We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Castle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schloss Gabelhofen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Schloss Gabelhofen to your Saves list
Schloss Gabelhofen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schlossgasse 54, Fohnsdorf 8753 , Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fohnsdorf
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Quaint Castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

How often do you get a chance to stay in a Castle? This place is so neat. They did a great job keeping the integrity of the Castle feel. Whoever had the vision was very talented in my eyes. The grounds are very nice, but what more can you expect you are in Austria. What a beautiful country. The hotel sits right at the edge of a cut village. The breakfast buffet in the morning is a great set-up. They have a cafe and a cigar bar which in the quiet village and town a great place to have a great night while staying. The bar tender Erik is great he plays any music you want off YouTube and takes all request, great guy. This hotel has an amazing wine cellar as well. The dinning area or restaurant was amazing the food was never a disappointment. I was there for work meetings that they put on for us in the conference area and we ate lunch and dinners there. Very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gabelhofen, Manager at Schloss Gabelhofen, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay in Gabelhofen and we looking forward to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    13
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
11
2
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed at Gabelhoffen many times and while rooms are very clean and modern it does not lose the sense of being a castle. GM of the hotel really is a master of Austrian wines and enjoys cellar visits. It is must to visit the wine cellar. Breakfast is very good and I especially enjoy all the fresh or frozen berries. For dinner while not on the menu just ask for their garlic suppe or other Austrian dishes.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrecen, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I stayed here just one night on business trip. The place is amazing. It is really an about 500 years old castle (or more). The inner court of the castle is transfered into an atrium, and the whole place has a medieval atmosphere, combined with the modern. The staff, the service and the breakfast is outstanding. (a countless variety of antipasti, champagne, etc at your disposal) The only down side that it was renovated in the early 90's and some room accessories needs refurbishing. Bathtub, shower etc... Apart from that, I can recomend this place wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

A must to visit if you want to experiance best service, best food and soroundings like in a fairytale.
From the time you book until you check out there was nothing to fault. The modern rooms in this dream castle are very comfortable. Only had the 3 course package plus the greating from the kitchen. On all our three nights we were surprised with the presentation and the taste. The staff is the best. When we left they gave us some drinks to take with us and a small gift. My wife forgot the charger for the phone, so when we got home and rang the reception we were told that they have allready posted it to our home adress. How is that for service.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

In Oct 2011 I was in business in Austria and stayed here for 3 nights. It is a most beautiful and impressive hotel in a lovely mountain backdrop.The rooms are lovely and the restaurant is excellent ( a common theme here in Austria! see review of Hotel Hubertoshof). The main entrance is like a medieval or fairytail castle and the reception has high ceilings and the restauarnt has vaulted cellar type ceilings. the atmosphere in the restaurant is good and slightly more formal but no worse for it! It has all the modern facilities and I enjoyed my stay there.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but the rooms in the lower part of the corner turrets are samller than the upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This old castle has a good level of hotel rooms inside, a good restaurant, bar, and a vine cellar.
If available (not always did I understand), I very strongly recommend vine tasting, held in the cellar. Reasonably priced, nice moment with a couple of local reds. Hotel location is a bit remote, but if you are around, it's worth staying.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollabrunn, Austria
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Travelling in a groupd with historic vehicle we stayed for two nights in that Hotel. Friendly service at meals, clea rooms, but almost no possibility to look from your room outside - its true - mediival castles do not have so many wndows and as many of the todays rooms had been storage facilites for food, for wappons, etc.etc.The entrance hall showing the most interesting architecture - the former court yard now under a glass roof! Exciting look during a thunerstorm or hail ( at we experienced one evening)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Schloss Gabelhofen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schloss Gabelhofen

Address: Schlossgasse 54, Fohnsdorf 8753 , Austria
Location: Austria > Styria > Fohnsdorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fohnsdorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Schloss Gabelhofen 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique beauty has shaped the appearance of Schloss Gabelhofen which serves also as an inspiration for the exceptional hospitality that can be found at the Schloss Hotel.The privately run 4-star-superior Schlosshotel Gabelhofen has 57 individually arranged rooms and suites and is embedded within breathtaking alpine surroundings, considered to be some of the most beautiful in Styria.Schloss Gabelhofen, one of the most architecturally stunning castles in Austria is a very special refuge, in which time travellers and those looking to revitalise are received in a truly grand aristocratic mansion.The ambience and the timeless elegance of the Schloss Gabelhofen architecture make it one of the most beautiful Schlosshotels in Europe ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Schloss Gabelhofen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schloss Gabelhofen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.