We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIDDEN PEARL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hunas Falls by Amaya

Save Saved
You added Hunas Falls by Amaya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hunas Falls by Amaya
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kandy, Elkaduwa 21012, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hunas Falls Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Elkaduwa
MUMBAI
1 review
“HIDDEN PEARL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

We were a small group of 14 people ....reach this hotel late evening. this hotel is about 34-38km from Kandy & were cursing our agent on the way for giving us accommodation so far.. the road to the hotel is bumpy calm .. you cant see any one around in the evening... . We wanted to retire to our rooms ASAP hence just had early dinner & proceed to our room the room was spacious ... the toilet was satisfactory nothing great or bad... Next day Morning we woke up early & went to Balcony as it was little cold .... WHAT A VIEW... Felt as we were in a fairy land... Amazing surroundings... MOST RECOMMENDED FOR HONEYMOON COUPLES.... Good breakfast in lake side restaurant ... Over all stay good will surely recommend this hotel to Families / Couples travelling.. COMPLETE LEISURE Hotel.. Go for it.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Hunas Falls by Amaya, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
Dear Guest,

Ayubowan!

Thank you for your comments.

We look forward to serving you again at Jetwing Hunas Falls Hotel in the future.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    63
    13
    9
    7
See reviews for
44
89
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colombo
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

This is for your consideration about the experience we had with Jetwin hotel. We selected Hunas Falls hotel due to it is one of a Jetwin hotel and with the expectation of facilities and better service compared to other hotels. We checked in on 20the Dec 2008 and checked out on 22nd Dec 2008.

During the stay at Hunas Falls Hotel, we experienced very poor service which was not expected from one of a Jetwin hotel.

We picked a Honeymoon package which included a boat ride, Candle light dinner and a fruit basket. However the fruit basket was never brought in. We understood that the staff has forgotten to do so, when we mentioned this while checked out. At the same time the bed covers were damaged. The water glasses would require a clean up.

We called up the front office manager with regard to the same.

Service in Jetwin hotel let us down. We will definitely think twice prior to select or recommend a Jetwin hotel in future.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Hunas Falls by Amaya, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
Dear Guest,

Ayubowan!

First of all please accept our since apologies for the inconvenience caused when you stayed with us.
Whilst Thanking you for your comments we would take all necessary steps to improve our service standards.

We would like to invite you to Jetwing Hunas Falls again and assure not to repeat the mistakes as such in the future.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

Away from the bustle of Kandy, Hunas Falls Hotel lies in the tranquil mountains dominated by the Hunasgiriya Peak. An exclusive honeymoon hotel, this place brings together the magic of nature and impeccable service to make your honeymoon the most memorable experience of your life.

The property has around 28-30 rooms (including suites) and is surrounded by breathtaking views, a waterfall, a lake, walkways around beautiful gardens and trekking paths into the mountains, a mini golf course (which was nearing completion when we visited) and complete serenity. The restaurant overlooks the lake. The quality of the rooms and service is unmatched. Food is cooked from fresh farm produce (the farms belong to the resort and can be seen on the way to the waterfalls) and is delectable. And it is a practise at the resort that once during your stay, the chef will prepare a dish of your choice. The thoughtfulness of the staff and the attention they pay to your preferences is amazing. Though the people serving you may change, they always know what you like more and things you do not prefer.

The waterfalls near this resort is NOT the Hunas Falls. Hunas falls is a little away. Though located away from Kandy, this hotel is still convenient for visiting all the key tourist attractions such as the Temple of the Tooth Relic, Botanical Gardens, etc.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Hunas Falls by Amaya, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and satisfied with the hotel facilities. We look forward to serving you, your family, colleagues and friends again in the future.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

After few months of research, I selected this hotel for my Honeymoon; and I am glad I did. Hunas Falls is located in a beautiful location surrounded by mountain tops and breadtaking views. The location has a great Romantic Flavour.

This hotel has the best and most beautiful garden in a hotel which has a great selection of flora and fauna. It also includes a small lake with boat rides. They offer Candle lit dinners for Honey Moon couples (Highly recommended!). But, be aware that the mist at night can be pretty cold in the balcony.

I will definitely come back here, whenever I feel like celebrating Romance :)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, PR Officer at Hunas Falls by Amaya, responded to this review, January 11, 2010
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased to note your satisfactory comments in relation to our hotel and our services. Many thanks for uploading your valued comments onto Trip advisor. We look forward to welcoming you again at Jetwing Hunas Falls.Thanks.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

We stayed at HF at the Highlander Suit for couple of days. I found the conditions in the room were not that good, the bed linen was old, wall paper was peeling off, old curtains and the spar bath didn’t work. The water that cam from the tap were muddy.

