We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once bitten twice shy!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palia Don Pedro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palia Don Pedro to your Saves list
Hotel Palia Don Pedro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Hercules 3, 38630 Costa del Silencio, Arona, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Bude Cornwall
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Once bitten twice shy!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed at the Don Pedro two years ago, and had a fantastic time, which is why we selected it again for our Spring holiday. But in the two years hence. The venue has changed . The staff are still mega switched on. Are polite and do A VERY GOOD JOB. But there are things which caught our eye. Taken as single points not a huge issue. But collectively.A different matter.
When you walk from reception to the pool area, you walk through a tunnel. Because of the nature of the "tunnel" it is not as bright as being outside. During the dark hours the area is well lit. But there are more than one broken and/or loose floor tile. Which is a trip hazard. We became adept at avoiding them as we went through. The same problem is evident in the area directly outside the dinning room. This is an area where guests gather or pass through en route to the dining room. In the week that we were there nothing was done to rectify the problem. Not even a sign advising of the problem. As I have said the staff work tirelessly, sweeping, cleaning etc etc. And cannot be criticized . They are an asset to the hotel and the company. We found that the hotel, this year, appears to cater for the French.most of our fellow guests were from France. We are not anti France or anti French. We have family who live in France and we are lucky enough to be able to visit a couple of times a year. But it would have been nice to have been greeted by the entertainment and restaurant team at least once during our stay in English. As I have said. This taken as a single item, does NOT add up to much. But when taken as a whole picture...it became a slight issue. Our room was great. The equipment within was great. Our request for additional pillows was actioned within 10 minutes. The room was kept spotless throughout our stay. We elected All inclusive.(As we had done so two years before) The food was ok. It did not appear to us to be of the same quality as two years ago. But the memory plays tricks with the passing of time. Towards the middle of our week long stay. We didn't go down to breakfast. We missed many lunches and four dinners. And although the lady at the door to the restaurant ticked of a register, by room number. No-one caught onto the fact that we, as a couple had missed so many meals.one would have thought that someone would have taken an interest and have enquired as to why? We have been back from our holiday for 2 days, and I have already started to research our next visit to Tenerife. Will we be returning to Don Pedro for a third time. Sorry probably not

Room Tip: Select a room away from the pool area. Ask for a room overlooking the gardens (we were in room 549...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    246
    134
    50
    63
See reviews for
102
291
20
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kings lynn
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

returned after two years still the same good food good price but not many improvements looking a bit tired.Need to freshen up in general before we would consider a return.Most of the staff were very good especially Maria.

Room Tip: do not choose room 435
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed here for four nights all inclusive last week and found It ideal for a short, low cost break & convenient to the airport. All the staff were pleasant and reception very helpful and we were given a quiet room as requested via head office in advance.

The buildings are a little tired but clean. Our studio was large and airy, the WiFi available in the room was chargeable and the speed was ok. Bring your own beach towel (or purchase very cheap close by) and toiletries as these are not provided even on all inclusive, apart from a small soap. There are plenty of sun beds around the pool although with a strong wind blowing (common in this area) and a couple of cloudy days they were not well used!

The food was as expected and you certainly wont go hungry. The best bread you will find and the fresh meats and fish of good quality, cooked well but sadly not kept hot (I was concerned by this and some of the other food practices but did not suffer any ill effects). Fresh fruit was always available and a variety of salads and hot veg. What let the selection down a little was the sub standard, plastic like cold meats and cheese slices.
Real cheese was available on only two occasions during our stay and was so delicious we pigged out on it. My husband is vegetarian so this was the highlight of his dinning experience here.
The wines were perfectly acceptable but would have preferred the red wine not chilled! No problems with drinks from the bar either and service was good

The animation team are a real credit to this hotel. This popular bunch of charming, hard working and fun guys and gals kept the guests happy and entertained. Not only very talented, they provided excellent customer service always greeting guests and enhancing their experience. It is the largest team I have come across in any hotel, even 5star. I hope the management realise what an asset they are.

The surrounding area is not attractive with little to see but you can climb the cliffs for a different view - sturdy foot wear advised and don't flap your arms or you could take off in that wind....

I would definitely recommend this hotel but probably only for a short break.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Just returned from a recent holiday and had read the reviews beforehand, however, the food was good with plenty of choice. Freshly cooked breakfast and evening meals. Rooms are basic but clean and the beds are comfortable. Staff are friendly and all spoke good English. Plenty of sunbeds around the pool and pool area was always very clean

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are noisy with the bar and entertainment however, this does end at 10.30pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I decided to get away at the last minute and booked to stay between 5 - 15 March. I too saw the mixed reviews but decided to book anyway. Upon arrival the receptionist was nothing but helpful and was more than happy to send to get my dinner and then finish booking in once I had finished.

The food was always fresh, lovely fresh vegetables and fruit, different types of cooked and uncooked meats, cheeses, breads and always the waiting staff were helpful and polite. The wine was always available as was the water.

The room exceeded my expectations - spacious and clean. I was in a reltively quiet corner of the complex so wasn't too disturbed by people going back to their rooms. The cleaner visited every day and there was always a great supply of fresh towels.

The entertainment was definitely aimed at families during the evening, although lots of activities took place during the day should you want to join in.

I can't really fault anything about this hotel. Give it a go - there's plenty for everyone if you want to join in, If you don't you'll be left alone as there is no pressure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Par, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Just got back from the Palia and I'm glad to say its actually alright.

Food: Well I don't think I've ever eaten so much fresh ,lots of choice and lots of it.
Room: Yes it was basic but it was clean ,spacious and serviced daily.
Pool: Again clean, a bit on the chilly side, Loads of sunbeds

Entertainment : Always something going on very pleasant and very professional team.
All inclusive: You will not go hungry or thirsty as I said before I've both eaten and drunk far to
much this week
All in all we had a most enjoyable week as I'm sure you will.

GIVE A GO, IT'S ALRIGHT

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

we have literally just got back from a 2 week stay at this hotel, and to be perfectly truthful we loved every minute!
The staff there are friendly and helpful, the appartments tho basic are cleaned every day.
the entertainment team work hard all day from morning till night with activities for all ages, and the food is fantastic with plenty of choice and is available from 8am till 10:30pm!
The buses there stop at the back of the hotel and its only a short trip to los christianos or las americas.
The only bad point was the Swimming pool was ice cold (but we went in march!).
All in all we had a fantastic break in the sun and was excellent value for money!

Room Tip: Do not pay extra to upgrade your room like we did, as all rooms are the same! Although the rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palia Don Pedro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palia Don Pedro

Address: C/ Hercules 3, 38630 Costa del Silencio, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Costa del Silencio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Costa del Silencio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palia Don Pedro 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Palia Don Pedro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palia Don Pedro Hotel Club
Hotel Palia Don Pedro Tenerife/Costa Del Silencio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palia Don Pedro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.