We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 3 Tuns Coaching Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added 3 Tuns Coaching Inn to your Saves list
3 Tuns Coaching Inn
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Main Road, Pettistree, Woodbridge IP130HW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Pettistree B&B and Inns
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

I recently stayed at here and found the staff very helpful, the rooms are clean and the food was
good, nice log fires and warm dining areas. Very friendly stop for business travellers and families whishing a budget weekend hotel.

Room Tip: Choose room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    36
    6
    5
    31
See reviews for
18
36
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

If you like underaged drinkers vomitting on your car whilst performing juvenile acts of love in teh car park this is the place for you. ther wise, AVOID

Room Tip: go somewhere else, or find sally ally
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pettistree hotels

Woodbridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

The Three Tuns food ??? Dire Dire Dire !! They write a good menu but the proof of the pudding as they say is in the eating. If indeed they have a trained chef (which I very much doubt) they need to go back to basics & learn how to cook.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We arrived to find notices stating card machine was out of order & was told that 'the boss' said they could not accept cheques ( no 'boss' in sight! ), so it was a trip to the cash machine for all of us. The pillows were ridiculous - about 2" thick, so a complete waste of time ( the young girl who checked us in agreed, but did make some comment about problems with the housekeeper ). We did have soap in our bathroom - one jar was somewhat watered down, but that was more than others had - they had nothing! The young lad who was there later on in the evening was pleasant, and once again pleasant the following morning as he desperately tried to cook breakfast for 17 people who all wanted it at a similar time. And when someone asked for jam / marmalade we were told by the waitress ' we don't have no jam or marmalade'.
The rooms are grubby - the carpets have obviously never been cleaned properly. The grouting & sealant round the bath horribly mouldy
Who is the manager of this place? I guess he/she is far too embarrassed ever to own up to being responsible. No doubt the reason for going away when guests come to stay. I do think if you're trying to run a business, you should be there to look after your customers

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

How can I describe it without swearing?
The place is (without a doubt) the worst place I have ever stayed in. That includes all sorts of places around the world.
It should be closed down or it is about to close down. The poor guy who is attending reception was so embarassed that he had to go and give us some of his personal towels, as the place did not have enough for all the bedrooms. Bob, the owner, should concentrate on running a business that does not include customer service, as we can all confirm: you fail miserably!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Rooms could do with a good clean. No soap in the shower. Waited 40 minutes for breakfast. We will NOT be going again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Arrived saturday @ 7.15pm , no record of our booking. No manager and no staff , just one young guy who was the chef for a week, but now front of house or general dogsbody.

apologised said the motel was full even though i had email conf. He then produced something out of the sixties and showed scribbled room bookings, he also said the previous owner had not paid the phone bills so lines cut off and internet did not work , so no one was picking up emails anyway ( i had booked through their partner website) .

He had been here a week and was alone to run the place. I asked for the manager , he said he was in "herefordshire or somewhere like that" , he left messages but no call back.

we tried 7 other places locally but all full , so we decided very relunctanly to stay in the "out of service" room which had no towells, not been cleaned, dirty sheets, dirty bathroom, no pillowcases. He kept apologising but did produce 2 pillow cases and 2 towells. The cold water tap did not work. The room was the size of a cupboard.

possibly worst night sleep ever and we were off on a 35 mile charity bike ride crack of dawn. slept on the bed & which was like concrete and kept constantly awake by other guests drunk and the young lad smoking a joint outside our window,

you couldnt make this up !! how this place gets a rating is beyond me, plus they have no phone number and no website . On one website I even saw a menu for the restaraunt which the guy didn't even know about . This place is dire , please avoid . there are many other B&B's in the area. A hostel or YMCA would have been better

Room Tip: there are no best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 3 Tuns Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Tuns Coaching Inn

Address: Main Road, Pettistree, Woodbridge IP130HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge > Pettistree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pettistree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 3 Tuns Coaching Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, comfortable hotel in midst rural Suffolk. Short distances to Ipswich or the coastal towns of Aldeburgh, Southwold or Walberswick. Our bar is stocked with local ales and our restaurant provides a wide selection of traditional dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, LateRooms, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your 3 Tuns Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Three Tuns Hotel Pettistree
The 3 Tuns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 3 Tuns Coaching Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.