We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room at the inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Duck Inn

Save Saved
You added Wild Duck Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wild Duck Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Drakes Island, Ewen GL7 6BY, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Ewen B&B and Inns
Fife
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Room at the inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed overnight in The Wild Duck, breaking our journey from Fife in Scotland to Hampshire. We had no prior knowledge of the inn - simply chosen it from a web search as it fitted the criteria of old coaching inn with good food and rooms. The bar and restaurant was just what we wanted - roaring log fire in the bar and wonderful food in the restaurant. A good selection of real ale in the bar. The accommodation was located at the top of some very steep stairs - not too much of a problem. Our room was small but quaint - uneven floor and walls but comfortable. It was furnished Asian style with furnishings from the company Lombok. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was windowless and cramped - not one in which you'd want to spend some time pampering. Only adverse comment is that the window frames were completely rotten with one part rotted right through - certainly provided some bracing fresh air. I would say that the overall impression of The Wild Duck was very good and I would recommend a stay there if only for the food. We didn't see the other rooms but the one we were in certainly needed some attention.

Room Tip: There are rooms in the cottage outside the inn so if you have problems with steep stairs ask for ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    84
    61
    77
    85
See reviews for
44
231
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on a KGB Groupon deal so got two nights for £90 however even though the bar is the cosiest you may ever find we get the feeling there are living on past excellence and reviews. The room was sooo tired, tv didn't work, no shower attachment on shower, lights not working, cold room with one of three radiators not working, electric heater that failed after an hour, safe not working etc etc. could go on but that would bore you all. All I can say is don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed, or maybe go somewhere else where they realise what you need to do to get some business.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We recently stayed at the Wild Duck Inn in Ewen for a 2 night midweek break. Having read mixed reviews, I was unsure what to expect. The website gave me confidence and made it look very inviting, however some of the reviews relayed a different tale, with an underlying theme of "very cold rooms". This filled me with dread as one thing I do not enjoy is being cold. Upon arrival, the inn was very picturesque and in an idyllic, if somewhat remote, spot. We received a very warm welcome, with a staff member insisting upon carrying our bags to our room, which was, to my immense relief, lovely and warm! There was a sort of four poster bed without the curtains, tv, kettle, usual amenities and a small bathroom. My main criticism was that the sink was very high and difficult to use. The room was a little dated but for the price we paid (we purchased a voucher for £79 for 2 nights) we couldn't complain. The bar area and dining room was extremely pleasant and welcoming, decorated in an olde worlde style with a roaring fire, dark red walls, hops on the walls and ceiling and plenty of paintings, just as portrayed on the website. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast too was a delight. We opted for the Continental breakfast which was more than adequate with freshly baked croissants and lashings of warm toast, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, etc. All in all we were very happy with our stay here and would certainly recommend it to anybody looking for a peaceful retreat in the heart of the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed on a KGB deal booked June 2012, found The Wild Duck quirky and full of character, with a little investment this place could be superb - but someone needs to give the bedrooms a huge dose of TLC.....our room (2) was cold and uninviting upon arrival - with a warm room we would have felt (literally) a lot better, the room itself was clean & tidy, but unloved - functional but without be personalised, as though missing a womans touch perhaps? When we were asked if we were eating in (at the Inn!) we told a member of staff that we had booked elsewhere, we felt that the "Welcome" quickly dissapeared, ah well....The pub ineterior is very cosy with roaring fires and intimate seating, it is a very popular place, breakfast was good and service was excellent, and that is for the continental that was part of our deal.We have one comment regards the "official" room rate of £110 - if we HAD paid this amoun, then the words " off & ripped" would feature at the top of this review - as it is, our deal wasjust that - a very good price for an average room but with good service - a place where everything is as it seems.

Room Tip: Bring your own portable electric heater - you WILL need it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were a little apprehensive about visiting after we had read some of the reviews! However we had a fantastic time and loved the Wild Duck. Yes the bedroom is a little dated, and the bathroom could have done with some modernising..... However, the rest of the hotel makes up for that. The bar was fantastic and the food really delicious. The baked camembert a must! We ate there both nights and had a fab table next to the fire. Our dog was also very warmly welcomed. The staff were so friendly and could not do enough for us. We were able to order our little girl food of the main menu and only a small portion arrived. There is also a lovely drawing room called the Grouse room that you can sit in and the staff will light the fire which again was lovely. The breakfast which is included is a little basic but we ordered cooked breakfasts (between us) each morning for only £11, which was not expensive and the doorstop bacon & sausage buttie and scrambled egg on toast was so yummy. All in all a fab deal (KGB) at a lovely place we will definitely be back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The bedrooms are tired and tatty, beds not made properly with valances all higgledy piggeldy, tea mugs were dirty and frankly would have been better to have nothing there. Bathroom freezing and very dated and you should not be charging £130. Shabby with not a bit of chic. Nice girl took the booking and the staff were cheerful, food was good and the bread at breakfast was very good. The ladies loo should be reported it was so bad.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Myself and my Daughter stayed 2 nights. First impressions are wonderful such a lovely old building, inside the bar and restaurant area are cosy and welcoming. All the staff we encountered we great, really friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to Chinese Suite on arrival, not sure why but glad we were! It was very cold while we were there and the room was a little cold at times but the radiators were belting out full heat, the room was so vast hard to heat I would imagine but didn't spoint our stay just put a jumper on! Food in the restaurant was just gorgeous, first night we shared an antipasto to start and then had the Tuna starter each for mains, really good. Tuesday night, Steak night, OMG Gorgeous Steaks, I had ribeye my daughter fillet, both medium rare both cooked to perfection and huge! Such good value no wonder fully booked all night... if you stay on a Tuesday night get you table booking in early! Such a lovely relaxed atmosphere in the restaurant both nights. Breakfast is continental and fine, not great choice bit dissapointing and if I was paying full rates in hotel would not be impressed, good coffee though. One thing that was naughty was the cleaner of our room, my daughter likes to keep things tidy and made our bed before we left in the morning, I think the cleaner took this as a sign not to do anything else in the room apart from a couple of fresh towels, cups and glasses were not cleaned and room not hoovered....shame because all other staff are so good. We didn't bother complaining jwe should have because management won't know but hopefully will read this! Would definitely go back if in that part of the world again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wild Duck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Duck Inn

Address: Drakes Island, Ewen GL7 6BY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cotswolds > Ewen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ewen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Duck Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wild Duck Inn is a mellow cotswold stone 16 century Elizabethan inn set in the heart of the cotswold village of Ewen and only a stones throw from the river Thames.With a wealth of oak beams ancestral portraits and open log fires make this a welcoming destination for all.The pretty court yard garden makes for a lovely setting for dining alfresco.We pride ourselves on sourcing local suppliers of the highest standards, from Highgrove lamb to podges vegetables.We are perfectly placed for the cotswold waterpark and its extensive activities which include sailing, wakeboarding, fishing, shooting and riding.Our geographical position places us conveniently also for badminton and Gatcombe horse trials.Cirencester is well know for its polo club from which we are 3 miles distance.We are also 25mins from cheltenham race course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Wild Duck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Duck Hotel Ewen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Duck Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.