We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short getaway trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eastin Hotel Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Eastin Hotel Penang to your Saves list
Eastin Hotel Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Solok Bayan Indah, Queensbay, Bayan Lepas, Penang Island 11900 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bayan Lepas
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Short getaway trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Book this Hotel via Airasia and it was a good deal without breakfast. I don't have issue with small room as long it's clean and comfortable to sleep. Most of the time I'm out sightseeing. =)

Thumb up:
2 to 3 mins walk to Jusco Queenbay Mall
Good seafood place near to the roundabout
Clean room and friendly staff
Nice quiet pool (Wish the view was much nicer instead of facing houses.)
Offer shuttle bus to few places.

Thumb down:
The bedsheet and pillow covers kind of plastic feeling and head keep slipping down end up with neck aching.
No breakfast.. Well can just walkout to have breakfast, lunch and dinner at the Mall. Lots of variety. Muslim people please becareful cos not every place is HALAL. =)
Far from Georgetown and batu ferringi.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    115
    63
    21
    9
See reviews for
42
29
22
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Visiting Penang for the first time with work, Eastin Hotel was recommended by a colleague.

Room was small but comfortable and modern.
Free Internet access was a plus.
Food was good.
Staff were pleasant to deal with.

Will stay at the Eastin again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Checked in on 1st June 2012 for two nights.
Booking via Agoda.
Stayed with family of 3 kids and 1 infant.
Location is walking distance to JUSCO Queensbay Mall (have all the typical restaurants you need) and coastal area jogging/cycling track is behind the hotel (there is bicycle facility for you to cycle). Access is near to Penang bridge but very far from ferry.
Quite far from Georgetown and very far from Bt Feringgi, of course.
Swimming pool was good but no elevator to the pool floor - walk up the stairs please...
Baby cot was provided on timely basis.
Value - too pricey with no breakfast and small room. Internet was included though.
Sleep Quality - could not sleep soundly because people talking in the corridor could be heard inside the room.
Ample basement car park lots - easy to use the hotel card key for entry and exit from the car park.
Penang Maps are available at the lobby for you to explore your spots.

Room Tip: request for high floor since mine was at 5th. view was mainly the roof of the shop lots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I love staying here. The environment and the inside hotel is refreshing. It's quite close to Queensbay mall about 5minutes walk. I shop almost everyday after my training sessions. Well, I didnt catch up a lot in Penang since I only spent 3 days here. But the Penang bridge view from Queensbay jogging track is superb....I wish I ride on the bike and I wish I could explore more on Georgetown n Batu Feringhi, yeah some other time then. The food serve it the hotel is fantastic..Am loving Nasi Numb Tongue , truly Asia! My stay was pleasant. The only downside is the pricey taxi outside the hotel. I just took the bus which is so much cheaper!

Room Tip: Choose either the hill view or the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Melaka, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

For the price, it is not really worth with the size of the room.But we are so lucky to have a seaview.This hotel is located next to Queensbay Mall at walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located especially for a shopping trip to Queensbay Mall at walking distance. The rooms were clean and comfortably spaced.

Reception and other staffs were friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were a little over crowded and noisy during my stay, selection of food is average.

Overall, I feel that this hotel lived up to its 'stars' as a business hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina Bay, Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Due to its location near the airport, it is an ideal location for a quick stopover or a business trip in Penang. Very decent room and service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastin Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastin Hotel Penang

Address: 1 Solok Bayan Indah, Queensbay, Bayan Lepas, Penang Island 11900 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Bayan Lepas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bayan Lepas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastin Hotel Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastin Hotel Penang features 328 meticulously decorated guestrooms and equipped with modern amenities for the comfort and convenience of the discerning business and leisure traveler. Choose from a variety of room types; Deluxe, Club Deluxe, Eastin Deluxe, and Family Suite, facing the verdant green hills or the shimmering blue sea and Pulau Jerejak, home to tropical rainforest that's over 130 million years old or looking out onto an elegant landscaped gardens. After a busy day, you can relax by taking a dip in our sparkling clear pool, work-out in the fully equipped gym, soothe your mind, body and soul at the spa or drop by Queensbay Mall for a shopping spree. Guests who need to be constantly in touch can also log on to our complimentary internet at anytime of the day or just lie down on the plush bed to enjoy your favourite program from our satellite television channels. The warm hospitality, impeccable service and care, is a rich tradition practiced at all levels of our staff to ensure your stay is a pleasant one. Whether for business or leisure, Eastin Hotel Penang is here to provide you a memorable experience you will treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eastin Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastin Hotel Penang Bayan Lepas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastin Hotel Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.