We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hammet House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hammet House to your Saves list
Hammet House
Llechryd SA43 2QA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Llechryd B&B and Inns
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A Special Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We booked two 'good' rooms at Hammet House, via a special offer, to include afternoon tea on arrival. The hotel is a delight, and exceeded our expectations. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, with wonderful beds and linen, settee, large TV and quality toiletries. Everything was spotlessly clean. The house-made flapjacks, to accompany the tea in our rooms (fresh milk was provided on request) were delicious. Afternoon tea was splendid - scrumptious little cakes, good sandwiches, excellent scones and champagne. We had dinner on one evening and it was first class - faultless. Service throughout our stay was exemplary - the staff are to be commended. Finally, the location of Hammet House is lovely - right above the river Teifi, with riverside walks, and the nearby village of Cilgerran, with its castle. All in all, a great place to stay - relaxing, comfortable, good service and excellent food. The 'special deal' made it good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    71
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
39
199
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights under a 'Secret Escapes' deal for our wedding anniversary. It was a lovely stay and we were catered for very expertly and pleasantly. The food was top class and the room was very comfortable and well furnished. The hotel has a great mix of traditional and modern fittings and furniture. The staff were very welcoming and accommodating. We really enjoyed the riverside walk to the castle too. Thanks to the staff for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

So impressed with This beautiful hotel .
We only stayed for one night but I wish it had been longer.
The Fabolous Room we stayed in was gorgeous, everything we needed for a luxurious, relaxing night away.
After enjoying cocktails in the bar we moved to the restaurant for a delicious three course meal. Possible the best meal I've ever had!

The staff at Hammond House were attentive and friendly without being overbearing.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would definitely like to come back for a longer stay.

On this particular visit we enjoyed a discounted rate thanks to a Living Social deal. I will certainly be on the look out
For another voucher, as the hotel was probably a little out
Of my price range. But would certainly like to visit again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

What a gem.! Fantastic food amazing quality. Lovely and friendly staff. The room (6)was cosy the bed soooo comfortable. Top notch toiletries as well the lovely touch of a home made flap jack and quality teas and coffees. Thank you once again we will be back!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed for three days of peace and tranquillity. All the staff were attentive and friendly but unobtrusive. We had a "fabulous" room and fabulous it was, with views over the front garden. The food was wonderful, hearty breakfasts and sublime evening meals. We wanted to explore the west coast but it would have been so easy to stay at Hammet doing nothing but being taken care of

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We are still here now in the Outstanding room - no 8. Our second time here via Dealcloud but we upgraded to this lovely room to celebrate our Anniversary.

The three things that make a stay here are the rooms, the staff and the food.

The food is delicious, and beautifully presented in lovely surroundings and the breakfasts are amazingly nice.

The staff are brilliant - I sent quite a few e mails sorting out the upgrade and other things - all immediately responded to and dealt with nicely.

When we arrived Freya greeted us, took us to our room, served us drinks and looked after us so well, a lovely girl and a credit to the hotel.

So - we'll be back! If you're reading this and are wondering - just book it!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We have stayed at Hammet House a few times. We love that Hammet House has a real relaxed feel to it and Owen and Phillipa make you feel very spoilt with their welcome and hospitality. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who loves fine dining, drinking and a very slow and relaxed pace. We opted for one of the fabulous rooms which was fabulous. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was huge. We look forward to our next visit!!

Room Tip: Visit Cilgerran Castle - you can walk along the river from the hotel into Cilgerran. Very enjoyable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hammet House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hammet House

Address: Llechryd SA43 2QA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Llechryd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Llechryd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hammet House is a luxury country house hotel in beautiful Pembrokeshire. In glorious landscaped grounds the hotel sits on the famous river Teifi right on the Pembrokeshire Ceredigion border. Built in 1795 by Sir Benjamin Hammet, the grade II listed Georgian house has been brought bang up to date with a clear focus on modern luxuries, great service & ultimate relaxation.A luxury bolthole set in secluded grounds, Hammet House is a hidden escape that nestles discreetly amongst Pembrokeshire’s glorious coastline and countryside, and Ceredigion’s spectacular beaches and heritage. Bedrooms are packed with contemporary style & luxuries, with Egyptian cotton on the beds, flat screens on the walls & indulgent Ren products in the bathrooms.In the bar & dining room you’ll find cool contemporary spaces to unwind, relax, eat & drink in, all brought to you with our easy-going yet impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hammet House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hammet House Llechryd, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hammet House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.