We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We wish you a fishy Christmas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fish

The Fish
High Street, Sutton Courtenay, England
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
oxford
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“We wish you a fishy Christmas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Visited as as a guest of a local company last night to their Xmas do. Everything was excellent from start to finish. Really friendly, efficient bar service. Prawn and crab cocktail to start, very fresh with an advocado sorbet, folllowed by a venison escalope, with mash, cabbage and chestnuts. Some others on the table had steaks-apparently the chef is French so likes to cook them rare but will cook longer if required. Cheese and biscuits to folllow - nice, individual portions. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We will re visit in the NY to try the usual menu. Really good, tha
nkyou

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    14
    3
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful French style restaurant with added "chic"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I cannot recommend this place highly enough. I've eaten here several times and have never been disappointed. The food is mainly French with an English twist - or is it mainly English with a French twist? You decide. However you view it the food is just superb. The chef is French and loves to put his slant on English classics like Steak & Kidney pie and Fish & Chips. It works very well indeed. There is good variety on the menu with weekly specials and a reasonably priced set menu too. The host, Sebastien, is charming and friendly with a great sense of humour. The decor and surroundings are classy without being overdone. This place is popular and with good reason, so it's sensible to book. It is worth noting that it does take some time to get through a 3 course meal, so don't go if you're in a hurry. As they say in the restaurant "Good food takes time". It is worth the wait.
I notice a previous reviewer has rated this place as awful. I cannot understand that. Something must have gone very wrong the day they went. I've never had a problem here and will keep coming.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I both the Fish and Chips, the cod was raw and the batter was very thick and greasy. To top all this off my wife found a huge black hair in her salad!!! Cannot understand the good reviews, found the restaurant to be dingy and dark, and yes we were sitted in the conservatory. Would never go back, try the Red Lion Watlington you won't be disappointed ..

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxon
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Living quite near we have been a few times but recently have had really good food , The fish & chips eaten while sitting outside on a just warm enough evening was very tasty. We returned one evening plus daughter and had an excellent meal inside . One day we'll book in time for the conservatory !

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Often busy so book early”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via Local Picks

The Fish is a bit out of the way and the restaurant is mainly visited by locals or those who are on business meetings. We had our Christmas meal there last year and had a good time. As with this sort of thing you always order in advance so you know what your options are and will have the standard bread rolls and wine approach to the dinner. The food took quite a while to arrive, which considering there was only 8 of us was a bit frustrating. We later found out they had a very large booking arrive at the same time, so would suggest calling and asking if you are planning a similar trip. The venue is nice and there is adequate parking with a nice garden. The food was good but isn't anything to rave about, especially compared to the Swan around the corner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed The Fish also viewed

Sutton Courtenay, Oxfordshire
 
Toot Baldon, Oxford
Didcot, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.