We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully refreshed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wroxeter Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Wroxeter Hotel to your Saves list
The Wroxeter Hotel
Wroxeter, Wroxeter SY5 6PH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroxeter
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderfully refreshed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have just spent a most enjoyable long weekend at the Wroxeter Hotel. The room was very clean and well finished but a little to warm for my taste, excellent shower and nice fluffy towels. We had a nice view over fields and were kept amused by horses, chickens and llamas.
The staff at the hotel were attentive and pleasant but there didn't seem to be many of them as they all seemed to be working where ever needed, i.e. receptionist waiting on tables. Food was good all cooked and prepared fresh so there was a bit of a wait but that was acceptable. During our stay we had an afternoon tea which was very pleasant and filling and also had a Roman Banquet (16 dishes of more than adequate size) with lots of wine to swill it down.
All in all I would definately stay again. We have in fact booked to go back soon to take my parents for afternoon tea.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    119
    84
    38
    37
See reviews for
55
231
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

What a mixed review I have to report on this one, it seems they are assuming the venue and grounds is sufficient to get excellent reviews and hold the 5 stars, but the little things have been allowed to slip. My partner popped into the hotel to book a short overnight stay, the receptionist provided details of the different rooms (as they are all very different). It was agreed we would have the larger room overlooking the garden, it was also explained that as a function was on that weekend we would have to eat in the bistro over in courtyard as there was a wedding in the hotel, both seemed ok. As a spa hotel with treatments , we wanted to book a treatment and after paying the deposit was advised we would have to contact the spa separately to book our treatments. We had an email to say that they were fully booked, it was a shame that the hotel could not have told us this before taking our deposit. On the saturday afternoon , when we looked into spa rooms, it actually looked closed and was in darkness, hmm so actually do not think they were fully booked. We arrived on the Saturday lunchtime, we went to our room and instead of overlooking the garden we over looked the church and car park, as it turns out the room was quaint and we were quite happy. We were also told on arrival that we could eat in the restaurant for dinner. It seems the staff were not fully informed as to provide accurate information to guests. The hotel and gardens are beautiful for a lovely break , when we explored the gardens , it seems attention to detail was an issue, amazing views and photo opportunities for the weddings, but certain parts of the garden seemed untidy and overgrown and the pond in the grounds certainly needed attention. We went down to the lounge for drinks before dinner, the bar has a big display advertising Fever Tree tonic a must with G&T, however when ordered two G&T with fever tree, we were advised they did not have any Fever Tree tonic. It also turned out as the evening continued, there were other basic classics in the bar that they had run out of, Jack Daniels and Tia Maria , for a 5 star hotel on Saturday tea time did not seem acceptable. We went into dinner, what a beautiful room and lovely setting with the view over the gardens and sun setting. The attention of the staff and quality of the food was faultless, highly recommend. However , for a 5 star hotel and wine not cheap, you would not expect to have to comment that the white wine was insufficiently chilled. (again little touching let themselves down). After dinner, we returned to the bar lounge, it was a busy evening, but you continually had to ring reception to get someone to serve at the bar and on occasion the reception was unmanned. Later into the evening, the entertainment started, to be completely honest everyone was happy talking and the wedding party had spilled into the bar and was very pleasant. A man started playing the piano, he was very nice and could certainly play the piano, however I would say the piano was long overdue for a re tune (not a good sound). We decided was time to turn in for the night. Our bedroom was very comfortable and the jacuzzi bath was good ( not sure why the bath water was green when it filled up), the radiator in the bathroom was all covered in white blobs which could be knocked off which is not good when the towels are left on radiator to warm.
Following morning we had breakfast and left, must be a bad sign when the receptionist does not ask whether we had enjoyed our stay. So many things are good but a shame the place falls short on the little touches which make all the difference and remembering that this is supposed to be a 5 star hotel which i do not think it currently deserves.
I really hope they get things sorted and back to a high standard as it should be.

Room Tip: Make sure you inquire about the different rooms, when talking to others in hotel it seems the qualit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Beautiful setting and views but bad service and very average food. After waiting at reception shown to a table then had to wait 15 minutes for sandwiches and cakes etc to arrive. We then had to wait another 20 minutes for a pot of tea .It was not a pleasant atmosphere and felt very awkward waiting around with no apology for the delay. It seems they have one lady doing everything no wonder she was not friendly. You are not felt welcome so I would not recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wroxeter hotels

Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Have just spent a very pleasant afternoon in a super location near interesting ruins.

The staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful if we had been their own family.

We had sparkling wine with very fresh sandwiches, scones and cakes with as much tea as we could drink. Even without a voucher £15.00 for two is very good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had a groupon Roman Banquet plus a 2 night B&B stay.
The banquet was good but only two couples, it wwould have been better to swap stories with more couples.
The setting was lovely, so convenient for Shrewsbury, (what a jewel of a town).
I was really impressed with the breakfast and the service.
As other reviewers have mentioned, there was creaking from the room above, a bit odd as we were in the new bit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLP1972
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I purchased a discount voucher for an afternoon tea for two and had no problems in booking in for my preferred date. I went with my mum for a treat. The hotel was rather dated and we sat in the conservatory. The afternoon tea was okay - not a great selection of sandwiches (which had obviously been stored in the fridge and so were hard) the cake and scone was nice.
All in all fine for the money paid but not the special treat I'd hoped for.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Could not have picked a more perfect afternoon (well Sunday lunchtime to be exact) with regards to weather to take Afternoon Tea at the Wroxeter Hotel. We bought the Groupon deal a few months earlier and was very very impressed with what we got.

We were served by very professional staff and seated away from the Sunday lunch diners, in a lovely conservatory with lovely views of The Wrekin in the distance.

After a large glass of bubbly, our food arrived on a bone china afternoon tea cake stand and was so plentiful I would not recommend eating much before hand. The sandwiches had obviously been made a little earlier then stored in the fridge as they were a little bit 'cold' but everything was tasty, beautifully presented and all served on bone china.

A very civilised way to spend a sunny Sunday afternoon in September.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wroxeter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wroxeter Hotel

Address: Wroxeter, Wroxeter SY5 6PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Wroxeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroxeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautiful countryside halfway between Telford and Shrewsbury, The Wroxeter Hotel enjoys easy access from the A5 and M54. With modern and well appointed bedrooms, The Wroxeter is ideal for short breaks and "getaways"; walking and country pursuits holidays; and for business travelers looking for something more than just a room. We are family run and excel in traditional cooking and personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Wroxeter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Wroxeter

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wroxeter Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.