We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hotel with great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palia Don Pedro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palia Don Pedro to your Saves list
Hotel Palia Don Pedro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Hercules 3, 38630 Costa del Silencio, Arona, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice clean hotel with great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We decided not to be put off by bad reviews, and we had a great time.
The hotel does need some TLC but the rooms are very clean and attended to every day.

What really made our week was the great staff that would do anything to help, even opening the restaurant early for us to eat before going on an excursion. The entertainment team were tireless and enthusiastic.

The food was excellent. There was a good choice for even the most fussy, with staff constantly checking and refreshing the buffet. The restaurant is even open to paying guests from outside, and obviously has a good reputation.

If you want to get out and see the sights the bus system is excellent. With the hotel and tourist information points eager to please with maps and directions.
We recommend Fanabe on Costa Adeje for a visit, and the brilliant Harriet's Tea Room for a good British cuppa, sandwiches and cake if you want a taste of home.

Take advantage of the safe and don't leave bags unattended. There is permanent security on site.

Overall a great holiday at a hotel with a heart.

Room Tip: Activities are around the bar area until midnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    228
    124
    45
    58
See reviews for
92
269
20
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed here last december and thought I'd left a review but obviously didnt. This hotel was fantastic, the only reason we didnt come again this year was that the position of the hotel made the poolside area windy.

The hotel was clean, the food was amazing, there was lots of choice and we were definitely spoilt.

We had a problem with hot water in the apartment, and we were offered another apartment immediately. The management were very good.

We will definitely come here again and wouldnt hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

We arrived on 25th november for a week and after reading some reviews on here was a little apprehensive. We were pleasantly relieved when upon arrival everything went smoothly the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean with maids in every day. Its true the hotel cld do wiv a bit of a revamp but nothing to complain about. The food was very nice wiv lots of variety to choose from we never went hungry!! All inc was from 10:30am till 10:30pm the entertainment team were barking mad lol but great fun providing entertainment if u wish all day and a show in evening. Met alot of lovely people as there is only the 1 bar area so u get talking while sitting round pool which by the way was freezing!!!! There is an english bar just down the road called our place where we watched the footie it was friendly and cheap and quite a few seem to go there after hotel bar closed. Also if u want to go into the busier areas the bus was a 15min journey to los cristianos for €1.45 it has a beautiful beach there and a pint if beer for 95 cents. If u want a relaxing cheap holiday then this is what id recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel lovely clean food was nice cant fault hotel. Now bad points hotel also are appartments which there was one couple who are polish she own her own room as as we arrivec we was told watch our bags all time there was 10 roon broken in to and rumour was she was offering her service sex lol and out in town there was lots of muggings on our 3 day we felt bit safer as hotel manger paid for 24 hour securty watch she didnt go near pool or bar also if u go all inc it end at 12 dinner same same u leave ur room wen arriving there 10 euro dep each person for ur band u dont get back if u dont hand it in 12 noon on leaving entermainment was basic there nothing in area got bus few times to los chrstanos was 1.45 euro each on bus if u just want sit relax do nothing all week this hotel be ok for u

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Isaac, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

...but there is a very good reason for this as it's awful! Why people on here say "What do you expect for the money?" I have no idea. I would at least expect some basics as per description of holiday offered for the cost. Hot food, entertainment, secure room perhaps, none of which were on hand. Food; bland and tepid at best. Entertainment; Laughable but not deliberately so. Security; Verging on "Twinned with the Bronx" ,one of the "Local" drug addicts was actually caught stealing an inmate's (whoops, sorry, guest's) handbag red handed and was still not arrested. At least half a dozen rooms were broken into during the week we were there and having witnessed the managers reaction to one couple of ladies' woes I was left flabbergasted at how disinterested he was. The poor girls didn't have a cent to their names having had their room turned over (whilst they were asleep!!) and he didn't even offer them free access to the internet to try and sort things out. You can look on a map before booking to realise it's miles from anywhere so that's your choice. But touch wouldn't bargepole with could be a cryptic clue to help you chose!

Room Tip: Opt for a room approximately 15Km from reception area....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gt. Yarmouth
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Good points: The complex was quite nice with a good sized swimming pool, a restaurant serving excellent buffet food and poolside bar and seating area. The apartments are good with plenty of living accommodation, comfortable beds and clean shower area. The staff are friendly and do their jobs well. Entertainment left a lot to be desired and the staff struggled with very limited resources but still did very well considering these limitations.

