We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Food, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fox Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Fox Inn to your Saves list
The Fox Inn
High Street, Hawkesbury Upton GL9 1AU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hawkesbury
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant Food, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Under new management and chef, the Fox (Or rather A taste of Italy @ The Fox), is a big turnaround from previous. Now set up as a restaurant primarily the Italian food is divine.
Our Family (2 adults and two kids around 10 years old) had 2 lovely courses - Mussels for me and a shreaded meat pasta. Serano ham & mozzarella and a calzone for the kids, and anti pasti and rocket & ham pizza for my wife. All were really well cooked and seasoned and in the hearty quantity you wish for but seldom get (It did mean they lost out on a pudding order due to us all sitting in our seats and rubbing our bellies!)
Also had just pizzas which they offer as takeaway and they were delicious, thin crust and packed with ingredients.
The B&B rooms look refurbished - got friends staying soon so we'll know shortly

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    15
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
14
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hawkesbury Upton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Under new management, with a tasteful refit and a wonderful commitment to freshly prepared, authentic Italian cuisine to suit all budgets, The Fox is a 'must visit' venue for anyone venturing to this part of Gloucestershire. A warm welcome is waiting come rain or shine, in the cosy bar, comfortable restaurant or private gardens. Our evening out with friends (8) saw us well looked after and replete after some fabulous dishes. Get there soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Finally the refurbished Fox has opened and we have already eaten there three times. A really interesting menu that I will need many visits to explore. Went with a group of 10 and shared mains. All were of a really high standard and cooked with a liitle flair. I always like things on a menu I wouldn't be bothered to cook at home and there are plenty of those on offer. Even the pizza and pasta dishes (especially the gnocchi) are so delicious, I would be happy to order these as well. They have sourced there own wine list and so are not manicalled to the brewery's rubbish. Eager if slightly idiosyncratic serving staff.
Go. It's really good

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkesbury Upton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

A new couple have taken over and The Fox is now redecorated thoughout. Not only that but the rooms are now up to superb standard(see photo) and the breakfast is cooked by a proper Chef with everything fresh and home cooked. The Pub is still a pub at the front, with real ales, but the sort of place you can pop in for coffee(Italian) and sit on a comfy settee, maybe have a little Italian bar taster snack. The rest is a "Taste of Italy" restaurant. Giuseppe, the Italian chef, is passionate about his quality of food and presentation, the wines are all Italian. It's now my local and with neighbours we love to go out and invite friends to stay there.

Room Tip: Ask to be shown round first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

After 4 months of refurbishment by the new tenants, The Fox has reopened, now subtitled Tastes of Italy. It has totally changed inside the bar, the front area is for casual or pre-dining drinks and the majority of the downstairs is now smartly laid out for dining. The menu, whilst predominately Italian, includes lamb, fish and steak in addition to the traditional Italian fare. All the pasta and dough is prepared in house by the genuine Italian chef and his Polish partner oversees the bar and dining areas. There is a choice of 3 beers, a couple of lagers and a cider. Unfortunately I have not yet seen the accommodation but the downstairs toilets have been updated and are no longer the danger zones of previous days. Speaking as a local resident, there is only one drawback, the skittle alley has been changed into a storage area. If you are thinking of dining at a weekend, I would recommend you book first, it was full when we ate there recently.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Should have taken previous reviewers at their word as they are accurate in giving a poor rating. Although those running it were friendly the service, food, and accommodation were poor, and it was very overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Recently stayed at the Fox Inn whilst attending a wedding in a local village. Food was definitely NOT home cooked. Rooms were clean enough but there was no shower or anywhere to hang clothes. Breakfast service was very poor and the only option was a cooked breakfast (with chips!) which was just placed in front of us. No cereal/fruit/tea/coffee which would have been much easier to provide (the charge for breakfast was £8). This hotel is In definite need of a makeover and some decent service. Overpriced at £80 for double room bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn

Address: High Street, Hawkesbury Upton GL9 1AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Hawkesbury Upton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkesbury Upton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flavours of Italy at The Fox Inn..is a cozy Restaurant-Pub, where You can enjoy a lovely meal prepared by Italian chefs,we have a good range of fresh pasta,antipasti and cheese,meat and fresh sea food.. if You want just a drink we offer a good selection of crispy Italian pizza which goes well with real ales or a glass of Wine..we also have a nice beer garden where You can enjoy a beautiful Artisan Italian Ice Cream or our daily prepared desserts....and if You wanna stay with us we have a B&B:2 double en-suite and 2 triple en-suite for a reasonable price. So,as You can see You have many reason to join Flavours of Italy at The Fox Inn.Hope to see You soon!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox Hotel Hawkesbury Upton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fox Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.