The butler we had “his name was Vasantha” was very good. He was very helpful offering us to take photographs etc. The food was good, and the room service was also ok. The hotel was pretty much empty when we were there and we kind of run out of things to do.

If you are visiting this hotel, I would recommend going for deluxe rooms, as I believe they is not much advantage going for luxury suits.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Hunas Falls by Amaya, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
Dear Guest,

Ayubowan from Hunas.

Thank you for your valuable comments. We will take necessary steps to improve the standards
of Suites in the future. We look forward to having you once again at Hunas.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

We stayed for 1 night after a tiring day visiting Kandy and arrived after a hair-raising drive in the dark up the mountain. We were slighly disappointed with the room at first - everything was very clean and it was certainly large enough - but it was very bland and the bathroom was very dated. After a nice enough evening meal we went to bed. Well....in the morning I woke up at about 6am and went to sit on the balcony.....and what a view!!! The gardens are beautiful and the far mountains were surrounded in a light mist which slowly disappeared to reveal the full splendour of the hotel's position. I saw so many different birds and listened to their different songs. Breakfast was very good sitting outside, and we saw a family of mongooses by the lake. Later we went for a walk around the lake and saw the falls after which the hotel is named. A boat ride on the lake was really lovely, especially when we spotted a tortoise. This was followed by us feeding the lakes fish from the jetty with bread from breakfast. We didn't want to leave, and feel that you could easily spend 3 or 4 days here without the need to venture far. In fact....don't even think about using it as a base for excursions...it's just too remote for that.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Hunas Falls by Amaya, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We have taken necessary steps to improve the standards of rooms. We look forward to welcoming you once again.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

Booked a one night stay for my anniversary at this hotel..wish i had stayed longer...

It didn't start out too well though..the hotel is located about 25 kms from Kandy and the last 11 are climbing up a mountain and the road is really bad..wasn't sure i made the right choice

However it only got better after that...the hotel and its surrounding area is so peaceful and sareeen, exactly what we had planned for.

Our room was large and pretty basic..bed was very comfortable...had "Happy Anniversary" made out of flowers on the duvet...complimentary tea/coffee/water..satellite tv. Room also had a large balcony overlooking the front lawn of the hotel...it was good to sit and drink tea in the evening...it gets chilly up there...

We had gone half board (dinner and breakfast) at the hotel..food was excellent..both continental and Sri Lankan variety at both breakfast and dinner...after we had dinner they staff bought out an anniversary cake for us...which was a nice touch i though..needless to stay staff were very friendly.

There is a lot to do in and around the hotel...they have a golf course...paddle boats on the lake...and nature trails...i also tried out the swimming pool...and though the water was freezing at first it was an excellent...especially since I had the pool all to myself. They also had a nice kids room with all sorts of toys and rides which my two year old son didn't want to leave.

All in all an excellent and very relaxing experience...didn't get a chance to try out the spa but will do so when I’m next is Sri Lanka because i will definitely be back...

Cannot recommend it highly enough
.

  • Liked — Everything was great...no complaints
  • Disliked — not really the Hotel..but the 11 km ride up the mountain to the hotel isn't great..but worth it
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Hunas Falls by Amaya, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with our food, services & facilities. We look forward to having you with us once again.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hunas Falls by Amaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunas Falls by Amaya

Address: Kandy, Elkaduwa 21012, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hunas Falls Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Elkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Elkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hunas Falls by Amaya 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A score of spectacular waterfalls tumble down over rocks and precipices throughout the cool high country of Sri Lanka. Among them is Hunas Falls, which derives its name from Hunasgiriya Peak, the forest covered mountain which overlooks this tranquil landscape. Located close to the former royal capital of Kandy, Hunas Falls provides an astonishing setting for Hunas Falls by Amaya. Sprawling gardens with walkways, flowers and the lake with a bridge to cross it, a waterfall and a mini golf course all constitute a most beautiful background to the calm serenity of your room. Considered one of the most scenic spots in the country, Hunas Falls by Amaya is an alluring Sri Lankan honeymoon hotel. It is committed to energy saving practices, recycling, giving back to the community and reducing wastage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TravelClick, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hunas Falls by Amaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Hunas Falls Elkaduwa
Hunas Falls Hotel
Jetwing Hunas Falls Hotel Elkaduwa
Hunas Falls By Amaya Sri Lanka/Elkaduwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunas Falls by Amaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.