We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SHORT STAY @ THE DIRTY DUCK” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Duck Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Wild Duck Inn to your Saves list
Wild Duck Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Drakes Island, Ewen, Cirencester GL7 6BY, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Ewen B&B and Inns
Enfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“SHORT STAY @ THE DIRTY DUCK”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

On arrival at our room, we soon discovered that when we flushed the toilet the sewerage came up into the shower drain, what a smell. When we reported it we were told that it was too late to call a plumber but we could have some air freshener which I refused as I have a breathing problem, I am on oxygen all the time, so we spent the night with all the windows opened, however next day were given another room which we have just been informed by Late Rooms
was supposed to have been and upgrade, however the only upgrade was in the amount of dirt
the bath would need a blow torch to clean. Our kettle had a short and all round the Inn, including bedrooms they used extension sockets on the skirting boards some of which are not being used and are not blanked off - very Dangerous especially to children and to add insult to injury I have just received an email from Trip Advisor saying how glad they were that we enjoyed our stay - not what we said ! ! ! We have since found out that this place is known locally as THE DIRTY DUCK and in no way would I recommend anyone stays there

Room Tip: Take your own cleaning equipment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dino m, Owner at Wild Duck Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
You failed to mention that you blocked the toilet with whatever you put down it, and we moved you the following night until the plumber could sort it.
It is not known locally as the dirty Duck - but the Mucky Duck, a locals humerous take on the amount of romantic meetings that take place here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    108
    79
    105
    107
See reviews for
59
292
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Melford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have just returned from 2 nights at the Wild Duck Inn. We loved every moment but hope the following comments will be helpful for clients planning a stay. Please do not even think of booking here if you want a modern hotel. The bathroom has a older style bath (in keeping with the age of the hotel) It only has a shower attachment. There is a washbasin and older style loo but with economy flush.Shampoo, soap etc. are provided. The bedroom (standard) has a black laquered Oriental style four poster bed a wardrobe with drawers, trouser press, spare blankets and hot water bottles. There is a kettle, tea, coffee and milk are provided along with two mugs.
Two black laquered bedside tables and lamps, plus matching table with mirror above. Newish fitted carpet. Decor very oriental. Now the nitty gritty. Hotel is OLD - parts date back to 16th century. It would not lend itself to Travelodge type decor. Water pipes are evident (Not chanelled into walls) and the ceiling has been papered and lines show. There is a wall mounted flat screen t.v. with freeview box, and a telephone in the room. The Guests lounge is delightful. Full of character. Continental breakfast included various cereals, Various reads, jams, butter, marmite, croissants, ham cheese and unpeeled fruit. Conveyor belt type toaster worked well. Tea and Coffee in individual pots. Note: included only with some deals, and probably a little expensive if you paid 7.50 GBP. Hot Breakfast also available at extra charge. Dining rooms are really old and beautiful. Our evening meal was very good but probably more expensive than average. We would definitely go again, but stress it would not appeal to guests requiring stand up shower, and reliable mobile phone signal.

Room Tip: Our room was number 3 - well away from bar. One basic room does have shower but is normally sold as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were staying in Cotswolds and had this place as a recommendation from a local.

Food was excellent - no complaints

Staff: Jessica was helpful and polite but - the rest of the bar staff were ignorant.

I don't go to a country pub and expect to be subjected to a dolly parton lookalike singing badly to The Blues Brothers soundtrack. I accept that this young person no doubt holds some charm for male members of the public, but, in the environment it was totally inappropriate and spoiled a great evening out.

Perhaps some staff training is required to let staff know what is expected from them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a 2 night break and enjoyed our time. However we would have been disappointed with the room had we paid the full rate. We had discounted rates and only paid £45 per night.

The room requires a lot of TLC. There was no shower only a bath. We found it a real inconvenience not to get a phone signal or an Internet connection at the hotel. It is very unusual this day and age no to have wi fi facilities. The bed was very comfortable though.

We ate in the restaurant both evenings. The food was very good and good value. However the service was well below standard. It seemed that they just didn't have enough staff working. Breakfast was very good but you have to pay £9 extra for a full English. It was worth the money though.

The place really needs to sort out reception facilities. We had to drag our cases through a very busy bar to ask where the reception was, only to be told there wasn't one. Not very satisfactory.

A very oldy worldy Inn with plenty of character but in this day and age customers expect a lot more and I'm afraid that the current management still have a lot to do in this regard.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 3 as it only has a bath and no shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I spent the night here for our wedding anniversary as we had eaten here a couple of times before and found the food amazing and really wanted to stay in the inn, however we were very disappointed with the food and the service. As an example when the waitress gave us our bottle of wine she didn't even open it I had to ask another waiter if he could. My husband had the steak with creamy mash, when it came the mash was really lumpy and when we spoke to the waiter he just said that's how it always comes!! My meal also had to be changed as it was burnt. When the next meal came out it was however very nice. In the morning when we came down to settle our bill the service just got worse! We had already paid for our room when booking and we said this when he gave us a bill that had the room on it,, instead of saying to us "let me just check for you" he turned around and said "No you haven't" in a very off voice. This was enough for me,, I certainly will not return or recommend this place to anyone. What a shame that such a beautiful place is going down hill so fast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

we went there a few weeks ago for lunch, eventually we served by an 18 yr old punk rocker, who brought the starter and main course together,then proceeded to argue that we should have asked for them separately. when we were finished we went to pay and after a lengthy discussion it was agreed that we were being given the wrong bill. it ruined the day for us as we had our elderly parents with us as a golden wedding anniversary celebration. when we looked at the bill after returning home we realized that we had been charged not only service charge ( for the argumentative punk rocker that brings starter and main course together unless you specify beforehand) but also £15.00 miscellaneous charge, I should point out here that the bill was well in excess of £100.00 and we only closely inspected the bill when we got home as we were tired of arguing it with the staff in front of our parents after all is was supposed to be a pleasant day out. As we have used the wild duck before we thought that the management would be a bit sympathetic and realize their mistake.
Not a bit of it! .. instead all we got was what can only be described as a basil faulty style response and that clearly we were an annoyance and that in their eyes customers are always wrong, great way to do business!... hopefully the place will change hands again soon and return to what the locals in the area call a nice friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dino m, Manager at Wild Duck Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
we do not have any 'punk rockers' on our staff, the person who served you will no doubt be very offended. You requested to have the starters and mains at the same time, but then changed your mind, so we obliged you with that. Your query was sorted out at the time, the misc item on the bill was a new dish as yet unprogrammed on the till, and was explained to you. You were satisfied and paid the bill. You have subsequently bombarded us with demands for a refund, which are quite unjustified.
We always ask you to check the bill to make sure everything is ok, you checked agreed and paid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had a short break here. The Inn is very old but quaint in a lovely setting. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a very good evening meal on the first night of our stay, but the breakfast included in B&B is continental and anything cooked is offered for an extra payment. The bedroom we had was clean and bed very comfortable but would benefit by a refurb and the bathroom did not have a fully functional shower just one that is hand held.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wild Duck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Duck Inn

Address: Drakes Island, Ewen, Cirencester GL7 6BY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester > Ewen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ewen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Duck Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wild Duck Inn is a mellow cotswold stone 16 century Elizabethan inn set in the heart of the cotswold village of Ewen and only a stones throw from the river Thames.With a wealth of oak beams ancestral portraits and open log fires make this a welcoming destination for all.The pretty court yard garden makes for a lovely setting for dining alfresco.We pride ourselves on sourcing local suppliers of the highest standards, from Highgrove lamb to podges vegetables.We are perfectly placed for the cotswold waterpark and its extensive activities which include sailing, wakeboarding, fishing, shooting and riding.Our geographical position places us conveniently also for badminton and Gatcombe horse trials.Cirencester is well know for its polo club from which we are 3 miles distance.We are also 25mins from cheltenham race course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Wild Duck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Duck Hotel Ewen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Duck Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.