We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chapel 5 Palazzo Suites B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chapel 5 Palazzo Suites B&B to your Saves list
Chapel 5 Palazzo Suites B&B
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   5 Alley 5 Saint Lucy Street, Naxxar, Island of Malta NXR1551, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Naxxar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I like original, comfortable, homely boutique hotels in lovely locations away from the crowded tourist resorts. Chapel 5 fitted the bill perfectly. From the moment we arrived we were able to relax in the stylish surroundings and warm hospitality provided at this very special accommodation. Nothing was too much trouble and Naxxar offered just the right balance of entertainment and tranquility. For a flavour of what you can expect if you wander out of the front door of Chapel 5 try www.youtube.com/watch?v=xBwhSoB06UM
Thank you to Malcolm and family for a lovely holiday

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    30
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
106
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wetherby
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed 10 days of hospitality at Chapel 5, but despite our best efforts, we cannot find anything much to add to the already glowing references and useful information previous Trip Advisors have already given.
Naxxar is under-represented on the internet, we found very little about it. It is in fact charming and vibrant with quiet alleyways, beautiful architecture and coffee shops and restaurants that offer good food and warm welcome. It is also ideally located for seeing the rest of the Island.
We made full use of the 7 day bus ticket (€12.50 each) which made getting around the island without a car easy and lots more fun - saving at least €25 each!
It was a cold February by Malta standards (14/16C) but pleasantly warm for us Yorkshire Tykes who welcomed a bit of winter sun whilst others were plodding around in snow at home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

What was there not to love? The hosts were amazing- great stories andvery helpful with great advice on where to visit/dine. Amazing rooms (and beds!) with a solid breakfast in a quiet town with a palace a stone's throw away for a mid morning coffee in the gardens. Chapel 5 is in a great location to visit any part of Malta. After all the touring, the best way to end the day is relaxing in the huge bathtub (ask for the deluxe suite).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Well what can we say that hasn't already been said about Chapel 5..... In short, it’s a lovely homey place and the hosts (Alex & Malcolm), have got the B&B style down to a T and what’s more, it’s in a great location (a typical Maltese village, and to top it off, Alex & Malcolm, could not be more helpful!

I'm actually from Malta, but live in the UK now and am aware that the B&B concept in Malta is new; however, Alex and Malcolm have really pulled out all the stops and are very welcoming and ensure that the guests’ requests are met and are helpful in suggesting restaurants and areas to visit on the island. They also ensure that one of them is serving at breakfast and have a chat with you about your daily plans, but know how to keep their distance if you don't want to.

The rooms are all very nicely furnished and decorated. We stayed in the yellow room, which had nice furniture, a comfy bed and a lovely bathroom with bath and shower. Hot water is constant and we had fresh towels every day, due to being there in the winter. Maltese homes have no central heating and the limestone makes the rooms damp, so it can feel cold inside and actually warmer outside, but we had a heater in our room which when we put on, warmed it up in no time. Just a tip, best to bring pjs if you are staying in the winter, as it can feel cold in bed at first.

Breakfast was plentiful and was mainly, bread, jams, ham, cheese, yogurts and cereal. There was a fridge for guest use in the lounge area, which came in handy.

Naxxar is a lovely village and has lots of coffee shops in the high street, which is 2mins walk away from the B&B. Bus stops can also be found in the high street and you can get a daily bus pass for €2.20. It’s very easy to get round the island as it isn’t that big.

All in all, we would highly recommend this B&B and we defiantly be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

A charming and comfortable old house, centrally located, with very hospitable hosts. Lots of tips of things to see, wifi, nice breakfast and nice rooms. Naxxar is a nice place and centrally located. Visit the palazzo around the corner! And after a day of sight seeing it feels like coming home.
Wonderful place, wonderful hosts!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Dear Malcolm and Alex, thank you for the wonderful days we had in your house in Naxxar!
Though Naxxar is not a typically touristy town, its location at the centre of the island is very convenient. We liked a lot the tranquility and the typical Maltese atmosphere in the town and the easy access to all the sightseeing in Malta. In Chapel 5 we felt so great! The furniture was in style with the architecture of the building and it makes you feel like you are in a fairytale. Our hosts treated us to a very pleasing stylish atmosphere, attentive and kind service!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

On a perfect little street you will find this little treasure of a Bed and Breakfast. It is a great mix or traditional and modern with imported Balinese furniture creating a unique balance of peace and comfort. Every room if full or charm and the inner courtyard is a perfect setting for breakfast and mingling with other guests.
We had a lovely stay and really enjoyed Naxxar and the ease or getting around Malta from this central location.
Malcolm, Alex and mama Antoinette where very friendly and great host, ready to help and point your towards great restaurants and cultural events.
We would highly recommend a stay here when visiting Malta. The B&B is well run, very efficient, fun and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chapel 5 Palazzo Suites B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapel 5 Palazzo Suites B&B

Address: 5 Alley 5 Saint Lucy Street, Naxxar, Island of Malta NXR1551, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Naxxar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Naxxar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chapel 5 Palazzo Suites B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Chapel 5 Palazzo Suites B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapel 5 Palazzo Suites B&B Malta/Naxxar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chapel 5 Palazzo Suites B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.