We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise ~ Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Engadine Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Engadine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mt. Engadine Lodge
Save
You added Mt. Engadine Lodge to your Saves list
#1 Shark Road | turn onto Spray Trail, 38 km south of Canmore, Mount Engadine, Alberta T1W 3H9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Canmore, Canada
1 review
“Paradise ~ Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My husband & I fell in love with Spray Lakes area so much we decided to Elope there in March 2013. Mount Engadine Lodge provided us the opportunity to get married in the 'wilderness' without sacrificing on luxury! We are so glad we found this little gem!

The staff were so lovely to us, very warm and welcoming! The food was incredible! We loved every moment of our stay! We can't wait to go back to celebrate our anniversary!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewKananaskis, Owner at Mt. Engadine Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
We look forward to your return in march, hopefully we can make it just as special for you both. cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
39
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Mt. Engadine Lodge is in one word perfect. The innkeepers and staff were very friendly and helped us plan our (snowshoe) hikes. We had a nice room (Owl) with two windows overlooking the meadows.
All the food (breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner) is delicious. It’s nice to eat together with the other guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kcountrychris, Owner at Mt. Engadine Lodge, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We went with an alumni group and just loved this place. Staff was outstanding, food was delicious and we saw several moose up close every day. The mountains and view from the lodge are unbelievable. Great hiking trails nearby. The lodge is about 1 hour from Canmore and there is no cell service and limited internet at the lodge. We all seemed to survive:). The management is turning over shortly and we hope the new folks will be able to maintain the bar that the previous managewent group has set. We are interested in going back in the next two years so we will look forward to reading reviews.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kcountrychris, Owner at Mt. Engadine Lodge, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thanks for your review and we look forward to your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stopped in at the lodge earlier in the year, just to have a look, and was really impressed with the possibility of coming back, so 3 of us booked one night at the lodge on September 18, 2013.

It's in an incredible location - isolated yet close, with a grand view of the Spray Valley south of Canmore, Alberta. The friendly service was great - even in one day it seems like they already know you! Afternoon tea, great family-style supper, two-course breakfast and packed lunch.

In the morning, after breakfast, there were 5 moose in the mud just in front of the lodge, and we stood on the deck of the lodge, taking pictures. Wow..

It's not inexpensive, but when you realize it includes all meals, and its incredible location and friendly service, it's definitely worth the visit. I'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kcountrychris, Owner at Mt. Engadine Lodge, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. The moose do make quite an impression in the fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Found this place by reading reviews on Trip Advisor, and it was absolutely perfect. It is in the middle of no where (but don't let the 37 km drive on a gravel road scare you away) - and surrounded by beautiful scenery. We had spent part of the day in Banff, and were not happy w/ the hordes of people - tour buses pulling up every time you turned around. Mt. Engadine Lodge is the opposite experience - peaceful solitude, fantastic food, surrounded by unmatched beauty. The afternoon tea each day is worth the trip - I've never seen such a spread of home-made goodies. All meals were over the top - don't think our waist-lines could have survived another meal. The staff were friendly, helpful, and in short, wonderful. Helped plan hikes based on our level of skill and fitness, and there are many great hiking options nearby. Had many moose sightings - both at the water hole off the deck of the inn, and on the trail (3 moose on our hike - quite an adventure for us!). Really enjoyed all the other guests (there are only 9 rooms so you get to know everyone else there) - interesting people who want to be far away from the madding crowds. We stayed in the Elk Suite - beautiful room, big sitting area w/ sofa and chairs, and our own private entrance. Only thing I would do different is stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kcountrychris, Owner at Mt. Engadine Lodge, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thanks for your review. I too like to stay as long as I can. We look forward to your return stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We arrived after a lovely walk but sadly too late to take afternoon tea. What a shame but the manager and his wife made us a cup of tea and we sat on the terrace on a beautiful afternoon looking at the glorious scenery and washing we were staying there. At $420 per couple including all meals it's a great deal and next time we come to Canada we'll definitely try to include it. It is in a wonderful setting and the drive to it breathtaking

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kcountrychris, Owner at Mt. Engadine Lodge, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thanks for your review. We also think the rates offer full value. cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Found this lodge on trip advisor and it surpassed all of our expectations. If you are looking for a warm, friendly atmosphere where you can feel like you are in the middle of the wilderness, while still enjoying first rate accommodations, Mt Engadine Lodge is for you. We met individuals, couples and families from Europe, the US, Canada and Australia during our 4 day stay. The innkeepers and staff were incredible, looking to make our wilderness experience memorable. They provide a family style buffet breakfast and dinner where you sit together in the common dining area. We often lingered for hours after dinner with our new friends in the common areas of the main Lodge. Right after breakfast, a wonderful lunch station is set up to make your own brown bag lunch to take in your backpack on your daily hike. We took the 2 easiest hikes and the scenery was spectacular. Both were between 8- 9.5 km (4-5 miles) round trip and were done leisurely by my wife and I. Other guests took much longer and more challenging hikes, it just depends what you are up for. When you return to the Lodge in the afternoon, they have a traditional tea service in the main dining room - varied offerings and all good! We stayed in one of the cabins, very clean and beautiful views of the meadow and mountains outside, along with our own private deck. We couldn't say enough good things about our experience and would definitely recommend it; we hope to return some day with our children. Lastly, within the first 24 hours of our stay, we saw a moose in the meadow, a porcupine and coyote from the front windows and almost every evening, we saw the moose and her calf below the main deck, and then the bull moose showed up! We saw more wildlife from the Lodge then we encountered during our hikes, although grizzly bear were spotted up by Chester Lake about 1 hour before we reached the Summit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kcountrychris, Owner at Mt. Engadine Lodge, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thanks for your review. It looks like you had exceptional wildlife viewing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mt. Engadine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Engadine Lodge

Address: #1 Shark Road | turn onto Spray Trail, 38 km south of Canmore, Mount Engadine, Alberta T1W 3H9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Mount Engadine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mount Engadine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Mount Engadine Lodge in the beautiful Canadian Rockies close to Canmore, Alberta. The Lodge provides a quiet Rocky Mountain retreat in the heart of Alberta's Kananaskis Country. The Lodge meadows are natural habitat for many of the Rocky Mountains' wild animals and birds, including coyotes, moose, elk, deer and beavers. Hike, XC ski or snowshoe nearby, then relax by our wood fireplaces or enjoy our authentic wood burning sauna. In this intimate setting, enjoy gourmet meals, a cozy family atmosphere, fresh air and spectacular scenery. All rates include breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner; all served buffet style in our dining room overlooking moose meadows. Recent renovations were made to all the bathrooms and showers in the 3 cabins in the meadows edge chalet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mt. Engadine Lodge Mount Engadine, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Engadine Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.