We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but cheerfu;” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palia Don Pedro

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palia Don Pedro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Palia Don Pedro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Hercules 3, 38630 Costa del Silencio, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Skipton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cheap but cheerfu;”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel, all in all an ok week. The apartments are a bit shabby and very basic, but they are clean. On arrival the first apartment given to us the fridge didn't work, within minutes we were moved to another room. After a few days a bulb blew in the bedroom, we reported it and once again within minutes a chap arrived to change it. Cannot fault the staff, reception, cleaners and entertainment staff all fab. The apartment cpmplex is mixed with both residential properties and holiday lets, so lots of people come and go. If you have a room by the pool, don't expect any lie ins, due to cleaners starting the pool area very early, and don't expect early nights due to the noise from the entertainment in the bar.

The pool area is lovely but there is a pesky wind that seems to blow continously so we opted to turn a sunbed on its side to block it. It seemed to be the done thing! We went self catering but very limited untensils so opted to eat out. The Chinatown resturant is very good and very cheap.

Not sure I'd stay here aging due to the area being quite run down and seemed a bit unlove. But for a week just to relax in the sun its a good bet.

Room Tip: Check you room facilities before you unpack, the fridge and shower in our room were dodgy. Also take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    207
    109
    39
    50
See reviews for
80
244
17
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle Of Wight, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Good value for money. Hotel and rooms were clean and basic but if you get offered room 497 or any other along that balcony ask to change because above bar and just very noisy even though bar closes at 11pm other noises continued all through the night. Excellent choice of food and spotlessly clean and constantly being replenished so no fear of them running out of anything. A very very quiet resort, mainly residential with just a couple of bars and restaurants nearby. Las Galletas shopping centre about 15 mins walk away with plenty of shops, bars and restaurants. There wasn't a beach nearby, all rocky coastline but there was a black sandyish patch of beach near to harbour which is about 25 mins walk away where there are cafes etc. We just lounged by the lovely pool on one of the plenty of sunbeds and took full advantage of the all inclusive drinks, snacks etc etc.The staff are very helpful and most speak a bit of English but mainly French and there is plenty of activities ie shooting, archery, boules and many more games to join in and entertainment every night. Would recommend for couples aged 45 upwards.

Room Tip: Rooms away from bar and pool area are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Along with other reviews, this hotel is excellent value for money.
It is a 3star, and the rooms, although slightly tired and shabby, are clean and functional.
Some apts are better than others. We asked to be moved because we had a big overhanging tree directly outside our terrace, and the staff were very helpful in moving us the next day to a first floor apt with a nice sunny balcony, but there are several rooms that have slightly blocked views.
Positive points are the staff, particularly the entertainment team, and the food.
The entertainment team are really excellent. Pleasant, friendly and very hard working. And although we aren't the sort to be involved in the daily activities and evening entertainment, it was fun and entertaining just to watch. If you're reading this guys and gals, thanks for your efforts, even tho' we didn't join in!!
For the money, the food was also good. Much better than some other 3 and even 4# hotels i've been in. Could be said it was a little repetitive, but again, for the money paid, excellent value.
The area is quiet, although there are a few nice restaurants nearby which we tried.
For curry lovers, The Balti Room is excellent.
So, all in all, if you want a clean, basic, value for money hotel, in a quiet area, the don pedro is very good, and i wouldn't hesitate to return if i wanted a cheap and cheerfull stay. But if you're looking for bells, whistles and floor to ceiling marble and waterfalls on the cheap, look elsewhere!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dromore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

After reading some poor reviews, all I can is that they were obviously from people who wanted a lot for paying very little or else happened to be the 'mutton dressed as lamb' type. The hotel was clean and basic and good value for money. If you like chicken, pork, rice, chips, salad, ice cream and cake you won't go far wrong. I have stayed at a few all-inclusive hotels including 4 & 5 star and the quality of food there was no better than here. The only difference being you had more variety at the 4 & 5 star hotels. That said me and my partner took the bus to Las Americas on 2 occasions and ate out there in the evening. The bus ride is only 30 mins and costs 1.90 euro single (20 euro in a taxi). The animation team worked hard to entertain the mainly older generation of guests of whom were mostly French with some British. We stayed without the kids and there were none in the hotel during our stay but I'm sure the animation team would work out extremely well during school holiday times. The resort itself is very quiet with about 12 - 15 bars scattered within a 5 - 15 minute walk away which include a few English bars. The nearby village of Galletas is a short 15 minute stroll away and has numerous cafe bars and shops. All in all we enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of the hotel and location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were here for 10 days 8 - 18th Jan 2013.
Don Pedro. like me, is elderly. It is showing its age. Nonetheless it is a very pleasant place to spend a week or so so. From the word go we found the staff cheerful and and helpful. The rooms, though basic were clean and tidy and serviced every day. The food was good and varied. If anyone found that they could not enjoy the grub they should best not leave the U.K. The French were well represented; there were a few Poles; a few Italians and a few Spaniards, which explains the variety of the cuisine.
It wasn't too far to walk down to Las Galletas. The bus to Los Christianos and beyond was 1.90 Euro each way and takes a good half hour.
There is, however, the downside of there appearing to be a resident thief at the hotel, so care should be taken with security. There were a couple of thefts whilst we were there.
Our only quibble was the lack of staffing on the bar at night. It is unacceptable to have to queue for a drink for up to 20 minutes because there is only one bar person.
We enjoyed our ten days and, if going to Tenerife again, would certainly go back to the Don Pedro

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We have just got got back from a 7 night stay at the don pedro (18th of jan). We travelled as a group of 11, adults and teenagers... After reading the reviews we were not sure what we had booked but... We thoroughly enjoyed it, the rooms are clean and have ample space, the maid service is excellent. The food at the don pedro is faultless with plenty of choice including potatoes and veg as well as chips or pasta... The only negative I would have if i had to have one (which is no fault of the hotels) is the location, it is a very quiet area with only a couple of local bars... Having said this the bus journey to Los christianos & playa is only 30 mins away.... I would definitely go back without hesitation :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Lovely little hotel with above average food for an all inclusive. Accommodation pretty standard, nothing special and nothing to really complain about. Quite an isolated place unless you want to hire a car or use public transport.

There are a couple of nice pubs five minutes walk away if you feel like a change of scene. This suited us perfectly, but it's no party paradise if that's your thing.

Special mention to the animacion team they work tirelessly to keep everyone amused and there is no excuse to be bored at this hotel. The reception staff are excellent too, nothing is to much trouble for them..All in all a great little place for a relaxing break. Would highly recommend this hotel. A bit of a hidden gem really.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Palia Don Pedro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palia Don Pedro

Address: C/ Hercules 3, 38630 Costa del Silencio, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Costa del Silencio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Costa del Silencio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palia Don Pedro 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Palia Don Pedro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palia Don Pedro Hotel Club
Hotel Palia Don Pedro Tenerife/Costa Del Silencio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palia Don Pedro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.