We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Madelene

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malaucene
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Madelene
Ancien Route d'Entrechaux, 84340 Malaucene, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Malaucene B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The highlight of a recent trip to France was a stay at La Madalene which included visits to a great cross section of southern Rhone wineries and a great education of the wines in this region. We were totally impressed with the lovely, comfortable rooms and our friendly accommodating hosts, Phillip and Jude. Each meal prepared by Jude was exquisite, elegant and paired with Phillip's excellent selection of wines. We were totally impressed with everything during our stay at La Madalene. Expect wonderful if you go there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
30
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Last year my wife and I organized a yoga retreat at La Madelene. With the wonderful support of our hosts Jude and Philip this turned for our guests and us in a magnificent experience. The rooms are tastefully designed and equipped with contemporary amenities and give this centuries old building new glamor. Surrounded by orchards and vineyards and beautiful large trees you indeed feel like in paradise. The Yoga Classes took place either on a large wooden deck adjacent to the building or on a lawn right beside the pool. The friendly reception and warm hospitality of our hosts, their open ears for any request were further key elements to make this stay memorable. But - and now speaks the food and wine lover in me, what convinced me the most of La Madelene's quality, was the continuously outstanding quality of the provided meals and beverages. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were indeed feast for the senses and exceeded my high expectations. I'm so happy that we managed to organize another stay at "La Madelene" this September again.

Room Tip: All the rooms have their own individual style and great quality. The beds are very comfortable and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

SUMMARY
Our “3 Night Wine Tour” at La Madelene was nothing short of spectacular. It was everything we had hoped for and more. Philip and Jude could not be more gracious hosts. The property is lovely with huge, well appointed rooms. The setting in the Provencal countryside is beautiful. We ate like kings throughout the journey. The quality of wineries visited and access to the proprietors and winemakers was unparalleled. If you love wine tasting and touring, this experience should not be missed. And if you love Rhone style wines in particular - as we do - prepare to drink a lot of outstanding wine.

HOSPITALITY
We can’t say enough about Philip and Jude and how hard they work to make your trip special. Every detail of your visit is well planned and laid out for you. Yet you don’t feel like you are being served, so much as you are staying with old friends and enjoying a great visit. This is a truly proper B & B experience. Every meal is well provided. The best part of the journey is sitting at the table having a wonderful time with new friends while eating a great meal and sampling the fantastic wines that Philip has chosen for you.

THE PROPERTY
La Madelene is in a great spot. The countryside in the south of France is torn from a storybook. The drive from Avignon out to La Madelene was a revelation. Each time you look out the window of the car you see a landscape painting you might have on the wall of your home. The house itself is set among orchards and farmlands and still holds every bit of its 12th century charm. It is easy to visualize the monks tending the land around the property.
However, the rooms are spacious and luxurious, with large, modern bathrooms. Our room was very large with a separate retreat with a lounge and desk. The bathroom boasted a walk-in shower with a rain style shower head and a separate wand. Water pressure and heat were excellent.

THE FOOD
Breakfast, lunch and dinner are included in the 3 night wine tour…and oh my, they may well have called this the 3 night food tour. Between the excellent restaurants we visited for lunch each day and dinner one night, and Jude’s own excellent cooking, we were extremely spoiled. My wife and I consider ourselves “Foodies” and we have eaten at great restaurants both at home and abroad. But never have we had the occasion to eat such consistently good food for three days in a row. Further, lunch and dinner each night were greatly enhanced by Philip’s excellent wine choices. The welcome and farewell dinners at La Madelene’s table were both nights to remember.

