We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, Owner, But” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Suenos De Mar

Suenos De Mar
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Omoa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Suenos De Mar
Save
You added Suenos De Mar to your Saves list
Barrio De Playa | Playa de Omoa, Omoa 21301, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Omoa B&B and Inns
virginia
Level Contributor
601 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Nice Place, Owner, But”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our room at this hotel was small for its $50 a night double room. It was spotlessly clean and Mark, the owner, did move a fridge into it. While the hotel is on the Caribe, no rooms have an ocean view. The atrium garden is pretty but small, no chairs or hammocks. In fact, there was not a hammock to be seen or used. Certainly not for two people. The chairs on the little beach were like you'd find at a table, not for relaxing. The great room lobby areas was nice, The tiny rock edged beach was okay, but unfortunately, it is true that Omoa has lost 60% of its beach in the last five years. Bummer. We left after one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
rio dulce, guatemala
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

A wonderfully clean and well run place to hang out for a beach fix. Free from big crowds during the week, easy to relax and just do as little as you need to make the vacation mean a great break from routine. Owners Karen & Mark make you feel like family .... in a GOOD way.

Room Tip: With only 5 rooms, you can't go wrong,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank encor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utila-Bay Islands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Suenos De Mar is a great spot to stay in Omoa- Right on the water, mellow, clean, affordable and with nice hosts Karen and Mark. As a single traveller, I felt very safe in the rooms, which are circled around a really nice gated garden compound with central entrance through the main entry. I've stayed here a few times when I pass through Omoa and will for sure be back. Thanks Suenos De Mar!

Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank UtilaGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

Five rooms surround a pleasant courtyard garden. We felt very safe during our stay there. The Canadian owners were very helpful, with good knowledge of the area and a great bar and food selection.

Our one complaint was that even though our rate included breakfast, and on the menu it says that breakfast includes coffee, and we pointed that out, the owners insisted on charging us 30L per cup (about $1.65 at the time). So we just felt a little nickel-and-dimed.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank edgetroop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
estes park
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

We have only been back a few days and already we miss Omoa and Suenos de mar! The owners were warm & friendly and the location was EXACTLY what we wanted ...right on the water's edge! The rooms were very well done and had every amenity we needed after a long budget vacation. The beds were VERY comfy! Omoa, itself, is a small, friendly, beautiful and relaxing destination. It is a diamond in the rough with lots of potential for a wonderful vacation spot for those who enjoy some tranquility I must admit we enjoyed NOT having to share our special place with too many. Thank you to Karen & Mark and to the wonderful people of Omoa for sharing your special place!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank livinginestes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
des moines
Level Contributor
103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

This is a great get-away-from-it-all at the end of a spit, so no cars can go past you and your view of the ocean. The owners cook a great breakfast or sandwiches and are knowledgeable about the area's attractions. Rooms are new and smallish, but they have a large dining-relaxing-reading room and a long patio out front with a great ocean view where you can sun and swim. A taxi from the highway where the bus lets you off costs one dollar per person. This is on the new road from San Pedro Sula to Pt. Cortes to Pt. Barrios, Guatemala.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treeshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omoa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul County Beach
Hotel Costa Azul County Beach
#1 of 4 in Puerto Cortes
4.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa del Arbol Galerias
Hotel Casa del Arbol Galerias
#4 of 35 in San Pedro Sula
4.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cesar Mariscos
Cesar Mariscos
#2 of 16 in Tela
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Guacamaya Inn B&B
Guacamaya Inn B&B
#1 of 35 in San Pedro Sula
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Indura Beach And Golf Resort
0.0 mi away
Paraiso Rainforest and Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suenos De Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suenos De Mar

Address: Barrio De Playa | Playa de Omoa, Omoa 21301, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Cortes Department > Omoa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Omoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront hotel constructed in 2008 located at the quiet end of the beach. Offers restaurant, Internet, bar, laundry service, air-conditioning, cable TV, hot water, private bathrooms, gift shop, book exchange. Canadian owned and operated. Omoa is a remote, quiet fishing village where you can thoroughly relax and enjoy magnificent sunsets or undertake snorkeling right out the front door. We await your visit! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing