We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond our Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Poggio

Save Saved
You added Il Poggio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Il Poggio
Il Poggio, 292, 53040 Celle sul Rigo, San Casciano dei Bagni, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beyond our Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Can't tell you how much we loved this place. Room were beautiful, food excellent. grounds impeccable and staff went above and beyond the duties. Would recommend to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    45
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
52
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rehovot, Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We spent a week in May at Il Poggio, San Casciano dei Bagni via RCI timeshare. The house itself was ideal for our needs and the little garden was well kept. Two out of three of the receptionists were helpful and friendly – the third was haughty to the point of rudeness. It took more than a 30 minute drive to do our laundry whereas the RCI original link said that there was an on site laundry and you ought to know that 3 miles stated on the updated link is not a self service launderette. We recommend having dinner in the village of San Casciano dei Bagni at the restaurant, Osteria la Primavera; it far excels the service and standard served at Il Poggio. The scenery in and around Il Poggio was stunning - we felt that we were either in a film set or in a painting. May is an ideal time to visit Italy – it is impossible not to enjoy Tuscany.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

We reserved IL Poggio through our RCI timeshare. We wanted to live in the Tuscany culture and in the mountains, but had no idea how far up this resort was. Although we got lost finding it, we were delighted with IL Poggio's location. Truly God's country - away from all the hustle and bustle of larger cities. The resort, staff, wine cellar, and its lush landscape was wonderful. Our apartment was typical of an old farmhouse and we enjoyed the adventure. Their restaurant and fresh food was fabulous. Loved sitting on their charming patio.
We spent each day visiting other cities; Siena, Perugia, Pienza, Montepulcino and Assisi.
The history of each city is incredible. Got lost over and over gain - but enjoyed the journey.
Ate lots of pastries, gelato and wonderful food in many restaurants.
We would return to IL Poggio to soak in more of its cultural atmosphere and fresh foods.
Thank you, Edwardo and staff. You were delightful hosts.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

This was our second visit to Il Poggio in 4 years - again staying in a 1 BR by way of RCI exchange. As mentioned by previous reviewers, the accommodations are somewhat rustic, but comfortable nonetheless. The resort is situated in an awesome setting, with beautiful views overlooking 2 valleys. It is a very well managed, family-run resort.

It is also a working farm - a highlight of our stay was watching the birth of the Cinta Sense pigs that are bred on the farm.

We found the meals at the restaurant on site to be slightly on the high side. There is a nice little restaurant just down the road, Al Chiaro Di Luna, with wonderful meals.

There are not a lot of activities at the resort. The resort is located in Celle Sul Rigo, a small village with limited amenities. San Casciano dei Bagni is only a few kilometres away, and offers a few more services, including some eating establishments, and the well known Fonteverde spa.

All told, the resort is a very good base for exploring the area, and a great way to experience Tuscany.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

we recently had a great stay at Il Poggio and wanted to submit review that reflects that this a positive location to have a great vacation. Agritourismo is a unique concept and not one we see in the States.  This is not a dude ranch but rather an inn owned and operated on sight of a working farm..  The farming facilities were spread out away from the apartments and we never smelled or felt we were on a farm.  

Il Poggio is in a country location and the unit, albeit well maintained and fairly large,  lacks the luxuries found in many of the larger resorts. ( no dishwasher, washing machine  or microwave).  The furniture in the unit was rustic, the kitchen and bathroom were small,  and the bed was a bit hard. As a unit, it is not the same level you see at Marriott, HCV or larger luxury brand.  However, Il poggio is in a great Tuscan country location  and is a  great launching point if you are renting a car and love exploring  the wonderful Tuscan villages and towns. The staff was very helpful with touring ideas and recommendations.