Bad points: During our seven night stay there was apparently five reported incidents of theft! Although these incidents were reported to both reception and the police, very little was done to prevent thefts and nothing was done by way of investigation. In one incident someone was caught and it turned out to be a resident of the complex. Allegedly, the manager decided to take no further action since the victim suffered no loss of belongings. If that isn't a license to carry on offending I don't know what is. I do seriously think that the group management should consider taking a more positive attitude to theft on their premises as these incidents and the poolside gossip surrounding it are only creating a negative attitude and takes the shine off what was otherwise an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Please ensure your windows, patio door and front door are securely locked at all times. Rooms away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, Hants
1 review
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We've just returned from Don Pedro 20.11.12. Believe me when I say that I will call a spade a spade.We were under no illusions about this holiday, but wanted a quiet CHEAP break in the sun.Ive stayed in some beautiful hotels over the years...and if you want a HOTEL holiday, this isnt gonna be for you.It was so nice to be somewhere that didnt offer 'everything', and have to go out and see stuff- cos it was all on the doorstep !
The beauty of Silencia is the hidden gems, all 5-10 mins away.For the first time in a long time I actually felt like I 'found' an island, and didnt just plot up in an amazing hotel, which couldve been anywhere in the world, with sun.
Las Americas & Los Christianos are close enough if u want to party (15-23 euros in a cab, 2 euros if u wanna suffer a bus) Entertainment ends at 22.30, as does AI bar, and is cheesy but the drinks help things flow...and they arent bad for local drinks.Can buy English spirits for 3 euros
Supermarkets, pharmacy, small shopping centres,lots of bars ( Carling pints for a euro) are all dotted around within 5-10 mins.
Some amazing english bars on the doorstep. 'Our Place' and the one nextdoor . The Sun Terrace , are brilliant, 2 mins away and CHEAP as chips, and the lovely owners will tell u where to go and where to avoid..( and have live streaming of all ya soaps and sport) You can get a fry up for 3 euros, and karaoke and Englishness to ur hearts content !

The rooms are kept immaculate, and cleaned every day. The food is varied and if it gets a bit boring, its cheap enough to go out and eat.
The Peking Gardens is unbelievably cheap ( 8 euros for 5 courses) and proper quality, you will take a bag home !
There is a beautiful sandy beach and rock pool 5 mins away in different directions, (ask the owner of The Sun Terrace, and she will direct you- and provide Marmite ) quite private and the area is pretty much residential and beautifully kept. Soooo unbelievably clean.
You can walk to the Yellow Mountain which is breathtaking, and sit in another friendly English bar just staring at it.
Amazons (parrots) fly all around the area and are apparently only 'native' here. Its a lovely touch.
Again 5 mins away is WestHaven bay, another fantastic restaurant on the seafront,past the pizzireie with amazing views and good food/drinks.
We are 41 and 37 respectively, a girlie one...and weren't bored in the least- or disappointed.
Many people we met had come back year after year, and most (younger) people we met (22+)said they'd come back. We are gonna too !
Pool area is clean and chilled out. Snacks arent dire..Net is 1 euro for 10 mins..
On the downside...the reception staff arent great with English, more geared up for French. We were 'lucky' 80 % of the French left 3 days into our stay and it was then 95 % English. But people are gonna be people, wherever theyre from right ?
Los Chritianos has an unbelievable beach, and market on a Sunday- Las Galletas (10 min walk ) has a rockin' Tapas style underground shindig going on for the olders, was GREAT to watch ;-) also a nice seafront and beach..


Could go on and on...
.but really- don't knock it til youve tried it.
Its far too beautiful a place to miss...especially for what you pay.
And.....the weather was 29 deg...........WEAR 15+ cream !!!!!
Enjoy.............we all did ;-) x

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palia Don Pedro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palia Don Pedro

Address: C/ Hercules 3, 38630 Costa del Silencio, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Costa del Silencio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Costa del Silencio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palia Don Pedro 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palia Don Pedro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palia Don Pedro Hotel Club
Hotel Palia Don Pedro Tenerife/Costa Del Silencio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palia Don Pedro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.