15 years from the age of 17 until we had children and we had some fantastic times there,including an unplanned lock in on our wedding night,and being on good terms with 4 different owners. I have to be honest and say although the food was excellent the evening was let down by generally poor service. The girls were all very pleasant but little things added together made for a mediocre evening considering where the pub seems to see itself,ie gastropub . First of all we were 20 mins late being seated and only then because I reminded them we were there, ( and it wasnt busy). Secondly we ordered a bottle of wine and this was literally thrown on the table as the waitress was rushing past to another table,we were left to uncork it and pour it ourselves.Finally only three of the four desserts turned up and after 5 mins we had to remind them about the missing one.This turned up another 5 mins later,obviously it hadnt been made.Overall not a bad evening .but with a little training it could be a lot better. It probably didnt help that the barmaid was doubling as a waitress

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We booked a night at the Kilpeck Inn to tour Herefordshire over a weekend to decide if we may live here in the future. The only downside was that the pub / hotel was very quiet as it was the middle of January. However, this enabled us to take advantage of a January offer - £80 for the room and breakfast.
We arrived on Sunday lunchtime for the fixed price lunch (£9.95 for 1 course, £12.95 for 2 courses and £15.95 for 3). There is no separate reception but the barmaid was welcoming and friendly. The restaurant was doing very good business and we were glad to have booked in advance. Service was attentive and quick which was pretty amazing as there were only 3 staff waiting on tables (including the barmaid) and the restaurant was full. The meal was homecooked and very tasty (our choice was roast beef, potatoes and parsnip with vegetables). I opted for the pudding and the sticky toffee pudding was one of the nicest desserts I've had for some time - light but tasty and just the right amount. There was also a good selection of wines at reasonable prices - several bottles at under £15.
Our room was first class. Separate entrance to the pub. Although the room itself was a little small, the furnishings and bedding was of excellent quality and the bathroom was first class. Comfortable bed, good toiletries, shower and plenty of towels. My only complaint was that the wifi wasn't available which was a little vexing.
We arrived back at the Kilpeck on Sunday night hoping we would be able to have a bar supper and were surprised to find out that no meals were served on Sunday evenings. However, as we hadn't realised this, the staff very helpfully made sandwiches and toasties for us with no fuss at all.
Our breakfast in the morning was also delicious. Very good full English with very good ingredients and helpful, attentive service from the chef. We weren't rushed and as we were the only ones staying overnight, we were told we could have breakfast at the time of our choosing.
If we visit Herefordshire in the future, I would stay at the Kilpeck again as long as I can take advantage of one of their deals. Although it was fantastic, I'm not sure I would have paid the full price. The Kilpeck Inn has been extensively refurbished and takes pride in its environmental credentials – this may be of interest to you if you want to be ‘green’.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Stayed here over Christmas - No room at my daughters, down the road. So peace and quiet away from the young children on Christmas morning ! Couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed at the Kilpeck Inn for one night between Christmas and New Year, having deliberately chosen a country inn with excellent reviews. Bookings.com give this inn 9.1 out of 10. However we only became aware that we would not be able to access our accommodation until evening opening time at 5:30 via Booking.com reviews.

The inn boasts of its green credentials and indeed has had an excellent refurbishment. After a warm welcome from the lady behind the bar we were shown to our room. Our bedroom 'Wye' classed as a superior room (a supplement is payable) was superb. Beautiful furnishings, quality bathroom with underfloor heating, Vanessa Arbuthnot fabrics, free toiletries, calm colours, tea making facilities and short bread biscuits. Our first impression was outstanding and the room was not positioned directly above the bar so was quiet. Also we noted that our bathroom backed onto the bathroom of the next bedroom so noise did not transfer.

We had already decided to eat in the pub that evening as it is quite isolated and we had no wish to get in the car again. The pub was very busy with two shooting parties enjoying their drink (but not eating) which was good for the atmospher but it did put the one bar staff lady under considerable pressure as she was also responsible for delivering food to the tables in the restaurant area. We were told that the previous night, when two staff members had been on duty, the pub had been very quiet. Having ordered two main course salmon fillets we waited over 45 minutes for our food to arrive. The salmon was beautifully cooked but at nearly £18 each to include a side order of saute potatoes, we consider to be pricey.

What should have been a very comfortable and good night's sleep was disturbed by the continual flashing on/off of the car park security light which shines directly into this bedroom. This was probably due to the high winds blowing on our particular night but it gave the room the feel of sleeping on a zebra crossing. A blackout blind would easily solve this problem.

Breakfast the following morning was served in the bar area. Though we did not participate in the cooked offering it did look very appetising. The usual cereal, juice, fruit and preserves were available. Most of the food is sourced locally and described on a blackboard in the restaurant.

Booking.com states that the inn has free wi-fi, we were not able to connect with their broadband, despite many attempts. If it is essential that you can access this facility you might be better off using a broadband dongle.

Overall we would rate this establishment as 'very good' but we did experience a few inconveniences.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

First the positives. A warm welcome, beautiful room and bathroom, spotlessly clean. The real shame for me was that I booked this hotel because it said it had wifi in all the rooms on booking.com - now its one thing to have a modem and a router but if the don't work don't say you have wifi. Really p'd off as I had a Skype call planned and that was why I chose a hotel with wifi. Also the tv didnt seem to work properly either and kept giving a message saying content scrambled. So if having a nice bath and painting your nails is your thing then you'll be happy here but if you need any type of technology, forget it. What a shame because if these things had been working I would not have faulted it. DON'T ADVERTISE WIFI IF YOU HAVE A DODGEY CONNECTION!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I stayed here for a gardening tour with friends and 'coming home' here made our trip. Super, comfy stylish bedrooms( and you can make yourself a hot drink) friendly and helpful staff and oh! those breakfasts! set me up for the day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kilpeck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kilpeck Inn

Address: Kilpeck HR2 9DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Kilpeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kilpeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a rural village the historic Kilpeck Inn was sympathetically restored in 2009 to add accommodation. It still retains its special character and offers a warm welcome, friendly service and top quality food sourced from local suppliers. Come and stay in one our en-suite rooms with luxurious creature comforts: quality pocket sprung mattresses, crisp Egyptian cotton sheets, down filled duvets & pillows, fluffy white towels and large flat screen TVs & DVD players. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Kilpeck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kilpeck Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.