We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Saturday night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Governor Rocks

The Governor Rocks
27 The Parade, Donaghadee, Northern Ireland
02891884817
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Donaghadee
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
northern ireland
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Fabulous Saturday night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I visited this restaurant on a Saturday night with a party of 8 people we all had 2 courses each for £15 and you can bring your own drink for £3 per bottle corkage the starters were excellent only small thing was no bread is served with the soup or mussels would have been nice to have one piece! Again small problem with the main course the wrong dish was brought out an extra chicken curry instead of a fish in curried batter so therefore one member of the party had to wait another 10 minutes for their dish! These were only small things we all hada great night and there is a fab atmosphere in this restaurant on a Saturday night will def return!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    81
    46
    25
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lisburn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food, brilliant staff! Big thanks to Amy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a reservation booked here for 14th March for my friends bday. I rang the week before to enquire about the possibility of a surprise cake being brought out after the main meal. Staff member Amy was brilliant and went out of her way to purchase the chocolate cake with candles and bring it out to the delight of my friend. So a big thank u! for ur time and attention. Food here is gorgeous, very hard to choose wot we wanted because everything sounded yummy! Garlic crab claws and Cod for main chosen and I was not disappointed! This place also has a lovely atmosphere too. We will def be back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Disappointment all round”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was our first visit to the Governor Rocks and will, in all likelihood, be our last. The lunch menu we were given bore little resemblance to that on the website. Where was the monkfish, the turbot, the lobster, the fish curry? We had a very average meal with very average service in a rather chilly restaurant. Shame because we had heard such good reports.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD & FRIENDLY STAFF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Have just returned from having lunch here excellent food and ample portions. Staff friendly and attentive. The decor is unusual odd tables and chairs and china which does'nt match its fun!!
We left having a VERY good lunch and plenty of it. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I had heard good reports about this place and decided to give it a try today. A pleasant place, right on the sea front. Decor was unusal but nice. The room was long and thin, with one wall of various mirrors and one of fish wallpaper and wooden doors.There was a welcoming open fire as we came in. We were immediately attended to by a very friendly waiter who saw us to a table of our choosing, and quickly produced wine list and menu. I chose Devilled Whitebait as a starter, (£5), and my wife decided not to have a starter. My whitebait was excellent with a superb Bois boudrin vinaigrette. My wife then chose for her mains a curry battered baby cod with chips a mango and chilli salsa and tartar sauce. (£10). This was excellent and unusual with the slight curry flavour. I ordered the Trio of Scallop, sole and cod.This came with noodles, bok choy, mushrooms,tomatoes and tyeriyaki. Beautifully cooked and totally delicious. We had a bottle of wine from their cellar, and this was very nice and fairly priced as well. If one wanted you could bring your own wine for a small corkage. The premises was lovely and warm, and the staff were first class. The toilets were spotlessly clean, always a very good sign! We will be back, if only for the Lobster, which wasn't on the menu today due to the rough weather. A very worthwhile visit with lovely food beautifully cooked. I would strongly reccomend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Governor Rocks also viewed

Donaghadee, County Down
Donaghadee, County Down
 
Bangor, County Down
Groomsport, County Down
 

Been to The Governor Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Governor Rocks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.