We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice business hotel if paid by company” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eastin Hotel Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Eastin Hotel Penang to your Saves list
Eastin Hotel Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Solok Bayan Indah, Queensbay, Bayan Lepas, Penang Island 11900 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Bayan Lepas
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Nice business hotel if paid by company”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I've stayed in Eastin several times since it's a contractual hotel of my company. The rooms are clean. Staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good. It looks like a typical business hotel. Below are the Pro and Con.

Pro:
1. Professional staff.
2. Rooms are clean.
3. Breakfast is good.

Con:
1. Close to the industrial park, far from downtown.
2. Price is high. If your trip is paid by company, this hotel is a good choice. If you pay for yourself, better find another one.

In summary, I like this hotel as long as trips are paid by company.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    127
    69
    25
    9
See reviews for
43
31
24
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

it's location being near to airport and to Bayan Lepas, the penang bridge means you can get to your meetings with customers without having been caught in traffic jams in the morning. Rooms are clean, good wifi for emails and work. breakfast is decent. only lacking is a good bar. they do have 1 bar with live music but its pricey and the 2 piece band sucks. therefore go have a drink outside. Walk towards Queensbay and you will come across pubs

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Located in Queensbay area, with a big mall nearby. Probably good for business trip, but not for those searching tourist attractions. Anyway, taxi to Georgetown is just 35MR.
The lobby is extremely cold! We where at the last floor, 14th, and the air conditioning in the corridor was making noise constantly, consequently, it was impossible to have a good sleep, though the bed is marvelous.
I don't understand design of having window between bedroom and bathroom. The curtain doesn't cover all window. What's the purpose of it then?
Breakfast was good, croissants, yogurts, cheese, scrumbled eggs, fruit, tea and coffee. If u prefer Asian food, u need to go to the restaurant downstairs.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during a recent business trip of mine.
It was my third stay here.

The check-in was fast and efficient.
The room was clean and everything was well-kept.
Their breakfast spread was good with many options and provided a wide variety of cuisines from Malay food to Chinese and Western options as well.

However, my only gripe was with the check out.
There were only two check out staff that was on duty, despite there being a long line.
I would hope that Eastin would improve on their check out services the next time round.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Staying here for one of the biggest event called CTB. This hotel is located in Malaysia where majority of the population is Muslim, but still the toilet is very bad for the Muslim follower. Everything is small here, the room, the bed and the closet. Breakfast is disaster when i have to wait almost 15 minutes for a piece of roti canai (nobody there). I give 1 star rating for only their good doorman/bellman.

Room Tip: Just ask for bigger rooms or they will give you very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin, Oregon, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Depending on what you are doing in Penang, this could be perfect. If you are looking to be around the touristy area, this is not the best hotel. If you are looking for a place further away from that or in the business section-this could be perfect.

I was only in Penang a short weekend, but part of the time I wanted to go do a couple tourist activities - see the sunset from Bora Bora, walk through the night market, eat on Gurney Drive. These locations are FAR from the hotel. I took 4 taxis during the weekend and every one of them tried to charge me an excessive amount, so be well aware.

The mall next to the Eastin is really convenient. There are also a number of places to eat in walking distance. I avoided the hotel restaurant as the prices seem pretty high. Perhaps it's amazing food...but you can find amazing food for much lower prices.

I really liked my room. The sea view was very nice. I thought the room was quite spacious.
The staff were very friendly. Check in and out was a breeze.

They helped arrange a tour guide for me and the best part was that I could charge it to my room (for no additional fee).

Room Tip: Sea view is nice - but for the amount of time I was in the room, it probably wasn't worth the (s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a week due to a business trip....

Positive: The reception & lobby looks good with a live band in the late evening and their breakfast is good with lot of options. Location was awesome, as I fell in love with the ocean view from our room. You also have good options for local food behind the hotel and the queensbay mall is just behind this hotel (probably 5mins walk). The Spa was awesome and the packages are worth the money.

Negative: The deluxe rooms I stayed is slightly bigger than the deluxe room that you get in 'First World Hotel in Genting Highlands' and bathroom is moderate size to use.

Me and all my colleagues were bit frustrated with our room access cards, which you need to tap in every time you want to use the lift to your floor (many hotels have this system) but you need to try your luck with Eastin hotel access cards in lift, as it works only 1 out of 20 times you tap in. We complained this to the receptionist but all they could do is just change the card and the problem continued.

The receptionist asked for a Cash deposit just to make local out-going calls rather charging it to our room when I check-out (this was quite surprising, as why would anyone deposit cash just to make local calls, I have seen hotels charging only when we check-out). The gym was terribly hot with no proper Air-con, maybe their maintenance department should check this frequently.

Overall: My suggestion would be to stay if you are planning just 1 or 2days trip in central area.

Tips: Ask for a high floor, sea view... you would never want to leave the window in the early morning and evening just for the scenery.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastin Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastin Hotel Penang

Address: 1 Solok Bayan Indah, Queensbay, Bayan Lepas, Penang Island 11900 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Bayan Lepas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Bayan Lepas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastin Hotel Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastin Hotel Penang features 328 meticulously decorated guestrooms and equipped with modern amenities for the comfort and convenience of the discerning business and leisure traveler. Choose from a variety of room types; Deluxe, Club Deluxe, Eastin Deluxe, and Family Suite, facing the verdant green hills or the shimmering blue sea and Pulau Jerejak, home to tropical rainforest that's over 130 million years old or looking out onto an elegant landscaped gardens. After a busy day, you can relax by taking a dip in our sparkling clear pool, work-out in the fully equipped gym, soothe your mind, body and soul at the spa or drop by Queensbay Mall for a shopping spree. Guests who need to be constantly in touch can also log on to our complimentary internet at anytime of the day or just lie down on the plush bed to enjoy your favourite program from our satellite television channels. The warm hospitality, impeccable service and care, is a rich tradition practiced at all levels of our staff to ensure your stay is a pleasant one. Whether for business or leisure, Eastin Hotel Penang is here to provide you a memorable experience you will treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eastin Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastin Hotel Penang Bayan Lepas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastin Hotel Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.