We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“palazzomalaspina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Malaspina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Malaspina to your Saves list
Palazzo Malaspina
Via del Giglio, 35 | Chianti, 5200 San Donato in Poggio, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€60 (EUR)
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“palazzomalaspina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Our stay for 2 nights here was most enjoyable. Our room was lovely and the view from the little balcony magnificent. We had cool weather but what a treat to sit out on the balcony if the weather was good. Breakfast was delicious and very ample. The recommended restaurants were both excellent. It was a convenient location for visiting in the area. i highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    40
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
246
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at this lovely B&B towards the end of our trip to Italy. It was such a nice way to end our trip. Wonderful B&B environment, great hospitality, and DELICIOUS Breakfast made to order plus cappachino!! Bathrooms were very clean and spacious. Maria scheduled a wine tour at Casa Emma which was outstanding minus the walk to get there. FYI drive if you can ;) The town is small and quaint but breathtaking views. If we ever get to go back to Italy, we will defintely make a stop in at Palazzo Malaspina!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Maria and staff were wonderful. From the breakfast through to the end of the day, Palazzo Malaspina will not disappoint. The accomodations are roomy and very comfortable. The entry is spacious and is a welcoming sitting area. Maria's breakfast is full of fresh items...jams, spreads, torts, cakes, etc. and a sumptuous omelet if you like.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were greeted with a smile at this majestic door by Maria, the owner. Entering the doorway, you are taking back by the amazing architecture. This hidden gem is located just outside of Florence. If you are looking for a romantic and quiet place, this is it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Palazzo Malaspina is a wonderful bed & breakfast that is in the heart of the Chianti Hills. We found it easy to drive from Florence to San Donato in Poggio, then onto Siena for a day trip. Also, it was only 2 hours away from Mediterranean coastal town of Viareggio, so we day-tripped there, as well. Both Maria and her assistant, Mary, are kind and helpful with ideas on where to go and what to do. Our room (the one with the hanging chandelier) was true to its picture, very large, with a wonderful jacuzzi tub we utilized daily. The room smelled of old wood polish, which struck me when we first entered, but you will see why. They take much care in their aged wooden ceiling and antique furniture. The beds are wonderfully comfortable! Breakfast consists of cured meats and cheeses, breads, a homemade tart or cake, and eggs or crepe upon request. Also, their cappuccinos were my favorite in all of the Chianti Hills. Sidenote: San Donato in Poggio might be a small village, but don't be fooled. This town boasts amazing restaurants and shops, with some of the nicest proprietors in all of Italy. Definitely try La Toppa if you want a true, authentic, and delicioso taste of Italy!!

Room Tip: Room 5 has a view of courtyard, chandelier, and jacuzzi tub. No balcony, but it does sit away from a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was our second trip to Italy - we have been to Florence before but never to the countryside. We loved it! I bought a book, Fodor's (illustrated guide) at Barnes & Noble that had all the information I needed, and when I went online to look for hotels, I found Palazzo Malaspina very well situated. I reserved a room for two nights and loved it so much that we decided to stay the whole week at this Bed and Breakfast. So beautiful, relaxing and peaceful! Our room had a nice view to the garden and Tuscan hills. San Donato is a very charming Medieval town, only twenty minutes from Florence. We also drove to Siena, San Gimignano, Volterra, Monteriggiano and other villages. The true main reason that we decided to stay at Palazzo Malaspina was because we felt like been at home. Maria is a wonderful hostess and she makes her guests enjoy the relaxing atmosphere! Breakfast was always a pleasant time - her cappuccino, tortas (pies) and marmalades are divine! We were never in a hurry! We also liked Mary, Maria's employee, very much. She is very sweet and helpful! We would love to go back to Tuscany and of course we would stay in San Donato at Palazzo Malaspina. I highly recommended the place!

Room Tip: Rooms #2 and #3 (our room) are very light and have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at Palazzo Malaspina for a week in this lovely B&B. A great location for exploring the Chianti region and all of Tuscany. The surrounding countryside of which there was a view from our room was beautiful. San Donato in Poggio is the perfect Tuscan town! Maria was a lovely host, assisting with travel tips where she could and preparing a wonderful and extensive breakfast each day. The room was clean and furnished satisfactorily. We would love to return in the future!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Malaspina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Malaspina

Address: Via del Giglio, 35 | Chianti, 5200 San Donato in Poggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Donato in Poggio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in San Donato in Poggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Elegant B&B between Siena and Florence for the best holiday experience in the heart of Chianti."The family who owns Malaspina opens their doors to guests with gracious hospitality. We really enjoyed out stay here! Maria and her husband were the perfect hosts and the breakfast was wonderful!" (One of our guests from USA)So, a great location for enjoying Toscana! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Escapio and Tingo so you can book your Palazzo Malaspina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Malaspina Hotel San Donato In Poggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Malaspina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.