We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a special opportunity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vredefort Dome World Heritage Site

Vredefort Dome World Heritage Site
Venterskroon, Parys, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 attractions in Parys
Type: Geologic Formations
Attraction Details
Delray Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“a special opportunity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Very few know about this UNESCO World Heritage Site. The tour was well managed as well as presented. Clearly a TREAT to our overall Parys adventure!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Currituck, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“U have to see to believe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had a great time. The view from the top of the dome is amazing. U could see 360 o
All around. A great 1/2 day trip.
The Guide (Sam) was we'll read he knows his Dome.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not certain if it is worth a visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Go and decide for yourself. Travelling through the main street of Parys was disgusting. Stop streets without lines on the road, potholes all over, dirty streets and sidewalks ans according to some residents no water or electricityfor days. It is heartbreaking to see a town offering so much going down the drains. The authorities cant be proud of what we have seen but rather wake up and upgrade and maintain the infrastructure as this town has so much to offer the tourist.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The Vredefort Dome”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Vredefort Dome is a world heritage site. It is supposed to be the site of a large meteor impact 2000 million years ago. It is s beautiful area to visit, but it is an incredibly difficult area to out any information on. A large museum and information centre has been built just outside Vredefort. The museum stands empty and closed as apparently it is not built safely. What a waste of what could be an incredible tourist attraction.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Vredefort Dome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed Thwane Bush Camp in the Vredefort Dome this weekend. We stayed in one of the camps, all of them are tented which are fully equipped and ensuite shower facilieties. We only took our food and beverages and if you want to make use of the pool (small but a blessing on a hot day) one must take your own swimming towel. There are various hiking trials which one can participate in. At night the sky is so clear with all the trillions of stars and the milkway. The camp we used had no electricity only gas and little parafine lamps but it was awesome. We will definitely go back for a weekend of relaxation.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vredefort Dome World Heritage Site also viewed

 

Been to Vredefort Dome World Heritage Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vredefort Dome World Heritage Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Vredefort Dome World Heritage Site to your Saves list