We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother's Day Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Auld Cross Keys

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Auld Cross Keys to your Saves list
The Auld Cross Keys
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   The Green, Denholm TD9 8NU , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Denholm B&B and Inns
Livingston, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mother's Day Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for one night - excellent hospitality, good food, very comfortable room and high standard of service. Friendly busy public bar, comfortable lounge and dining area with personal attention from the owners.

Room Tip: Possibly upper floor - could hear quite a bit of creaking from floor above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    25
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
54
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I was looking for a weekend break for myself and my husband and came across the Auld Cross Keys which had such great reviews we had to try it. We were not disappointed. We were in the Yarrow room which was lovely. It was two single beds but they were really comfortable. Could not fault the place for cleanliness and the breakfast was huge and really nice. We eat two dinners here and enjoyed them both. The owners along with the locals are very friendly. Excellent place to stay if you're visiting the border region.

Room Tip: The Yarrow room is quiet and has patio doors with a patio leading into a garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

A fantastic hostelry. Convivial atmosphere friendly hosts and quality food and beveridge. Highly recommended for a really pleasant visit. Central location for all border attractions even if you wanted to venture south tho why I don't know.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We were staying locally & this pub had been recommended, we weren't disappointed ! Had a lovely meal here,food was well presented and tasty. The staff were really friendly and helpful, would definitely eat here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here when working down in the borders and it wont be the last. When we first pulled up outside we thought it was a typical wee village pub but when we went inside the word Tardis comes to mind the hotel stretched way back with a decent sized restaurant / function suite, a huge beer garden and a cozy wee lounge bar. The public bar was typical of a village pub with its regulars enjoying their pint or three.
We had an accessible room which we accessed from outside the hotel and it was a smashing clean, comfortable room with large disabled toilet and shower. There was complimentary soap, shampoo etc and tea / coffee facilities.
We had an evening meal in the restaurant and it was excellent and well presented and served by very pleasant waitress Beth. The breakfast was also one of the best I have had in a hotel, where we had a full scottish breakfast served piping hot and very tasty.
It was also nice to be recognised as having stayed there previously.
The lounge had an excellent choice of malt whisky and had two of my favourites in Lagavulin and Laphroaig

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

What a little gem. Went to watch the sport locally to where we were staying and came across this little pub in Denholm.

The welcome was very warm and friendly, with the Landlord taking great interest in us as visitors. Looked after our requests for drinks and food quickly and made sure we were looked after throughout our visit even when it became full of locals arriving for the Rugby.

Food was magnificent. Will return again without a doubt.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

It's been a long time since we made use of the B&B side of the Cross Keys, and since then the number of rooms has expanded.
We do have at least one meal here whenever we visit the Borders. It is good food, home-cooked, using local produce. The battered fish and chips is widely renowned, and for a good reason - it's really scrumptious, and it can be taken home as well. Also, I'd like to recommend the cheeses that can be ordered to finish off the meal - they are produced locally (i.e. in Minto) on Standhill farm, and they are really very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Auld Cross Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Auld Cross Keys

Address: The Green, Denholm TD9 8NU , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Denholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Denholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Auld Cross Keys 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auld Cross Keys Inn was built in the 1800's as a bakehouse but later became a Coaching Inn. Situated in the picturesque village of Denholm, overlooking the village green we are centrally located to the Scottish Borders and as such provide an ideal base for Golfing, Fishing, Shooting, Walking, Cycling and Archery. Or, if you prefer, you can just explore the Borders and relax at the Cross Keys enjoying quality homecooked local produce in our dining room or cozy lounge bar with open fire, or something from our well stocked bar including Cask Ale and a large selection of Malt Whiskies. Our public bar offers pool table, dartboard and Sky TV also with open fire.Our Function Suite is ideal for any occasion and is available with no hire charge for functions from 40 to 140 people. The Function Suite leads directly through to our large sunny, south facing Patio Area which can accomodate a further 60 people. The Cross Keys Inn is proud to feature in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide and Scotland the Best ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Auld Cross Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Auld Cross Keys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.