We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could havebeen better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lion's Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lion's Hotel to your Saves list
Lion's Hotel
SS 18 no 60/A loc Torre Lupo | Falerna Marina, 88040 Falerna, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Falerna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Could havebeen better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The hotel was very clean, free wi-fi, great sea views and beautiful reception area. It was very hot when we arrived and before checking in, I specifically asked if they had air conditioning and was told they did. We booked, collected the luggage from the car and as we got into the elevator, we were told the air conditioning was not working. We figured we would stay anyway since it should be cooling off later and the sea breeze would be coming through the windows. Little did we know of all the truck traffic that went on all night, neither of us slept due to the noise. I phoned reception twice, all they could say is they do not speak English.

When we left in the morning, we found the highway was closed and traffic had been re-routed. This apparently explains the enormous amount of loud truck traffic going by the hotel all night long.

I think under normal circumstances this could have been a pleasurable stay but ours was not at all due to being hot all night and putting up with the noise. I must say, the hotel was extremely clean with beautiful views.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario B, Proprietario at Lion's Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Julie kind lady, I take advantage of his review, to greet her and her husband, I renew my apologies for the inconvenience unwanted by us.
I hope to get it back at my hotel to make your stay as special as I do with all my guests.
Best regards
Mario Barletta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    26
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
37
22
1
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

The Lion's Hotel in Falerna Marina is a real gem for travelers in Calabria. The location is excellent, very near the autostrade and Lemezia Terme airport. The rooms are light and airy, very clean, and well-equipped. Our room overlooked the sea and had large French doors that pushed out to a balcony. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet, so we slept well each night of our stay. The real gem in the hotel, however, are the people who work there. Everyone was friendly and made you feel like you were a treasured guest. Our three nights at the Lion's Hotel were a highlight of our 10-day stay in Italy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario B, Proprietario at Lion's Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
KBR45 Hello, I am proud to have his opinions on the hotel's Lion and all of us.
She was truly a special guest.
Hope to see you again still here with us.
Only you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

This family-owned hotel was warm and welcoming and the kind staff, helpful and professional. The hotel is lovely with no details left undone and each given careful attention. Our room was comfortable, impeccably clean, and tastefully decorated. The sunset view from our balcony was beautiful! The restaurant provided delicious food and good service. When we return to Falerna, the Lion's Hotel will be our choice!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

My wife and I traveled to Calabria to visit her family's ancestral home of Falerna last month.
We had no idea what we would encounter in this quieter and more rural province of Italy. What a wonderful surprise to find the Lion's Hotel, which was home to smiling faces and helping hands. This Hotel in the absolute quintessence of "Euro-class". It is immaculately clean, and absolutely comfortable and inviting. The common areas are lovely, the restaurant is excellent, the porches and grounds are relaxing...I could go on and on. What really sets the tone at this property is the pride that the Barletta family takes in seeing to its daily operation. Mr. and Mrs. Barletta built this Hotel about 10 years ago and have not overlooked any detail. The staff are wonderful and it truly feels like a family establishment in the very best sense.
I would enthusiastically recommend the "Lion's" to any traveler. We look forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: our 4th floor room looked out onto the ocean and was absolutely lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lion's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion's Hotel

Address: SS 18 no 60/A loc Torre Lupo | Falerna Marina, 88040 Falerna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Catanzaro > Falerna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Falerna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Lion's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lion's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.