We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Flying Dutchman Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hacketts Cove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Flying Dutchman Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added The Flying Dutchman Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
9758 Peggy's Cove Road (Route 333), Hacketts Cove, Nova Scotia B3Z 3L1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I were delighted with our stay at the Flying Dutchman B&B. Superb hosts that gave us excellent suggestions for things to do and see. The rooms are lovely but the view is AMAZING. The food was divine! We loved sitting outside with our lobster and wine enjoying the view. (Doreen told us where to find a cooked lobster just down the road that comes in a little picnic box with cutlery and they even crack it for you!) A perfect spot to take little trips from!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
30
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The best part of this B&B is the front yard! It is on a small inlet of the Atlantic Ocean that faces West so you can actually watch the sunset over the Atlantic Ocean!! Spectacular. There is a bench swing you can sit on as you watch the sun color the sky and then disappear down the horizon. When you arrive be sure to ring the front door bell!!! We didn't see it and there was no sign indicating that this should be done. Our room was on the smallish side, we stayed in the Wooden Shoe room. Very reasonable rates.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I spent our second to last night of a weeklong trip to Nova Scotia at the Flying Dutchman and we absolutely loved it! The house is beautiful - you can also enjoy an AMAZING view of the sunset over the water from their yard while relaxing on a rustic swing.
The accommodations were very nice with an exquisite bathroom. There was also a nice sitting area with magazines, books and a TV. Doreen and Henk were super nice and friendly, and great to talk to. Doreen prepared a very delicious breakfast (semi-buffet, semi-served), with home-made muffins, and a variety of breads.
In terms of location, Peggy's cove is minutes away, and it's not too far from Halifax.
We went to the restaurant nearby "The Finer Diner" - it wasn't too great, but there are other restaurants near Peggy's Cove also (not sure how they are).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morden, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My wife and I along with another couple stayed here for one night on our visit to the Peggy’s Cove area. Doreen & Henk are superb hosts and give great information about the area such as not only what to see but when and where to go to avoid the crowds.

The rooms were well appointed and comfortable and the beds were fantastic. The breakfasts are excellent and there is no shortage of food. Doreen even packed us some of her excellent homemade muffins to take with us. We would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We had an excellent experience at the Flying Dutchman! We stayed in the Skipper's suite for 2 nights and it was such a treat. Our suite was clean and so spacious, had a wonderful private lounge & spa area and the bed was very comfortable. Amazing views from our window too! Doreen and Henk were super hosts, such a nice couple and we really enjoyed meeting them. Henk was very helpful providing tips and a useful map for our coastal drive along St. Margaret's & Mahone Bay to Lunenberg. The B&B location is fabulous...10 minutes away from Peggy's Cove (a must see!) and the views from their waterfront and deck are gorgeous...what a sunset! The full breakfasts were delicious & very satisying. You couldn't ask for more...huge savoury stuffed omelette one day and 'breafast in one' egg souffle on another, a variety of fresh breads with jams & butter, daily homemade muffins...Doreen is a great baker & cook! We were spoiled and loved it...!! Highly recommend this charming B&B for an unforgettable stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blankenberge, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Our stay could not have been better!
we had a warm welcome, a good bed & a very good breakfast (you will not be hungry at noon)
Doreen & Henk are very nice people.
AND what a view, wonderfull sunsets!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, On
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

My husband and I did an impromptu trip out to the East Coast since we had never been and there happened to be a West Jet seat sale. We were booked for 2 nights and then we drove to Charlottetown for a night and then Moncton for two nights... we wished we had stayed the whole time at the Flying Dutchman. We arrived in the late afternoon after a long drive and were greeted by Doreen and Hank, we were shown our room and bathroom which were both impeccably clean and promptly took a nap. Upon waking up, Doreen and Hank advised us of the hours of the local restaurants and off we went. (Side note, the bed was EXTREMELY comfortable) The location is nice because it is fairly isolated but still close to Peggy's Cove and close enough to Halifax. In the evenings Doreen and Hank would invite us to sit and chat, they were lovely hosts. Breakfasts in the mornings were fantastic; better than going to a restaurant. Doreen always prepared fresh fruit with yogurt on the side if you wanted to add some, a variety of breads you could toast yourself, fresh baked muffins, coffee or tea, and a hot dish (one day it was an omelet and another day it was a quiche like dish). It was too cold when we were there, however they have a lovely private dock and waterfront access. Also, Hank used to work for Nova Scotia Tourism so if you need any suggestions, make sure to ask. If we ever go back to the East Coast we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Flying Dutchman Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flying Dutchman Bed & Breakfast

Address: 9758 Peggy's Cove Road (Route 333), Hacketts Cove, Nova Scotia B3Z 3L1, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Regional Municipality > Hacketts Cove
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hacketts Cove
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flying Dutchman Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.