We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic food, great chef” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hammet House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hammet House
Llechryd SA43 2QA, Wales
01239 682 382
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 restaurants in Llechryd
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wales
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“fantastic food, great chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The quality of food served and the variety of food offered was great. There are 2 menus, the bar menu and the set menu, we looked at both but preferred the choice on this occasion of the bar menu, we had the venison meatballs, served in a wonderful rich sauce and the fillet steak which melted in your mouth and the lemon posset for dessert, all FABulous!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    16
    4
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goodwick
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

I treated my mother (and my mother) to afternoon tea today as a birthday treat. We both really enjoyed, we were gutted we were too stuffed to finish everything! Living only 30 minutes away is a bonus, we will return!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fifty shades of grey”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Went here for coffee. Coffee was good, décor terrible. Don't come if you feel, or are liable to feel, depressed. Everything is painted in what the owner describes as her "palette of greys." There is no relief from it in the downstairs rooms, barring the ladies' loo and the fuchsia pink and goose turd green curtains in the ballroom. If this is modernity give me old fashioned every time.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We went for a meal at Hammet house and were very pleased with the food and service. I wold highly recommend this hotel!
Everything was perfect.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

An old country house hotel that has recently been restored but furnished with some very odd furniture. We ate in the restaurant on clear plastic chairs that seemed more suitable for eating outside. Although the food was excellent the service was very slow.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hammet House also viewed

 
Cilgerran, Cardigan
Cardigan, Ceredigion
 

Been to Hammet House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hammet House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.