We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastiskt” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palm Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Palm Beach Resort to your Saves list
The Palm Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ngwe Saung Beach, | Pathein, Ngwe Saung, Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ngwe Saung
Stockholm
1 review
“Fantastiskt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

It is an extremly good hotell, and the staff is friendly and helpful. There english is really good comparing to other hotels. I specially loved the christmas buffe and the new years buffe 2012. Both was very worth the prize.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    16
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Palm beach is a perennial favourite for expats living in Yangon and now I understand why. Compared to hotels at Ngapali, where I usually go, Palm Beach is much more low key and while it is in no way uncomfortable, it doesn't have the same flare as the top hotels at Ngapali. This is not a bad thing - it just creates a much more laid back vibe.

Palm beach essentially gets all the key things right - the staff are friendly and helpful, and the hotel is clearly kept in good running order.

The restaurant is fine but it could benefit from a menu revamp as it feels a little too early 1990s, particularly with regard to the unimaginative presentation of vegetables. A few Myanmar salads (tomato, avocado), Rakhine seafood soup and a greater range of local seafood dishes in general would be great additions to the menu. That said, the chef was very willing to cook things that weren't on the menu - like the lobster we bought in the village, which came up a treat. There are also delicious crepes for breakfast.

The rooms are nice and comfortable but showing their age a little and the bathrooms were very clean but not at all extravagant. A few small changes, like improving the quality of the bars of soap (grainy to touch), upgrading lighting in the bathroom, replacing the towels, (which, while clean were so old and threadbare that they were no longer white but light brown), and replacing the chairs on the balcony outside the beachfront room we had so that they reclined rather than had straight backs (more appropriate for a holiday) would make a great difference.

That said, there are very few (if any) hotels that get all of the little details right in Myanmar and this always needs to be taken into account with reviews of hotels in this country. I very much enjoyed my stay here and would go back. If I could rate it 3.5 I would, but as I can't seem to click on 3 1/2 I will be slightly generous and give it a four.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tajikistan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I, my daughter and my aunt stayed in Palm beach resort in October, our stay was great and this is the second time i am back here. It is very child friendly and a lot of families come so if you have a child with you, he/she will have others to play with.
The small disappointment we had was that my aunt ordered a chicken sandwich and after the first bite, she realized that the bread was spoiled, it smelled like it was rotten. I asked the waiter and she checked it herself and took it back to the kitchen, she of course apologized for this and replaced the sandwich. It happened on the last day of our stay so was not a very nice closure to our stay. Apart from that everything was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I had inconveniences with the "Resort ambo" ( B+B ), and all the nights went to work and dinner here, excelent food, exclent capuccino and good staff. Nice furniture , internet if you need ( USD 3 by hour ). Unluckely was full booked so only can take the restaurant.

Room Tip: The restaurant excelent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

My family has stayed at the Palm Beach many times over the years and were never disappointed with our experience. The staff goes out of their way to make your stay the most enjoyable possible (Ms. Bima, the GM is a delight). The beach is quiet and clean, the rooms comfortable and the housekeeping excellent. My only suggestion for the hotel is that they start to consider refurbishing the rooms since the aircons, fridge and furnishings are starting to show their age. Internet is painfully slow and sometimes non-existent (which can make for a wonderful getaway!) During holiday periods, the hotel is frequented by expats from Yangon so be sure to book well in advance for seaside rooms (months).

Room Tip: The first row "VIP rooms" are right on the beach and have a lovely veranda to watch the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I stayed here with my sister over the New Year's period and we had an utterly amazing experience. We had friends with us who have stayed for the past five years, and we all plan on returning again this year.

Ngwe Saung is a bit out of the way, but the staff of the Palm Beach Resort ensure you have an amazing experience right from your arrival - and welcome drink - through to your departure.

The rooms are simple, but come complete with everything you'd need, including an array of satellite TV channels. The toilet is also separate from the bathroom - a bonus when staying with someone. The breakfasts were good, and with a big enough selection to not be bored after a week.

The sea is safe to swim in, and right in front of the rooms with an expansive white sandy beach going for miles in both directions. If the waves get a bit too big, the saltwater pool is perfect to cool off in.

I really can't praise the Palm Beach Resort highly enough. My only gripes were that the beachfront 'spa area' for massages was interrupted frequently from kids in the pool, and that they seemed to have only one CD in rotation in the bar, but I just know that for next time I'll make some discs for them!

Room Tip: Ask for a beachfront room - the view is incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myanmar
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We recently satyed 3 nights at The Palm Beach Resort.The GM, Miss Bima was the best. All the staffs were very friendly and made you feel so special.We all had had the nice 2 hour massage with reasonable fee.The hotel has very nice sea view.we want to go back there again.

Room Tip: All Sea View Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palm Beach Resort

Address: Ngwe Saung Beach, | Pathein, Ngwe Saung, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Ayeyarwady Region > Ngwe Saung
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ngwe Saung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palm Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palm Beach Hotel Ngwe Saung

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palm Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.