We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot to visit whilst in Kandy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Botanical Gardens

Royal Botanical Gardens
Peradeniya Road, Peradeniya 20400, Sri Lanka
812388088
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot to visit whilst in Kandy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Beautiful Gardens well worth a visit, could be more facilities for refreshments, so take a picknick if going for the day

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    771
    394
    87
    18
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“fabulous trees”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We loved this very mature, established garden. The trees are the best bit - many planted in 1950s or before. Go and see the Cook Pines and the mahoganys

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Loved the gardens, so peaceful and liked the Orchid house very much. It appeared to be the place for courting local Sri Lankan young people which was quite sweet.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful, interesting Gardens. Look out for Fruit bats and Monkeys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Lovely friendly quiet day strolling around these gardens. Amazing plants. loved the Palm section and the Giant bamboo is amazing. Highlights were meeting some locals, watching the monkeys eat Jack fruit and the millions of Giant fruit bats high in some of the trees.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Botanical Gardens”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I suppose if this is your thing the Gardens must be great. I was taken there on a tour of Kandy by my TukTuk driver and to me i wasted 2 hours of my life, so boring to us without Green Fingers

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Botanical Gardens also viewed

 
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Kandy, Central Province
 

Been to Royal Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Botanical Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.