We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful Day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sian Ka'an Biosphere Reserve

Sian Ka'an Biosphere Reserve
Q. Roo Mexico, Sian Ka'an, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Attractions in Sian Ka'an
Type: Educational Sites, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Tours, Zoos & Aquariums
Activities: Group tours/day tour, Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching, Fishing, Kayaking, Scuba diving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sian Ka'an (Mayan for "Where the sky is born") is a 1.3 million-acre biosphere reserve.
houston
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“What a wonderful Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We took the day long boat tour from Cesiak.org. They are the non profit running much of the research in the biosphere. Trip was $85 per person

Jorge made the trip a true experience. What a super interesting guy. He said Pirate, but maybe Tarzan...

Tour ended with a delicious lunch at the organizations small lodge house on the beach and a swim after. Then back to Tulum arriving at about 3:30

We will be back

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    76
    25
    27
    23
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley Lancs
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Make certain to book the tour from Biosphere Reserve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We have done this tour twice now , last year booked from the hotel and were picked up and taken into the nature reserve, had a drive down to Punta Allen and boat out into sea chasing dolphins and sea turtles , and snorkelling over the reef. Trip included food at the beach. Just seemed so wrong to be chasing the dolphins, the boats all raced over and encircled them.
This year we were determined to see the nature reserve with a guide from the Sian Khan Biosphere Reserve. It's not difficult to arrange but be aware that the email address on their website is incorrect . It is now sian.kaan.back@gmail.com and the website is cesiak.org . They pick up from the hotels in Tulum or you can go to their office in Tulum. Basically it's a much better product because it respects the wildlife and takes you into the lagoons and a gentle float down a warm shallow channel wearing life vests. Guide very knowledgable about the area and the flora and fauna. I would suggest to do this version because it supports the work of the ecological centre.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“where the i is born too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

after many years and many trips into siaan kaan, i am always amazed and awed at the raw beauty and incredible sites to see here. after reading michel peissel's book lost world of quintana roo, and how he walked all the way from playa del carmen to belize along this coastline, i have journeyed some of his footsteps also. what an amazing adventure, and what a change in this part of the world in 50 years. although many areas are virtually the same as then, the access is soooo much easier. the road to punta allen is rough, but manageable if you are not rushed, little or no services are available and you are on your own. for the adventurous there is much to see. ruins that are not even acknowledged or marked, wildlife ,fish,surf, lagoons, plantlife, it is wild and you need to be aware dangers do exist there. not for the prissy or unprepared, but well worth the effort if you want to see the yucatan as it has been for thousands of years....

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Tours for Those Who Love Nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This place was fantastic! I would strongly encourage those who love getting out into nature to take the boat tour. Our guide was knowledgeable, spoke English fluently, and loved what he does. The bio-reserve also exists off the fees they collect so you're contributing by going.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I booked a tour from Playa del Carmen, $110 for the day + entrance fee to Sian Ka'an. The trip down the highway to Tulum was fine, but the road from Tulum to Sian Ka'an is full of potholes and quite rough. Too rough for the 10 passenger van the tour uses. The 40 (?) km drive from Tulum to Sian Ka'an takes about 2- 2.5 hours with lots of shaking and bouncing, to give you an idea. Would have been much better to transfer the group into something more adequate such as jeeps at that point.

Once you have finally arrive, I have to admit that although fun, it was a let down. You get in a boat, shared with 4-5 passengers, and take a ride through a mangrove, see some cormorants sitting in a tree, then take the boat to hunt down and chase some dolphins, then do the same to see a turtle. Sorry but thinking about it later, chasing and herding the dolphins and turtles just do not seem the correct thing to do in a protected bio-sphere.

You then leave the animals and go for a snorkel over the reef. This was pretty fantastic, but since it only lasts for about 1/2 an hour I don't think all the travel to get there was worth it. After snorkeling you are taken to a swimming area with a sandy bottom and lunch at a restaurant. Both very good, but again not worth the travel time.

Once done you leave between 3:30-4 PM for the 3-3.5 hour drive back. Torture!!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sian Ka'an Biosphere Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Sian Ka'an Biosphere Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sian Ka'an Biosphere Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.