We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Malaspina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Malaspina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Malaspina to your Saves list
Palazzo Malaspina
Via del Giglio, 35 | Chianti, 5200 San Donato in Poggio, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Florence, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Malaspina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed in October, 2012. The room was good size, bed comfortable and bathroom fantastic for Italy! Had towel warmer and big enough to move around in without bumping into everything!
Pros - clean towels daily, clean room daily, room sizes, bed comfort, great view, laundry service.
Cons - breakfast ok not great, nothing much near the B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    40
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
255
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed with Maria in September, the room was elegant and spacious with a comfy bed and a beautiful bathroom with a spa bath. A great location in the chianti area with many other villages nearby. The service was very good and the breakfasts were unsurpassed especially the cakes!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Palazzo Malaspina in September, it was our first trip to Italy and we were not disappointed. Maria was very helpful with places to visit and her homemade cakes were a delight at breakfast. Our room was very clean, spacious with a modern bathroom and a balcony with fantastic views over the tuscan hills. The Bed and Breakfast is situated in the lovely village of San Donato in Poggio, with good restaurants. It is also a good base to visit Florence, Sienna and many beautiful towns and villages in the area. We would definitely return!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had a wonderful time in Palazzo Malaspina, enjoyed watching the balloons rise over the horizon while lying in bed. I have already made Maria's chocolate cake but didn't have it for breakfast at home, a great hit! Very clean and well situated in Chianti.

Room Tip: Room with a shared balcony has a beautiful view but best if non smoker shares the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I went to Italy on our honeymoon and we were referred to this Bed and Breakfast by a cooking class we had booked in the area. The town itself had great views and good restaurants and was close to other attractions in the area (plus it is up on a hill, the views were amazing!!!) The Bed and Breakfast was great - the rooms were comfortable and very nice (no surprises there, as their website has pictures of all of the rooms!)... However, the one thing that sticks out in my mind the most (and have told everyone about so far) is the absolutely amazing breakfast. This is by far one of the best Bed and Breakfasts my wife and I have stayed in.

Room Tip: Make sure to print out directions to the door, our GPS didn't know where to go (which Maria poin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I returned to Italy this September after a wonderful trip last year in which we decided to spend more time in the hill towns of the Chianti region. I came upon the Palazzo Malaspina through much internet searching and was immediately charmed by its story and the photos on their website. The first part of our trip was in a castle spa resort in Montalcino, and for contrast we chose this small intimate bed & breakfast in the tiny town of San Donato di Poggia, and take day trips from there. Returning to this small medieval palazzo with its 10 foot high doors and updated with modern conveniences every evening was a joy. We felt like we were part of the town. Maria's hospitality, the communal lovely breakfasts and the view from our balcony over the alley-way sized streets of the town and the Tuscan hills were all enchanting. It made me fall in love with Italy all over again! And the bonus is that it is much closer to Florence than you realize, so returning to the city with our rental car to catch the train was very quick and convenient. I'd recommend it highly and visit it again.

Room Tip: They were all wonderful with individual accents. I did like the room with an open balcony yo enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Maria and Mary did a wonderful job taking care of us in San Donato. The room was perfect and the chocolate breakfast cake was to die for. The town of San Donato was charming and convenient to lots of interesting places.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Malaspina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Malaspina

Address: Via del Giglio, 35 | Chianti, 5200 San Donato in Poggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Donato in Poggio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in San Donato in Poggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Elegant B&B between Siena and Florence for the best holiday experience in the heart of Chianti."The family who owns Malaspina opens their doors to guests with gracious hospitality. We really enjoyed out stay here! Maria and her husband were the perfect hosts and the breakfast was wonderful!" (One of our guests from USA)So, a great location for enjoying Toscana! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Palazzo Malaspina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Malaspina Hotel San Donato In Poggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Malaspina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.