We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Auld Cross Keys

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Auld Cross Keys to your Saves list
The Auld Cross Keys
The Green, Denholm TD9 8NU , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Denholm B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We were staying locally & this pub had been recommended, we weren't disappointed ! Had a lovely meal here,food was well presented and tasty. The staff were really friendly and helpful, would definitely eat here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    29
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
57
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here when working down in the borders and it wont be the last. When we first pulled up outside we thought it was a typical wee village pub but when we went inside the word Tardis comes to mind the hotel stretched way back with a decent sized restaurant / function suite, a huge beer garden and a cozy wee lounge bar. The public bar was typical of a village pub with its regulars enjoying their pint or three.
We had an accessible room which we accessed from outside the hotel and it was a smashing clean, comfortable room with large disabled toilet and shower. There was complimentary soap, shampoo etc and tea / coffee facilities.
We had an evening meal in the restaurant and it was excellent and well presented and served by very pleasant waitress Beth. The breakfast was also one of the best I have had in a hotel, where we had a full scottish breakfast served piping hot and very tasty.
It was also nice to be recognised as having stayed there previously.
The lounge had an excellent choice of malt whisky and had two of my favourites in Lagavulin and Laphroaig

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

What a little gem. Went to watch the sport locally to where we were staying and came across this little pub in Denholm.

The welcome was very warm and friendly, with the Landlord taking great interest in us as visitors. Looked after our requests for drinks and food quickly and made sure we were looked after throughout our visit even when it became full of locals arriving for the Rugby.

Food was magnificent. Will return again without a doubt.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

It's been a long time since we made use of the B&B side of the Cross Keys, and since then the number of rooms has expanded.
We do have at least one meal here whenever we visit the Borders. It is good food, home-cooked, using local produce. The battered fish and chips is widely renowned, and for a good reason - it's really scrumptious, and it can be taken home as well. Also, I'd like to recommend the cheeses that can be ordered to finish off the meal - they are produced locally (i.e. in Minto) on Standhill farm, and they are really very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I would give this review six stars if I could.
A friendly & clean B&B. Exceptional quality meals.
Dave & Karen took the time to be so friendly and made our stay so enjoyable. We will certainly be returning later in the year.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Brilliant family run establishment, Karen and Dave are wonderful hosts, this was our 5th year and the best yet. Excellent entertainment, spotlessly clean rooms and communal areas. Great food excellent place to stay. Would recommend the Auld Cross Keys to anyone.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are spotlessly clean, some of them more quirky than others which is great, ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burntisland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I was looking for somewhere close to Hawick to stay for the night and The Auld Cross Keys had the best reviews on Trip Advisor so I went ahead and booked it.

Glad I did - it was excellent!

I was checked in by a friendly member of staff who showed me to my room, which was spotlessly clean and well stocked with tea, coffee etc and toiletries. It was also nice and warm on a very cold winters day!

I ate in the bar at night where I chatted to few friendly locals. The food was excellent - Duck Pate followed by Chicken Curry.

All in all this was a great stay and I'll return in the future hopefully for a social visit and longer than just one night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Auld Cross Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Auld Cross Keys

Address: The Green, Denholm TD9 8NU , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Denholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Denholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auld Cross Keys Inn was built in the 1800's as a bakehouse but later became a Coaching Inn. Situated in the picturesque village of Denholm, overlooking the village green we are centrally located to the Scottish Borders and as such provide an ideal base for Golfing, Fishing, Shooting, Walking, Cycling and Archery. Or, if you prefer, you can just explore the Borders and relax at the Cross Keys enjoying quality homecooked local produce in our dining room or cozy lounge bar with open fire, or something from our well stocked bar including Cask Ale and a large selection of Malt Whiskies. Our public bar offers pool table, dartboard and Sky TV also with open fire.Our Function Suite is ideal for any occasion and is available with no hire charge for functions from 40 to 140 people. The Function Suite leads directly through to our large sunny, south facing Patio Area which can accomodate a further 60 people. The Cross Keys Inn is proud to feature in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide and Scotland the Best ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Auld Cross Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Auld Cross Keys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.