We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I enjoyed it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Ischia Lido

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ischia Porto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Hotel Ischia Lido
Via R. Gianturco 33, 80077 Ischia Porto, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Ischia Porto
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I enjoyed it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel is close to the beach. I was walking on the beach in the peaceful mornings. This beach does not look like a resort beach at all. The streets in the neighbourhood has lots of lemon trees. This hotel offers 4 geothemic pools which was quite an experience. The shopping is very close by. The ferries to other islands are also walking distance. It is a clean hotel. The food is repetitive. The view from my room was an ocean view. beautiful. I was ther April 2012 not July. It was raining a lot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    62
    42
    25
    26
See reviews for
76
51
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Polcenigo, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel was average or slightly below average. It all depended on where your room was located. We had a family room that was in an ideal location and was a good floorplan for our family. It was right off the pool with a large patio and an incredible view of the ocean. It had a full bathroom, a half bathroom, and two stories. The room was clean and in good working order, but there was black mold growing in both bathrooms in the upper corners of the walls. Other than that, it was a great room. We had another family member who was given a terrible room. It was above the kitchen and smelled like greasy food and it had no view. We asked to move her to another room and it smelled like sewer gas. The 3rd room she looked at smelled of terrible cigarette smoke. The 4th room was right above the hotel entry way and was noisy. Finally the 5th room was a success. I don't know if she had extremely bad luck or if the hotel just has a lot of bad rooms. It was very discouraging.

The hotel facilities are fine. The hours for the indoor spa are not good if you are out sight-seeing all day or on tours. We never had the opportunity to use the indoor pools. The outside pool was nice, but it closed at 7pm each night.

There is no WIFI which is ridiculous. Also, there is this crazy system where you can't charge anything to your room--you must charge up your "green card" first and then make purchases from that. For example, if we wanted to buy a bottle of wine to drink with dinner, we had to go to the front desk, add the appropriate amount to the green card, then go buy the wine at dinner. It was a little archaic.

The hotel staff was average. Some people were extremely friendly and some were borderline rude. The exception to this was the wait staff. They were absolutely wonderful--great attitudes all the time!

The food was good was a decent selection, but it got boring after a few nights. The breakfast was minimal but adequate with simple breads, cereals, yogurt, meats, and cheese. The cappuccino was good!

Room Tip: Get a sea view room. Avoid the building above the dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Point, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Grand Hotel Lido in Ischia was a very pleasant stay. The rooms were spacious and all rooms had decent balconies. Ours had a wonderful view of the sea, and we could watch sunrise and a little bit of the sunset each day. The food was good, but you had to get to the buffet early. Morning was a continental breakfast, but very good. The only minus I would give it was the fact that it didn't supply any luggage service and it would make it very hard for elderly or disabled people. Not much in Europe make it very easy for the handicapped or elderly. Other than that, the location was great and we enjoyed our trip to Ischia very much. There isn't anything except a pool and jacuzzi for children there or really anyplace on the island, so it may not be the kind of vacation for them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a seaview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg, fl
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were on a tour of Stay and Visit, and this was their hotel. I liked it there, it was close to the water. I had a balcony in my room and it looked so European!
The hotel is within walking distance to everything you need: shopping, restaurants, the boats.
There is no internet in the hotel. We looked for a sign and there was another hotel close to the area where you board the ship, that had internet. You go to the desk and they sell you a card to use make sure you log off, or your minutes will be used up. You can sit there and they let you use their space feely. The internet usage is not something you find easy.
This was an all inclusive hotel, and the food was okay. However, we wanted to eat something different. The restaurant personel was outstanding.

Room Tip: There were rooms in the other side, and I am not sure if they face the water. You might want to ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I'm surprised at the low rating for this hotel. Just returned from a trip to Rome, then Ischia, then Sorrento and have found Tripadvisor invaluable when selecting the Rome and Sorrento hotels, restaurants and local info. However, on the basis of Tripadvisor reports, if I hadn't been to this hotel before I may not have considered it.

What do you want from a hotel? Basically I want a good location, easily reachable, good clean room, helpful staff, good food and ideally close to the beach and a nice pool.

In my opinion Aurum Ischia Porto has all of these. I've been there three times now and will certainly return. You will not get five star facilities and fancy waiter service, but I think we had good value for money in a lovely location, on a beautiful Italian island.

We had a seaview room (the sea being only 10 metres away), with a nice balcony and a view over the bay of Naples, and easy access to a private beach with loungers etc. The hotel is just down from the main street between Ischia Porto and Ischia Ponte, which is ideal for an after dinner stroll. It is only a relatively short walk, through a great shopping area, to the ferry, the harbour, a supermarket, and the bus terminus from where you take trips to all parts of the island. There is also picturesque walk along coastal streets to Ischia Ponte with it's Aragonese castle.

The other guests were virtually all Italian, just a few Germans and us. The restaurant was quite full every night and it had a good atmosphere (may be a bit noisy, and not reserved enough for some people). Lunch and dinner were on a buffet basis, with a salad bar and generally a short queue to be served with the starter and main course. Good food and good variety. Usually a choice of two pasta starters or soup, a main of either fish and two meat choices, or pizza etc.

Enjoyable stay from start to finish.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are a bit more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We were booked for April 14, 2012 and because of bad weather, we were unable to take the ferry to the island. We contacted the hotel by 3PM to advise them and cancel our reservation. We were able to get to Ischia the next day and stayed five nights. They were very inconsiderate and refused to refund any of our $198.00 that we paid for that night.
We also contacted Stay and Visit Italy in Sarasota. They were also very inconsiderate. During our stay, another excursion to the Amalfi Coast was cancelled because of the weather. Stay and Visit did not provide an alternate option and we had to pay our own way to LaMortella Gardens on Ischia. This option cost less than the money they saved on a ferry ride to the Amalfi Coast.
Very poor public relations. Stay away from this tour if want to see the Amalfi Coast and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Well located and functional hotel, in a quaint little town where sadly almost everything is massively overpriced. Yes the hotel is a little tired but generally clean/tidy and the food is both plentiful and of good quality. At around 230 euro per person (full board,with water to drink) I felt our 'out of season' winter week was good value. BUT be aware of the compulsory purchase of 'tokens’ to buy drinks, these are NON-refundable!!!

Note: there is a good 'sensibly' priced supermarket in the town 10-15 min walk from this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Ischia Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ischia Lido

Address: Via R. Gianturco 33, 80077 Ischia Porto, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia Porto
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Ischia Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
e Lido Hotel Ischia
Grand Hotel Ischia Lido Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Ischia Porto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Ischia Lido, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Ischia Lido to your Saves list