We started our holiday  with  few days in the city of Florenece where we stayed at a wonderful hotel  We picked up our rent a car and using Garmin GPS , I easily located the resort and found the roads in and out to be very good and easy to follow.  The resort has an okay restaurant but better restaurants can be found in Celle Sui RIgu ( La Primavera was very good ) or in the nearby town of San Casiano di Bagni ( Daniella's).  The kitchen was adequate for preparing simple breakfasts and we also purchased some great pasta , wine and sauces at the Il POggio shop for a few simple late night dinners when we wanted to stay in after a long day touring and sightseeing    With our trusty Rick Steves guidebook in hand we explored great little towns and cities ( as very well outlined and discussed below) during the day and went back to Il Poggio at night. THe fall weather was cool and comfortable.   On one day my wife went on a 3 hour trail ride and had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

RCI Trade. We really enjoyed our stay at Il Poggio. We explored a different town everyday: Montalcino, Pienza, Montepulciano, Cortona, Siena, etc. Il Poggio is perfectly located to explore Tuscany. We rented a car at Leonardo Da Vinci airport and with the help of our Garmin GPS found our way to and from the resort everyday. Driving in Italy proved to be surprisingly easy.Staff was very helpful with everything.

Room was Comfortable, Clean, Simple, Authentic. Resort supplied firewood for fireplace. We ate at the resort restaurant the first night. Food was excellent. Recommend the Pici with Ragu and the Wild Boar stew over Polenta.
We ate dinner in the room a couple nights with food purchased at the resort's wine/cheese/sausage shop as well as shops in our travels. (Bring an extra bag for the Pecorino, ragu, wine, salami, and pici pasta which you can't find back in the States.)

Nearby is the town of Casciano Dei Bagni. Enjoyed dinner at Daniela's twice. Mudbath and Thermal pools at Fontverde resort. Both arranged thru very helpful Il Poggio staff.

On our last night we had the best meal of our trip at a restaurant located right in Celle Sul Rigo. Osteria La Primavera was recommended to us by the Il Poggio staff. It was a quiet Thursday night and we were the only guests. Fabio Rossi is the owner of La Primavera and he treated us to a Tuscan dinner raised to gourmet level. We had the 6-course chef's menu which Fabio prepared himself. If you stay at Il Poggio you must visit La Primavera.

We would stay here again. We would recommend Il Poggio to others.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

After a week of touring with a guided group in Florence, my wife and I drove an Alfa Romeo to the secluded mountain village of Celle sul Rigio to spend New Year's Eve at Il Poggio. Our unit exuded rustic charm. Terra cotta tiled floors, a beautiful wood burning fireplace, country style furniture (with appropriately distressed wood grain patina) and a fully stocked kitchen for the goumet cook in us, were the highlights of this carefully arrange condominium resort unit. Conveniently, at the foot of our hillock the resort operates a store from which we bought the best tasting sausages in our memory, pecorino cheese, prosciuto, crusty peasant bread, amazingly fesh eggs, Prosecco (sparkling wine) and more. We ate many of our meals from the condominum"s cosey kitchen. It is always a pleasure to cook with ntaural gas. We used the small espresso maker that came with the unit and had to go out to buy one of our own for home.

Giovanni and Benedtta were our English speaking hosts. All of the staff was charming and very eager to please.

The GPS unit that we rented along with the Alfa Romeo allowed us to easily negotiate the hill country around our home away from home at Il Poggio.

After shoulder to shoulder conditions on the Ponte Vecchio and in the art museums of Florence, Il Poggio provided a much welcomed change of pace and a place for us to learn to love the people of Tuscany.

  • Liked — The ability to come and go at our own pace and to cook as the Tuscans do in the privacy of our condominium unit.
  • Disliked — What's not to like?
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Poggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Poggio

Address: Il Poggio, 292, 53040 Celle sul Rigo, San Casciano dei Bagni, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Casciano dei Bagni > Celle sul Rigo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Celle sul Rigo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a hill near the medieval town of Celle sul Rigo, between Val d’Orcia and Val di Chiana, stands the Il Poggio Holiday Farm. The Farmhouse, the central building of the farm, offers a peerless view that spreads over Valle del Rigo, the Radicofani stronghold, Monte Amiata, Monte Cetona, up to Valle dell’Elvella which is bordered in perspective from the town of San Casciano dei Bagni. The Il Poggio buds from the join of two family farms grown up in the spirit of tradition. In 1987 it starts to be in business by doing the first refurbishments of the rural buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Il Poggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Poggio Hotel San Casciano Dei Bagni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Poggio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.