WINE TOUR
If the wine is the only thing you care about in booking your trip, then this is the right choice for you. Philip knows his stuff and has forged great relationships with many of the top vignerons in the Southern Rhone. We are big believers in primarily only buying wine that we have tasted. And we came into this trip being great fans of Rhone style wines, but mostly those produced in California. Our experience drinking actual Rhone wines had proved mixed and we did not have high expectations of the wines we would discover here. Wow! Did Philip ever show us the light. The wineries he selected for us to visit were exceptional, and we tasted more great wines than we could have hoped for.
We visited 4 wineries each day, two in the morning and two in the afternoon, always with a great lunch in the middle (with more wine, of course). This pace is excellent for experienced wine tasters. At each winery we met with a principal and were given tours of the property and production facility. A particularly memorable, but typical experience while touring with Philip, was driving up a rocky hill in Philip’s van with the vigneron and his two dogs (mom and pup) in the back, so we could hike in and visit the oldest Grenache vine in the vineyard (about 100 years old).
Another classic moment was while tasting wines with a young vigneron who was many generations into the family business and he mentioned that one of the wines we were tasting had made Wine Spectator’s top 100 the past year. Even Philip hadn’t known about this yet. In the meantime, the wine was available to us for 15 Euro per bottle, and this was maybe the 3rd or 4th best wine we tasted while touring with Philip (in my humble opinion).
Also, I can’t neglect to again mention the wines that Philip pulls from his own cellar to serve with dinners. Great wines and excellent references for areas we did not get to visit on our tour. Just as revealing and educational as the winery visits.
Final word on the wine touring portion: If you are a wine hobbyist, enthusiast, collector, snob…whatever, this is top notch stuff and you will appreciate it.

BOTTOM LINE:
Well, see above. If you don’t have a great time here, it is probably your fault.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

As soon as we turned down the driveway to La Madelene, we knew our five night stay was going to be special. Aperitifs with Philip on the terrace each evening and full continental breakfasts each morning were just the beginning. Our room was wonderful with a heavenly king size bed, a spacious shower. We went on the 3 day wine tour, at the height of the harvest. Extremely knowledgeable Philip introduced us to interesting vignerons who shared their great wines with us. We went to superb eateries where we enjoyed amazing food. Jude is a sensational cook and she prepared some stunning dinners matched with selections from Philip's considerable cellar. Terrific value. And you couldn't have more generous, obliging and hard-working hosts.
Unforgettable. Thanks to Philip and Jude.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at La Madelene for three nights and enjoyed a one-day wine tour with Philip. You must understand that staying at La Madelene means having a Provence experience coupled with a personal travel advisor. We shared a meal with Philip and Jude, we spent a day with Philip touring the local wine region, and we explored the area with advice on how to best spend our short time. Philip and Jude are exceptional hosts at the B&B, and Philip is deeply informed about the Rhone wine region and has connected with many classic and upcoming Rhone wine producers. Do not miss his tours - rhonewineholidays.com. They are really an amazing value.

Thanks again, Philip and Jude, for a lovely stay in Provence.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We spent what was one of the highlights of our France trip at La Madelene. The renovated old building (rectory if memory serves) has kept its old world charm despite being quite modern and fashionable. The summer breakfasts under the trees were wonderful, the rooms and views great, and the service and assistance from the hosts perfect. We didnt take any wine tours, but used the b&b as a base to explore the lovely surrounding towns and scenery. Our 1.5 year old daughter came with us, and aside from the stairs, had a lot of fun too. The pool is great for summer lazing.

The only downside was not having access to a communal kitchen, but do not think this is hnormally offered at this type of establishment anyway. (access to a fridge was provided)

This is a very popular area for cycling, and great for running too (if you get up early enough to miss the heat)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Gorgeous old farmhouse run by charming English couple. Beautifully furnished rooms with all the mod-cons, luxurious bathroom, breath-taking views. Fresh breakfasts served on the terrace. Great pool with views of the countryside. Excellent location - close to Le Barroux, Carpentras, and easy to get to Avignon. Stunning country walks / bike rides are a must. Highly recommend and would definitely go back. Perfect for families, couples, and groups of friends.

Room Tip: No fitness centre or room service available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Madelene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Madelene

Address: Ancien Route d'Entrechaux, 84340 Malaucene, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Malaucene
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Malaucene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful restored 12th-century priory at the foot of Mt. Ventoux, surrounded by orchards , vineyards, 11,5 metre pools, many terraces and a lawn. Chateauneuf du Pape wine tours available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Madelene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Madelene to your Saves list