We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deceiving...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hill Island Lodge

Save Saved
You added Hill Island Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hill Island Lodge
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   37 Skydeck Road, | Highway 137, Leeds & The 1000 Islands, Lansdowne, Ontario K0E 1L0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Deceiving...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

It looked like paradise when we booked it in April after we saw the pictures displayed on their website, we thought it was a waterfront hotel. We were shocked upon arrival because the pics were for a castle on the 1000 islands, and when they showed us the room, it smelled so damp and humid. Thank God we switched to another hotel but it was unexpected and we had to pay more for a room.
Btw loose the (resort)!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    5
    5
    18
See reviews for
11
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

ok this place is old i get that, i have no issue with a place that is dated... but please keep it clean... this place is filthy! the first room they gave us was covered in mold... we wanted to leave but they would not give us a refund,so they gave us another room. it was a tad cleaner but not by much.
Stay far away from this place. The place is way overpriced for the cleanliness of it.

Room Tip: if you are coming here ask to see the room first! otherwise don;t come here. if you have any mold al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We took advantage of the 2-night king room and cruise. it was a great bargain. Yes it place is dated and needs some sprucing up, but we found it clean and comfortable and very affordable with the promotion. Regular rates are hard to justify.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, ON
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I am not sure what's with all the other complaints. We just came back from a 3 day stay (July 25-27th) and thought it was great. I do agree that the hotel is dated and needs some work, but the staff were great, very friendly, and the food was decent. We never had to wait for our food, it was always served on time and with a smile and they even went the extra mile to accomodate my toddler. There were a lot of seniors staying there, which made it nice a quiet place. The pool was clean and useable, and we had a ton of fun in the games room. Location is perfect. Based on the price, I am not sure why people are expecting the Ritz Carlton. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean A, General Manager at Hill Island Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your fair and honest opinion of our hotel. Let us know that you have stayed here before and we will do every effort to accommodate you for the second time as we have done with many of our repeat customers. Thank you!

sean@hillislandresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankford, Canada
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had booked this 3-day pkg. by seeing it on the internet. Upon arriving Friday late p.m. there were no other cars at the resort.......what did that tell me. Rooms are old, dated and towels looked like they were used. Pool was half empty, dirty. Meal selection was very poor and bland. Who would ever have liver and onions on the menu when u are paying $400. for the 3 days. Expected a normal hot breakfast, NOT, Continental only, serve yourself, for stale bagels and a tub of cream cheese. Staff not friendly. Checked out Sat. a.m. asap!!!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Be careful with your credit card before sharing it with this resort. They charged 2 additional transactions on my credit card and refused to even explain or discuss. I tried to call them but they threatened me if I call any more. They did not change our linen and no room service, cleaning done.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Hill Island Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
The cancellation fee was applied to your credit card as it is our policy. This policy is flexible but it was not during the Canada Day long weekend since we had no availability. We did also not charge 50% of your cancellation fee. As per non-discussion we had the owner look into this and the front desk manager and concluded we had been in accordance with notifying by e-mail as well as over the phone during the time of reservation. Our apologies for any inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Not sure what the other reviews are all about... but I had a pleasant stay in this resort. Room was clean with good beds and fairly large I would say. Air conditioning in the room was great and we also had a nice view from a balcony. We were able to see a deer from the balcony when we woke up early. Took great pictures! The place is surrounded by nature and I appreciated the silence. As for dinner, even though the dinning room was busy, we got our meals at the times we reserved and it was delicious! We never got bored as the entertainment hall was open late and we played ping pong and pool, so there's plenty of fun after you come back from the boat cruise. Plus the pool was just great! It was more than what we expected and the price was a total bargain.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hill Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Island Lodge

Address: 37 Skydeck Road, | Highway 137, Leeds & The 1000 Islands, Lansdowne, Ontario K0E 1L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Lansdowne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty lodging in Lansdowne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hill Island Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill Island Lodge offers 52 air-conditioned accommodations with hair dryers and blackout drapes/curtains. Rooms feature forest or pool views. Each accommodation is individually furnished. Beds feature signature bedding and down comforters. Satellite television is provided. Bathrooms include separate bathtubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hill Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill Island Hotel Lansdowne
Hill Island Lodge Ontario/Lansdowne, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hill Island Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.