We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great retreat weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rafter Six Ranch Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exshaw
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rafter Six Ranch Resort
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   81130 South Ranch Road East | P.O. Box 100, Exshaw, Canmore, Alberta T0L 2C0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great retreat weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

What a great place to spend a quite weekend away from all the big city distractions. Staff are very friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. Meals are great. The 2 hour Ride and walks made for a fantastic and memorable weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    19
    7
    17
    15
See reviews for
29
18
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

very rustic. cabins are great. food was amazing. view was amazing. animals were great. the main lodge rooms were mediocre. good size but tiny bathrooms. definately get a cabin! excellent value per night!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Rafter Six Ranch is definitely not for everyone, but if it's for you, you will love it! You pay for the views. The rooms are basic and there is no phone or tv, but why would you be hanging out in your room when you could be horseback riding through the rocky mountains or traversing a ropes course high up in the trees? It's not a hotel so don't go there thinking it is. It's a guest ranch and a true piece of Alberta history. Loved learning about it's history and the stories from the family. Also loved meeting the rare white buffalo and learning more about it's meaning. It was getting a little chilly on our last visit and you can really imagine what it was like to be in the old days and finding this little piece of salvation in a cold Canadian winter. There's a great wood burning fireplace we curled up in front and had a "ranch mochaccino". Their dining room is the original guest ranch from the 20's. Very cool. Great service from the office team and wranglers. Thanks for having us!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Felt like part of the family. Trail ride is a must. Lots of horses, dogs, and cowboys -- and a couple of wolf pups. Don't forget to check out the white buffalo. I will definitely be back. It felt like coming home. A little pricey but the staff made up for it. Meals are excellent and huge portions.

Room Tip: All seem to be good. Even the smallest room feels like a cabin. No fitness center but you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tofino, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We had an awesome weekend. We couldnt of asked for a better place for a reunion. It was Very Rustic but it is a Ranch. Some of us went river rafting, ziplining, horseback riding, played pool and horse shoes. We got together every nite and and had a fire which was a social event.. And even some of the westcoasters turned into cowboys, lol! And we were very close to Banff and a casino for the gamblers in the family!! There was quite a few dogs around, could of easily taken Delilah home. Just wanted to thank the staff for everything.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumsden, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I was extremely dissappointed when looking forward to a "dude ranch" experience to find the facilities run down and unsanitary. We had a cabin booked for 5 days, when we arrived the stove was filthy and fridge leaked water; we had to request they clean up the mouse feces in the washer/dryer area (like a porch) and we decided to leave the next morning when late in the evening found that there was mouse feces in the sofa bed.

Room Tip: Go to Canmore plenty of condos for rent at half the price this would cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Exshaw hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

we spent 3 days (2 nights) there over the weekend.. and although the staff was nice, some had a difficult time with English. The rooms were... plain would be polite. Ours had mould on the bedframe, and the sheets had what looked like oil stains on them. The bathroom was not as clean as what I would expect from accomodations... we had to ask the staff to come up and clean the leftovers from the previous guest's bathroom break. The food was good.. but ridiculously expensive. You're not allowed outside food or drink on the premises... and at about 2.50$ for a bottle of the cheap purelife bottled water... yeah right... we snuck in some drinks and snacks. We were there to attend a wedding, and the Minister took over the church... we were seated by the ushers, and then this guy actually told us to move so that the pictures would show full seats.. he yelled at one of the bridesmaids to wait to walk.. he yelled at the kids to close the doors so that they could then open them for the bride.. he made the string quartet NOT PLAY during the signing of the certificates... he kept interrupting the ceremony and telling the people in attendance that he's going to make a photo op for them.. got in the photographer's way.. directed the ceremony in a way that I've NEVER seen before. Very rude, I would say to the point of having ruined the intimacy of the wedding. This guy was awful, just awful. People seated were looking around at each other, it was very awkward. Beautiful location, but I wouldn't recommend a wedding there purely for this idiot's behavior. There are dogs and cats roaming in the "resort".. not very nice. I get that it's a ranch... but keep the animals OUTSIDE! The rooms were incredibly hot.. there was no AC.. there was, thank goodness, a tiny fan we could turn on. The "resort" is on a well system, so there is absolutely no pressure in the showers, and the water doesn't get very warm at all. We asked for an iron, which they had 2 of, but one was in use by another guest (who kept it for over an hour), and the other was covered in this black sticky gunk. It was very dissapointing that the dress shirt didn't get ironed. The church is a bit of a walk from the main ranch..through a field of horse crap. Watch where you step! We did go on a horse back ride. It was a bit of a joke... it was head to tail, single file, walking with the occasional trot. Not very much fun at all... not when you expect to go horseback riding. The scenery was breath taking... but that's about it. The horses are well trained, sure, except that they they're SO well trained that you don't control them at all, they just follow the lead horse. You can't stop them, you can't turn them, you can't go faster... if you're not ready to trot and the lead horse goes, you're Effed, because the horse isn't going to wait for your signal to trot too, and it's not going to stop if you're not ready. Quite disappointing, actually. The wedding was beautiful.. the backdrop of course was amazing, what better picture than the mountains! The view was very nice... but the view in Canmore is nicer, and the view in Banff is definitely better than the view at the ranch. The food served for the dinner was delicious, but it was what you'd expect from a ranch I guess... I would not recommend this place to anyone. There are much better equipped hotels in Banff or Canmore for cheaper... with all the amenities.. if you are looking for a real basic camping experience, it could be for you... but it was definitely not what we were expecting when we booked. It claimed "resort"... yet NOTHING about it was resort, other than the price. You'd do much better staying a 10 minute drive away, and just coming in for the white water rafting. We definitely are not about to go again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rafter Six Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafter Six Ranch Resort

Address: 81130 South Ranch Road East | P.O. Box 100, Exshaw, Canmore, Alberta T0L 2C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore > Exshaw
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Exshaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rafter Six Ranch Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafter Six Ranch Resort is a resort ranch with full facilities on site including horseback riding, whitewater rafting, and an adventure ropes course. Rafter Six Ranch Resort is located along the Kananaskis River nestled at the base of the Canadian Rockies. Located 2km from the Trans Canada Highway – we are 45 minutes west of Calgary and 20 minutes east of Canmore. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rafter Six Ranch Hotel Exshaw
Rafter 6 Ranch Resort
Rafter Six Ranch Resort Canmore, Canada - Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rafter Six Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rafter Six Ranch Resort to your Saves list