We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Vredefort Dome” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vredefort Dome World Heritage Site

Vredefort Dome World Heritage Site
Venterskroon, Parys, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in Parys
Attraction details
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The Vredefort Dome”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Vredefort Dome is a world heritage site. It is supposed to be the site of a large meteor impact 2000 million years ago. It is s beautiful area to visit, but it is an incredibly difficult area to out any information on. A large museum and information centre has been built just outside Vredefort. The museum stands empty and closed as apparently it is not built safely. What a waste of what could be an incredible tourist attraction.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    2
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Vredefort Dome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed Thwane Bush Camp in the Vredefort Dome this weekend. We stayed in one of the camps, all of them are tented which are fully equipped and ensuite shower facilieties. We only took our food and beverages and if you want to make use of the pool (small but a blessing on a hot day) one must take your own swimming towel. There are various hiking trials which one can participate in. At night the sky is so clear with all the trillions of stars and the milkway. The camp we used had no electricity only gas and little parafine lamps but it was awesome. We will definitely go back for a weekend of relaxation.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Self Drive around the Dome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We did a day trip driving through the Vredefort Dome, from Parys, via Venterskroon, over Schoemansdrift, via Vredefort and back to Parys. Great views of the Vaal river along the route and great scenery. It was interesting to learn more about the formation of the Vredefort Dome at the Dome Information Center in Venterskroon, a small building, not very modern, manned by one person. Walking over the bridge at Schoemansdrift was quite fascinating, we saw lots of fish jumping at the weir, and birds waiting for a good catch. The roads are mostly gravel, but assessable by car. There are not many shops along the route, so it may be a good idea to take water/drinks and snacks.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Heritage Day camping in the Vredefort Dome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We visited the Vredefort Dome the past weekend when we celebrated our South African Heritage public holiday. We camped at Suikerbos - a rustic but well equipped camping site near Parys – with chalets too, hiking trails, and some impala roaming the small farm. The camping site is clean and well maintained and we loved the peacefulness, the sounding of birds and the sights of impala, hare, and nature.

The history of the Dome is fascinating and at Suikerbos there are examples of the rock formations from more than 2 000 million years ago, as well as some interesting sites dating from the Anglo-Boer War.

The Dome’s centre circle spans 300 km and the area looks like bushveld with ‘koppies’ (hills) and bushveld acacias. The area is dotted with resort, self-catering units and river facing facilities on the Vaal river.

The video and guided information at Venterskroon was informative.

Well worth a visit – especially on Heritage Day!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Within an hour's drive from Johannesburg one of the eight world heritage sites in South Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Driving along the N1 from Johannesburg, one does not realise that within a few kilometres, turning off at Pays, the landscape is changing from flat grasslands to lovely hills and thorn trees.Close to the Vaal river at the town of Parys lies a tourist attraction that is not on the regular route of many local and South African tourists but is immensely interesting from a geological and nature perspective. Whereas Pilanesberg, also close to Johannesburg, is a very old volcanic culderra (the bottom of a volcanic eruption), this is the site where a meteorite hit the earth 2 000 million years ago, in an area spanning 80 km.For anybody interested in the origins of mankind and geology, this is a must-see.With a knowledgeable guide, like the one we had from Dome Adventures,one can easily spend a few very interesting hours here. Thereafter a lunch can be enjoyed at one of the few restaurants on the banks of the Vaal river at Parys, as well as browsing through the vintage shops.Accomodation on various levels is available in the area if you want to make a weekend trip.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vredefort Dome World Heritage Site also viewed

Parys, Free State
 
Parys, Free State
 

Been to Vredefort Dome World Heritage Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vredefort Dome World Heritage Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.