We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Palazzo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Malaspina

Save Saved
You added Palazzo Malaspina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palazzo Malaspina
Via del Giglio, 35 | Chianti, 5200 San Donato in Poggio, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
€13 off room rate
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Charming Palazzo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Palazzo Malaspina is a beautiful renovated palazzo. Our room at the end of the hall was very large, the bed was very comfortable, the bedding was of quality, and I slept well however my husband found the bed too short. The palazzo and our room was very inviting. The view onto the piazza was charming. We could not hear any of our fellow travelers and there was no outside noise, San Donato is very quiet however, we had a noisy air conditioner that would awake us. I loved the wooden beamed ceiling, tiled floors, wrought iron bed and antiques. The marble bathroom was spotlessly clean, large and had a very good shower. There was also a Jacuzzi but we didn't use it. Breakfast consisted of a huge bowl of sliced fresh fruit which was appreciated. There is yogurt, bread and homemade cake and homemade jams. Maggie who serves breakfast is very friendly and a pleasure and she will make you eggs and a cappuccino. My husband's over easy egg was perfect.

Something I didn't care for was the structured hour of arrival. You are asked to be specific and give a time as to when you will arrive! When traveling and sightseeing it is difficult to predict an arrival and we did not arrive until 6:00 which I'm not sure was appreciated given that I had e-mailed and said 4:30 - 5:30. The owners live in the palazzo and are not off site. You will see Maria at check in, check out and possibly at breakfast but there is no one available should you need assistance at any other time of the day for dinner reservations, travel questions, etc. No one will answer the door of their suite outside these timeframes. In addition, there is free WI fi in the palazzo but it does not work in the rooms at all. You must go to the breakfast room to use the WI fi which is inconvenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    282
    39
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
225
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a great place to be, right in the middle of the Chianti region; This is a restored old place, with all the good and the bad parts of it. To some, the rooms might look a little bit outdated (very tall, the stone floor is a little bit uneven), but the beds are confy, the bathrooms are quite modern, the service is excellent, and the breakfast is a real treat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I read all the Excellent reviews and this probably led to my disappointment. Even though I sent an email stating our time of arrival we were greeted by a note on the door giving a telephone number for reservations. A service person met us and directed us to our room. No information about breakfast or any other details. The room had remenants from the previous occupant. The bottle of chianti had no label and a broken cork. On the positive side the rooms are spacious with a big bathroom. The breakfast is ok. The location is great and Maria is very friendly. If I was to return I would stay at one of the Agriturismos in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at Maria's Palazzo in October, and had a really enjoyable time. Our room was very comfortable and spacious and provided great privacy. The breakfasts were very good, nice selection, especially Maria's cakes, and Mary's Cappuccino's. We enjoyed some lively discussions with other guests during our stay. Maria's suggestions for restaurants and places to visit were very helpful. The Palazzo is centrally located for visiting the other villages of the Chianti region and the rest of Tuscany. The only tricky bit, was finding a parking space some nights that was close by, however this is true of many small Italian towns.

Room Tip: We had room #5, next to the breakfast room, very private and quiet with great views of the village s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed in October, 2012. The room was good size, bed comfortable and bathroom fantastic for Italy! Had towel warmer and big enough to move around in without bumping into everything!
Pros - clean towels daily, clean room daily, room sizes, bed comfort, great view, laundry service.
Cons - breakfast ok not great, nothing much near the B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed with Maria in September, the room was elegant and spacious with a comfy bed and a beautiful bathroom with a spa bath. A great location in the chianti area with many other villages nearby. The service was very good and the breakfasts were unsurpassed especially the cakes!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Palazzo Malaspina in September, it was our first trip to Italy and we were not disappointed. Maria was very helpful with places to visit and her homemade cakes were a delight at breakfast. Our room was very clean, spacious with a modern bathroom and a balcony with fantastic views over the tuscan hills. The Bed and Breakfast is situated in the lovely village of San Donato in Poggio, with good restaurants. It is also a good base to visit Florence, Sienna and many beautiful towns and villages in the area. We would definitely return!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palazzo Malaspina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Malaspina

Address: Via del Giglio, 35 | Chianti, 5200 San Donato in Poggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Donato in Poggio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in San Donato in Poggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Elegant B&B between Siena and Florence for the best holiday experience in the heart of Chianti."The family who owns Malaspina opens their doors to guests with gracious hospitality. We really enjoyed out stay here! Maria and her husband were the perfect hosts and the breakfast was wonderful!" (One of our guests from USA)So, a great location for enjoying Toscana! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and Escapio so you can book your Palazzo Malaspina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Malaspina Hotel San Donato In Poggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Malaspina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.